We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,781)
Filter reviews
1,782 results
Traveller rating
428
740
353
125
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
740
353
125
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior bungalowno alcoholgrand deluxe buildingwalking streetwest sideair conbeautiful beachmini martgolf cartlong tail boatbeach bagegg stationbreakfast was includedkrabi airporteast railayhuge bedamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,782 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for five nights towards the end of our month-long Asia Tour just wanting to “chill” and we were a bit disappointed. The grounds are nice enough and the room we ended up with was fine, but there are a few things the hotel could do to make it better:
- We arrived late because of a storm and the front desk staff, particularly the young man driving the golf cart made it feel like it was a major imposition. I was hesitant to tip the guy because of his attitude but did because I thought, maybe he was just having an off-day and who knows how many problems he had dealt with that night because of the storm....but it felt like his dislike of his job (or the guests?)lasted the whole time we were there. (We would recommend, however, the transfer service from Krabi Airport that the hotel offers. It was 1650 Baht, but worth every cent, given the efforts the various drivers, boat operators went to to get us there during more rain, lightening and flooding than I’ve ever seen in a two hour period!)
- the first room they gave us (bungalow) was not great....the smell was atrocious and it felt really crammed with a really uncomfortable cot for our son to sleep on. They had no other bungalows available so we paid an extra 1000 baht / night for an upgrade...which in hindsight I am thinking is a questionable charge given the smell in the room which was not our problem and really undeniable...when we complained, the front desk staff did not seem surprised that there was an odour problem.
- the house keeping and grounds staff were great, always friendly and helpful...but as noted before many of the front desk staff (particularly the men) were very grouchy and seemingly resentful, which I can see to some degree given the relative imbalance in wealth / circumstances...still somewhat hard to take on a holiday. (For the record we are not the scantly clad traveller types, who wear next to nothing in hotels and restaurants, making locals feel uncomfortable)
- the breakfast was okay...felt a bit tired. Chicken bacon and chicken wieners are used as substitutes for bacon and pork sausage....not a big deal...but overall, the breakfast was just ok.

Overall it felt like a cram and jam operation. There were never enough loungers by the beach/pool which was compounded by many guests reserving chairs with towels at 8am and then disappearing for 3 hours at a time. But yes the grounds were nice and it was clean and felt safe (despite catching a couple younger male staff surreptitiously photographing an attractive bikini clad guest!). We admire that the place is “dry” and they forego the profit from alcohol while everyone just brings over drinks from neighbouring restaurants and stores....but would we stay here again, no.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Ammze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My hubby, 7 YO boy and I stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed the resort. This was the first leg of 4 and we just wanted to relax here. Wish we had stayed 1-2 nights more. We emailed the Resort a couple days in advance to book a transfer. They picked us up at the airport with a deluxe travel van (a/c), caught a long tail boat to east side of Railay, and golf cart to lobby. No luggage hauling in water; we were brought right to shore and had assistance with our luggage. Same goes for our departure. Quick check in, greeted with cold cloths and delicious cold rosella tea, with informative staff that were very sweet and pleasant. Check out was hassle-free and efficient.

We stayed in a newer room (not the cottages, which looked quaint) and were placed at the very back of the property, but we didn’t mind the short 1 minute walk to the beachfront pool and restaurant. Rooms were modern, clean and comfortable with a lovely deck overlooking beautiful gardens. The sounds of birds in the morning and cicadas at night were lovely. Everything you need is in the room - safe, beach towels, beach bag, etc. The cleaning staff are so sweet and kind. The towels could be replaced with newer, plush ones, but what we had was decent enough. No bugs in our ground floor room. Mosquitos do come out at night, but it’s not bad, especially when the breeze picks up by the sea.

There are smells of sewage every now and then as many claim, but Railay’s remote location makes for challenging infrastructure to manage sewage. You get wafts of it pretty much anywhere on Railay, some areas more so than others (i.e., the east side).

Being placed at the back of the property gave us great access to both sides of Railay, everything is a quick walk to shops, good assortment of restaurants and scenery. There’s also a Muy Thai boxing gym on the east side (north). The gardens are stunning and lush, and the views from both sides of Railay are stunning. Make sure you make it out to the east side to watch the sunrise. Phenomenal. Few minutes to the gorgeous trail on the east side (south) to one of the best beaches in Krabi, Phra Nang beach and princess cave. A must see! Lovely flora, fauna and geological wonders - we observed two different species of monkeys at Railay, as well as some lizards and butterflies.

We ate a few lunches and dinners at the Resort restaurant and enjoyed our food. My rating of four would have been a five if the service was a bit better. Every time we ate, we each received our meals staggered, with my husband finishing his (he didn’t want to eat until I received mine but I insisted and glad I did) before I received my meal. Even after specifically requesting our meals get brought to the table at the same time, they didn’t. I noticed some reviews comment on how miserable the wait staff are... we found the contrary, particularly when we greeted them with smiles and Sawadikas. You get what you give... They were very pleasant. Just slow. ***NOTE - We found out they DO serve alcohol (beer and wine) at the restaurant, but you have to pay cash separately when they deliver your drinks. We also bought our own alcohol at the little market stores and brought them poolside. No one minded.

The east (back) pool was closed for renovations/repairs during our stay. The front pool (west) was refreshing and provided amazing views. It was challenging finding pool loungers as people “reserve” them by placing towels on them early in the morning and not showing up until later in the day. A bit frustrating. I would suggest the resort place signage that loungers cannot be reserved w towels, and have the pool towels removed if not used within a half hour.

No regrets booking here. Lovely staff. Good value for the money. Railay is amazing. Glad we booked here instead of Ao Nang. Yes, the beach gets busy during the day, but there is an area cordoned off for swimming only. It actually makes for a vibrant atmosphere and great photo opportunities with all the long tail boats. At night it’s much quieter and very intimate. The sunsets are incredible. And the stars....

We only did one excursion- the four island tour by longboat and got to snorkel by chicken island. Lovely and highly recommend, especially catching the first boat out to beat the swaths of tourists. The strip of shops just a minute walk to the north actually have some decent prices for souvenirs; there are also some art stores for handmade, authentic jewelry and painted canvases.

We really enjoyed our stay here. Remember to smile, greet people, treat all respectfully and show your appreciation to staff. Don’t hesitate to book! Enjoy exploring amazing Krabi.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Very mixed feelings about this place. Room was basic and ok, kept clean by a good crew. Good location on seafront . That’s where the good bit stops. Only two of the staff we encountered were friendly. Everyone else was unfriendly bordering o rude. Don’t bother with restaurant the food and service are appalling. We had lunch on day two, even the satay chicken was served cold. The trip service staff were unapproachable and definitely rude. Day trippers are given preference on occasion. Although the hotel has no control over the waterfront there is a lot of plastic and litter. People in kayaks and the local boats in the same water is a recipe for disaster. The local boats shouldn’t be allowed into same area on left where people are swimming and snorkelling especially with kids.
In general not the usual Thai welcome or smile and you are made to feel more an imposition than welcome. I know it’s not 5 star but not even 1 star to be fair.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Idlavelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We were a little underwhelmed although our stay got better towards the end of it.
We got two spacious rooms at the very. Ack of the resort. This wasn’t a bad thing since we we had easy access to the restaurants and to Pranang beach where were our
Main two destination. I’ve seen the rooms on the lower floor had a connecting door on the porch and that would have been nice to stay as a family. Basic room facilities. Nothing fancy. The AC wasn’t working in one room and they fixed it and in the other room it was freezing cold without connection to the cold level we set. The pool is nice but not enough chairs. People would leave out stuff at night so they could have the place in the morning.
Our room was without breakfast the the hotel wanted 350 baht which is way over the top and didn’t make up want to spend our coins at the hotel. We ended up grabbing breakfast at the restaurants or off the food boats on the Pranang beach. Delicious and cheap. 350 was lunch for 4.
On our previous visit we stayed at Railey bay next door and that was more enjoyable.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Netta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Spent 4 days in a pool side cabin which was very nice and spacious, well working AC and fridge with complimentary water and soft drinks, stocked daily, chips as well.
2 pools with the one closer to the beach way busier than the other.
Prior reviews mentioned that he older cabins are dated which we have to confirm but in this climate it is normal for things to fade faster than usual. Housekeeping was great.
One thing that really bothered us is the noise from the long boats during the day, they disappear though after sunset. All in all very nice beach, very very busy though with tourists

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rfrueh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews