We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sand Sea Resort
Nearby Hotels
Avatar Railay Krabi(Railay Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Tropical Resort(Railay Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 61
US$ 49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 80
US$ 65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Railay Great View Resort and Spa(Railay Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
US$ 39
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Railay Garden View Resort(Railay Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 26
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Railay Phutawan Resort(Railay Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 31
US$ 30
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 9
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Rayavadee Resort(Railay Beach)
US$ 475
US$ 335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bhu Nga Thani Resort and Spa(Railay Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Railay Village Resort(Railay Beach)(Great Value!)
US$ 117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,722)
Filter reviews
1,722 results
Traveller rating
414
716
342
117
133
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
414
716
342
117
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior bungalowwalking streetgrand deluxewest sideair conbeautiful beachgolf cartmini martlong tail boatbeach bagbeach frontegg stationeast railaykrabi airportbreakfast was includedhuge bedamazing location
Filter
Updating list...
788 - 793 of 1,722 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a tricky review to write as the hotel has major construction works going on at this present time and there is a massive sea barge on the beach with lorries and JSB’s on it directly opposite the hotels swimming pool and dining area, so absolutely no view of what should be a stunning beach! The work is also carried out between 8am and 8pm, so no peace and quiet! It was so bad I checked into the Railay Village Resort even though I had paid in full! By the looks of things the construction work will be sometime before completion, so I would suggest thinking very carefully before booking this hotel to avoid disappointment on arrival.

I also found the reception staff unhelpful on arrival as they had mislaid an email sent to them requesting a twin room, even though they were a cheaper option than the room given and paid for. Absolutely no flexibility, which added to the construction work, wasn’t the best first impression!

Room Tip: Stay next door!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheTravellingMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at sand sea for 4 nights. We had the junior cottage suite-definitely worth getting this for the huge TV and jacuzzi bath.
The room was spotless and location right on the beach-lovely.
The cons: indifferent, uninterested staff and a pantomime check out procedure. Also, a slightly odd smell around the chalets in the resort was offputting.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaktoubX171223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

After reading some not so favourable reviews of this resort we didn't have such high expectations but was pleasantly surprised that it was better than we expected.

Pros
- on the gorgeous stretch of Railey West, perfect for sunbathing, reading and resting with ALOT of greenery

Cons
- Average service and massage (convenience shop workers find it hard to crack a smile, some difficulty in the staff understanding or speaking english)
- We experienced 1 power cut one evening and woke up to no water supply the next morning, HOWEVER they were rectified within 10 mins and it was due to the construction next door , which is slightly noisy so best to get a room more closer to the reception
- had a BIG issue with the MOSQUITOES! my husband was severely bitten and what was worrying was all the still water being kept (in front of the rooms and pond) which could be a breeding ground. Recommend to ask the cleaners to change it or empty it out if possible!
- housekeeping doesn't seem to understand much
- breakfast was average and amenties only in OK condition.


Overall we got a great deal on the price for the hotel since it was low peak season, and the weather was perfect throughout so we were happy with our stay in this resort. If we had paid PEAK season prices, then wouldnt think it would be worth the value.

Dining tip : if you are looking for cheaper meals (all of Railey is way overpriced), take a stroll to Railey East...more backpacker scene, smaller restaurants..The Last Bar food and cocktails are good!

Room Tip: Since consturction is going on at the back, get a room closer to the reception area, pool area. Noise doesnt' really affect when you are in the room, but if you choose to sit on the lovely porch to read it may be kind of distracting.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nush_Pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My friends and I booked at this place because we figured if we were going to stay at Railay, we might as well stay on the West beach. Also, it was one of the nicer places that was in our price range. We had rather low expectations after reading some of the other reviews.

When we arrived, we were dropped off in the water in front of the hotel with our heavy bags. As Railay is only accessible by water, this is just part of the fun. We stayed in one of the bungalows and it suited us just fine. The breakfast was good, lots to choose from. I can't remember bugs being an issue for us, just a few mosquitos at times, but what do you expect when you are staying at a gorgeous beach surrounded by jungle?

The scenery was just breathtaking, and you could eat dinner at the hotel while watching the sunset. We were there at high season and it was not overcrowded in the least. The food was fine, the service was okay, and I can't say it was worse than the service we had received anywhere else throughout our trip.

The pool was great, especially after a day in the sun at the beach. You could lounge in the pool and still enjoy the view of the beach and cliffs, or use the Wifi in that area. The biggest downside for me was that this resort does not serve alcohol, but as we did not pay for all inclusive, it made no difference really.

Sidenote: if you are into snorkelling, I would recommend that instead of doing an organized trip/tour, get a small group of people together, pitch in some cash and hire a longtail boat for a day. Ask the driver to take you to all the beaches of the surrounding islands, we did that for about 15$ a person (there was only four of us) for a full day and it was just unreal. At times we were the only people on some of these gorgeous beaches.

Sadly we were only in Railay for three nights, but it was the best times we spent in Thailand (we had spent the first three nights in Phuket, which was altogether unfortunate).

All in all, although our expectations were low before we arrived, and we LOVED Sand Sea, LOVED Railay Beach, and would all go back and stay in the same place, because to us, the location couldn't get any better!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NEWS_2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This was the most expensive of the 6 places we stayed at during our 3 weeks of travel in Thailand but we received the WORST service, food ETC ETC. The reception staff are quite happy to watch new arrivals navigate rain, high tide, bags and children but are unable to get up and assist them. Breakfast is poor with ants in the juice, chipped coffee cups, broken saucers etc and during the day restaurant staff can be seen resting there heads on the tables...after the first lunch meal with disinterested staff and 'fake Fanta' we never ate another meal there ! The restaurant has a lovely view except you can't see anything through the dirty blinds ! if you attempt to relax in your room be prepared for : noise from building renovations, mosquito bites and smell of sewerage which even woke one at night. Towels in the rooms are stained and floor mats are old and frayed !The beach and views are stunning - this is obviously what keeps this resort going but rather pay more elsewhere and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews