We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience.”
Review of Vegera

Vegera
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Zaros
Price range: $10 - $14
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We opened our grandmothers’ secret hiding places and took their recipes. By combining our experience, imagination and good feelings we have created the ideal place in Zaros for you to try and savour original Cretan recipes. Vegera was one of the first six restaurants which joined the network “Tastes of Psiloriti” in 2002. Restaurants which promote and take advantage of the Cretan diet. Our health is directly related to our diet and by taking the opportunity to eat in the Cretan way we can help ourselves to a healthier life. We are open from March to Oktomber! You are very welcome. Thank you!
Reviewed 24 May 2022

Well, what a treat! After settling at a table outside, we were takin in to the taverna and shown a selection of salads and hot dishes then left to help ourselves! Wine arrived at the table followed by pork chops.
Return visits to the buffet were encouraged, a desery appeared at the end of the meal.
The lady who runs the taverna is a real character and seems to judge the proce by the number of visits to the buffet. We managed the grand total of E28 between two of us!
Great value and real, honest food.

Date of visit: May 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bev_and_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Vivi, Ιδιοκτήτης at Vegera, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2022

Hello hellooo... this year is the fist review that I get in TripAdvisor ..and I wonder if this still working....and so nice words I read from you....thank you very much! You are very kind!!! You are very welcome anytime!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2021

After two years again in Zarós and again wonderfull cretan delicious food. Vivi is always number 1 for us in traditional island cuisine. Thank you for taste enjoyment

Date of visit: October 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ji_c197
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fransv362, Ιδιοκτήτης at Vegera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Thank you for your review..!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2021 via mobile

You eat what i cook! No menu you choose between meat, vegetraian or vegan and you get food. Really funny experience. The owner is super nice and friendly.

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Bettgeher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fransv362, Ιδιοκτήτης at Vegera, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2021

Thank you very much !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

We were just two hungry tourists road tripping through Crete when we found this gem of a place. The lady was very welcoming, kind and quickly told us that there is no menu just ABSOLUTE delicious food that she prepared that day. Food was amazing, home cooking style and full of flavour. You could feel the love and it was the best food we ever had in Greece. Thank you again for being just a sweetheart. Friends from Ljubljana

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank 611miranh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fransv362, Ιδιοκτήτης at Vegera, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2021

"Bravo Ljubljana" :) Thank you very much !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2021

Even we did not read the comments on tripadvisor, the place found us anyway. We only went by and because we are both vegetarians, we stopped there and it was the best culinary experience we had on our holiday. Vivi is very friendly and nice woman, who make you laugh and make you feel comfortable and the food is just the best you can get in Crete.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LilyMaja2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Fransv362, Ιδιοκτήτης at Vegera, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2021

Thank you for your kind review...yes this is my paymend !!! :) :) thank you veryyy much ! You are always welcome !.. regards Vivi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vegera also viewed

Zaros, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Vori, Heraklion Prefecture
Zaros, Heraklion Prefecture
 

Been to Vegera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing