We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy busy road, no sleep”
Review of The Milk House

The Milk House
Price range: US$ 7 - US$ 69
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in picturesque Sissinghurst, The Milk House is a village pub at the heart of the community. Every day the bar welcomes loyal locals, along with visitors from further afield, offering cask ales from Kentish breweries and a wide selection of wines that include offerings from the area's renowned vineyards. The Milk House offers a range of classic pub fare as well as a seasonal Dining Menu. A light Grazing Menu is available all day, while the terrace is home to a wood-fired pizza oven. On Sunday there's a choice of delicious roasts and there are wholesome choices for children too, all prepared with fresh local ingredients! The Milk House also has four beautiful bedrooms. Spacious and light, these have been styled to feel relaxing and home-from-home, with comfortable beds, luxurious en suite bathrooms and scenic views of the village and surrounding orchards. An overnight stay is completed with a hearty breakfast in the morning. The Milk House welcomes families and dogs and has an ample car park.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night and our window was jammed and wouldn’t close so hardly got any sleep due to the very busy noisy road, our room was lovely and so was dinner & breakfast - would stay again but would ask for bedroom at the back of premises to get some sleep or get Window fixed in the churn

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank tracybtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently visited The Milk House with a group of old school friends for lunch, however I was left hugely disappointed. The steak I ordered was mediocre at best and despite having a few fries and a few green beans, I was still hungry. Although the young staff were visible, they appeared very stressed and running around despite it being relatively quiet. I wondered why this might be the case - the young girl I spoke to said that they were mainly students. I left with the impression that there was very little care afforded to training the staff, who were very apologetic and polite but seemed to lacked understanding and adequate training. For such high prices I would have expected far better and therefore will not be returning.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank barrygC272NK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lazy rude service. Mediocre food. Disregard for covid measures. All round unsatisfactory. Especially after such a long g time in lock down and looking forward to seeing friends and family.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ElaineMaryParrSingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely restaurant and lovely staff but was so disappointed with the food. Ordered Tequila and Lime Chicken, shredded greens, avocado and chilli and a sweet and sour slaw. The chicken was well marinated and well cooked. But …. Shredded greens consisted of three wedges of a little gem lettuce. The avocado was a little grey in colour … not sure whether it was frozen or jarred or dare I say, just old? But the lovely sounding sweet and sour slaw was a joke …. It was literally pickled red cabbage. Yes, the same stuff that comes in jars and sells for 59p in trashy supermarkets. I only give a second star because the staff were polite and very efficient but come on The Milk House, you describe yourselves as a gastropub. This showed all the signs of a spotty first year catering student who thinks he knows everything about catering, being given a £1 budget and told to produce a gastropub meal, and failing miserably because he wasn’t listening in any of his lessons! It amazes me how people fall for it and how the place is busy!

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 642tedp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2021

We were due to come and stay at the Milk House in spring 2020. Its a little delayed but had a fantastic overnight stay with them recently. We started with a fantastic Sunday lunch, which they kindly found us a spot inside when the heavens opened and then a local walk to build up an appetite for wood-fired pizza dinner and overnight stay, before finishing off with a fab breakfast (I basically ate non-stop for 24 hours). The Milk House team have made significant efforts to help returning guests and diners feel safe and confident, but isn't intrusive at all. The outside space is brilliant and the inside dinning room spaced out and discreetly seperated.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JensHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Milk House also viewed

 

Been to The Milk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.