We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat.”
Review of Sand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Sea Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Railay Beach
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Having arrived at the resort, following our rather unique transport (wading thigh deep out to the long tailed boat, carrying luggage above our heads!) we were absolutely captivated by the tranquil location.
Our bungalow, set back from the beach, was a good size, as was the bathroom, with huge shower area. There were complimentary bathroom essentials and bottled water, replenished daily. The gardens leading to the bungalow were well tended and tidy.
Although the swimming pool was being repaired during our stay, there had been an arrangement made for us to be able to use the pool next door, which was lovely, with comfortable sun loungers.
We enjoyed relaxing on the veranda, watching the squirrels in the trees, and after a walk to an inland bar, one day (up a hill, but amazing view!) we saw monkeys in the trees above our heads!
There was a very good choice of food for breakfast, and it was lovely to be able to sit overlooking the beach while enjoying it.
Overall, the resort was very relaxing, with just a handful of small bars/restaurants serving good food.
An absolute must on this holiday, is to try the massage. A fantastic experience, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,494)
There are newer reviews for Sand Sea Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

680 - 684 of 1,494 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed in an air-conditioned bungalow for five nights while travelling with friends who were staying in different resorts nearby on Railay West. While the West side of the Railay peninsula is certainly the nicest as far as the beach goes (the East side is covered in mangrove trees and is not swimmable), the accommodations are more expensive.

At the time we stayed there, the Sand Sea was the cheapest option. After hearing about and seeing the rooms that our friends had at the neighboring resorts for marginally more money, I wish I had chosen differently.

The main issues I had were with the amenities of the room. The air-conditioner was clearly quite old and didn't really cool the room as much as it blew humid air around. A huge issue was the water; we noticed one night that there was no water (so no washing, showering or going to the bathroom) and alerted the staff, but it didn't seem like anything was done. The water would come and go and was never really reliable. The hot water was basically a mythical creature that I observed once for about thirty seconds and never saw again.

Other small grievances were with the quality of the food, for how inflated the price is from normal Thai fare (about 3-4x). It was impossible to get a real cup of coffee (though the smaller, less-posh huts on the other side of the peninsula have no trouble pouring you some).

Overall, it just felt like a facade of a nice resort on top of a very mediocre accommodation. I would have happily paid a bit more for better experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We felt that the staff and even the guests were unfriendly. The location is great, we loved the pool, we loved Railay, but not sure that we'd choose this hotel again. We has the room overlooking the pool and it was the most expensive accommodation of our trip but in general we just didn't feel welcome here, especially compared to other places we'd recently stayed. Breakfast was very average, the food in general was very average actually, and I missed not being able to order a beer with my meal (as they do not serve alcohol).

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelle_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Location: Beachfront to the beautiful Railey West Beach. Great swimming, sunsets and when the tide is low, you can explore the caves not accessible at high tide. Do this activity with care as the tides can change quickly.
20 mins walk to beautiful Phra Nang beach along a concrete track. 10 mins walk to Railey East where there are restaurants, bars, rock climbing shops and convenience stores.
5 mins walk to walking street with shops and restaurants.

Room: Individual bungalows set in lush tropical gardens. You can sit on the verandah and watch birds and squirrels. Spacious interior and bathroom with aircon, minibar, in room safe, hot shower, TV, comfortable bed and pillows.

Facilities: Large swimming pool, restaurant and tour bookings. Wifi available near the reception.

Pros: Beachfront, you can watch the sea roll in as you are having your brekky. Great service and nice rooms. The large pool is welcome relief on a hot day at the beach.
Note: During my stay the hotel was demolishing the budget fan rooms and rebuilding them as aircon rooms. There goes the last of the budget accommodation at Railey West beach.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sabaiwanderer19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

After our first visit here we loved it. We stayed at the Sand sea resort on the west side . Enjoyed our stay, the bungalows accommodation was basic,room a little tired but we only stayed here for the 2 nights as the resort were updating the bungalows work starting the next day so good for people visiting after work here has finished. The pool area really nice and breakfast standard but enough choice. The gardens and walk way to the pool and beach well looked after.
The views from the beach were so spectacular and the sunrise on the east side, sunsets on the west side can not be missed. We stayed on the east side for the final night at the Sunrise Tropical really lovely bungalows and it only take 4minute walk back to beach . Lots of places to eat and drink here. We would most deferentially like to visit again and recommended to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in deluxe room right at the end of garden away from pool and beach end was very quite no n...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Railay Beach
0.0 km away
Railay Village Resort
Railay Village Resort
#6 of 13 in Railay Beach
920 reviews
0.3 km away
Sunrise Tropical Resort
Sunrise Tropical Resort
#2 of 13 in Railay Beach
805 reviews
1.7 km away
Centara Grand Beach Resort & Villas Krabi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Ban Sainai Resort
Ban Sainai Resort
#1 of 109 in Ao Nang
1,506 reviews
0.1 km away
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
Railay Bay Resort & Spa
#8 of 13 in Railay Beach
2,117 reviews
0.5 km away
Rayavadee Resort
Rayavadee Resort
#1 of 13 in Railay Beach
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Sea Resort

Address: 39 Moo 2, Railay Beach, Krabi Town 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Krabi Town > Railay Beach
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 Spa Hotel in Railay Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Railay Beach
Price Range: ₹ 3,213 - ₹ 9,315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's stunning views across majestic limestone outcrops, golden sands and the beautiful clear, turquoise waters of the Andaman Sea it's easy to see why Railay Beach is regarded as one of the most beautiful beaches in the world. And with our choice of private, luxurious bungalows and suites you can be sure your stay at the Sand Sea Resort will be a holiday you'll never forget. Experience for yourself the beautiful smiles of Asian hospitality whilst you dine at our beachside restaurant where we offer a choice of the very finest Thai cuisine, famed throughout the world, or alternatively choose from our wide section of delicious Chinese and Western dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Sea Hotel Railay Beach
Sand Sea Krabi
Sand Sea Resort Krabi/Railay Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing