We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
18
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
10
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

The owner “James” is a friendly guy with an intention to help the people, have the open mind. The room extremely clean, quiet and cosy. No exist complaints. Really good service. It was a peaceful weekend

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank S2192FHdanielg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I headed to Jervis Bay for the NYE weekend but had waited too long to book and therefore missed out on staying in Huskisson. But none of that mattered once we discovered this place.

A fifteen minute drive from Huskisson, Hyam's Beach and Vincentia, the Bay N Basin Lodge was great for us. And with a row of shops next door (including IGA, two pizza shops AND a BWS) it was also convenient.

We really enjoyed our stay here. The room was small and simple; there was a little fridge stocked with milk for the tea and coffee on the bench above it, there were complimentary water bottles on our first day, a big introduction to Jervis via map from our hotel owner, and plenty of storage to eliminate bag-clutter. The staff were friendly and approachable, the venue itself was clean and well-presented.

We drove from place to place most of the time but for the big NYE event, we used the local cab company (which was NOT an enjoyable experience) and though it wasn't cheap (we assumed NYE surcharges), it was convenient; all things considered.

The Bay N Basin is lovely for a break down south. We recommend it and would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven E, Manager at Bay n Basin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thank You for your very kind words and complimentary review. Your comments help travellers decide where they choose to stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your break and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017

The bed was large, the room was clean and there was a wee fridge, teabags, coffee and breakfast bowls. Our pleasant landlady answered the door. But, architecture and setting matter to me, so I was taken aback by the grid-brick walls of my room, with windows facing an asphalt carpark and no balcony.
Inside, the Eiffel Tower pics and Paris knick-knacks were sweet, as was the lovely concierge, the owner of the Hotel. The hush of empty dining room was a blessing no doubt as the noise might have been well, noisy until late.
Nonetheless, I pined for a veranda rail for my wet towels, it being a beach area. Paying twice the price I would expect for such a basic accomm, this hotel needs to add a choccie on the pillow and/or a bottle of bubbly for guests. So, understated it is, maybe, but underpar too.
PS I found that we needed the phone number as the owners were offsite it seemed.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesca082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven E, Manager at Bay n Basin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Sorry you were disappointed with your stay. You did pay twice the price for the accommodation as you stayed on New Years Eve and New Years Day the most expensive time of the year to travel. Even the local Jervis Bay National Park charge double during the Peak period compared to the Off Peak period. Our website fully describes our motel and we make no mention of our rooms having a balcony or a view and that we only provide a small bar fridge in the room. If you wanted facilities such as a balcony or view you would have to pay a lot more than $220 a night on New Years Eve in the Jervis Bay Area. Rooms are in high demand during that week and you have to be prepared to pay premium rates for a room otherwise your other choice is to stay home. We did go off site after all our guests had checked in because it was New Years Eve but we did leave our contact details in the Guest Books in all the rooms, on the flyers on the hallway tables and on the Front Door and we were only minutes away so we could return very easily should the need arise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

A very pleasant and hospitable place. Anita warm and welcoming, showed us the room and gave a quick orientation of the area.
The room was big and airy, with adequate facilities.

The thing I liked most was the fact that there were notes with Anita's and Steve's phone numbers everywhere, in case you need them. Otherwise, you feel like you 'own' the place.

Price wise - it's a hidden treasure.

We never stay in the same place twice but if we were, I'd certainly return to Bay n Basin lodge.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank asiljr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven E, Manager at Bay n Basin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

Thank You for your excellent review. Happy that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back if you are ever in the Jervis Bay area again. Best wishes for your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for only a night, on a Sunday. Its own restaurant was closed but Anita recommended many other different places to eat and also to have walks, which was very helpful and made us feel very welcomed. Many of the places are just a short drive out, since the main attractions are down at Huskisson. This place is quiet and peaceful, just enough for us to have a night's rest. We even spotted wild kangaroos from our room window. The room was also very clean.

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank minghui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven E, Owner at Bay n Basin Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

It was nice to meet you, many thanks for the time to write this lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes Anita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews