We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning; a beautiful home with lovely views.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The eco pool off the front porch.  A view from your private eco swimming pond at sunset.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
The eco pool off the front porch.
A view from your private eco swimming pond at sunset.
Every evening offers a very different sunset with a beautiful reflection off the natural pool.
This is your tranquillity.
Natural working hard to keep your natural pond beautiful.
The local garden services pop around now and then.
The eco pool was completed recently and nature has stabilised the water beautifully.
We frequently have the most spectacular sunsets. This photo was taken from the porch.
Double room with full ensuite bathroom and walk-in wardrobe.
Double room ensuite bathroom with a shower and bath.
Two single bed bedroom with ensuite bathroom.
Single room ensuite bathroom with a shower.
Double room with ensuite bathroom.
Double room ensuite bathroom with a shower and bath.
Single bedroom ensuite bathroom.
The Dragons Mist in the background.
This dam is adjacent to Dragonsmist. Best time around here is early morning with a coffee. :)
Early morning looking into the valley. Dragons mist is indicated by the red arrow.
Various fun mountain biking trails are available around the estate.
Walks on the estate.
Fishing dam on the estate.
The photos from here are walks in the mountins off the estate at Monks Cowl. Its about 15min drive.
Walks in the mountins  from Monks Cowl.
Walks in the mountins  from Monks Cowl.
Walks in the world heritage site above the estate from Monks Cowl nature reserve.
Walks in the mountins  from Monks Cowl.
Walks in the mountins  from Monks Cowl.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Drakensberg Region, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maureen92
Calgary, Alberta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning; a beautiful home with lovely views.”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a few days at the beginning of July. We all loved it and really did not want to leave! It was perfect for our group of six (two couples plus two young adult children). Each bedroom has it's own en suite bathroom and the main bedroom even has a large walk in closet. The house is very spacious and well furnished, with everything you would need for a few days away. It's a beautiful house in a beautiful setting, with wonderful views. We thought it was very reasonably priced as well.

Anita was really accommodating - very responsive to messages and really helpful. She even let us stay as long as we wanted to on our last day as no-one was coming after us.
The only negative I can think of is that you have to drive to the national parks and most hikes, unlike Parks board chalets where you can literally just walk outside your chalet to any number of fantastic hikes (but the chalets are overpriced and cramped, so it's a trade off).
We highly recommend this place, and would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
Hi Maureen,

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you. We're really pleased you enjoyed it and thank you very much for your kind words.

Best wishes
Anita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldvicar
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good property with amazing view”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Quiet location on a secure estate, fantastic view. All mod cons as expected with one exception, no air con in bedrooms and it was incredibly hot during our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2018
Hello Oldvicar,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for the advice. We have taken your feedback on board and are delighted to let you know that we have had air conditioning fitted in all the rooms. Between this and the pond in the garden, we hope it will keep you cool we have it ready for your next visit. The air conditioners also serve as heaters in Winter making it extra cosy.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in future.

Kind regards,
Anita
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart W
Tasmania, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent luxury accommodation”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is the place to stay. We were a family of 5 and the accommodation was excellent and felt luxurious. The views were spectacular. The natural pool was very nice if you don't mind swimming with tadpoles but the floor is very slippery. I made a mistake with my booking and the owner was very good at letting us stay another night. If you are there when the Drakensberg Boys Choir have a concert on - you must go.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passenger...
1 review
“Tranquility at its best!”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My friends and I visited Dragon's Mist from the 1st till 4th September 2016.
From the time that the bookings were made, Anita was very efficient in providing information and accommodating our ever changing needs and was very patient while we couldn't make up our minds on the best suitable date...LOL!

The communication regarding what to expect and a set of instructions to follow were timeously sent and we experienced no difficulty at all. Upon arrival at the house, I was blown away by how beautifully furnished and clean the house was. The place is everything one could hope for a perfect holiday. The mountain view is a pleasant addition to an already amazing estate. The service from security and cleaning teams was also excellent.
A big thank you to Anita and Team, stay awesome!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen D
Uvongo, South Africa
2 reviews
“Wow loved every minute”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Stunning luxury home with everything you need. The estate itself is wonderful, with walks, fishing and wildlife to name a few. I loved staying here, pity it was only two nights. The views of the mountains were spectacular!!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing