We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, lovely food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Orleton Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Wellington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, lovely food”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights as part of a red letter day voucher to visit the ironbridge and surrounding areas.

The room - we had a room on the top floor overlooking the road/countryside. Very quiet room, but the bathroom was very small and the window was also quite small so room on the dark side. However, lovely decor and very clean.

Hotel - the hotel is decorated to a very high standard, modern yet rustic inkeeping with the surroundings. Bar prices reasonable and lovely beer garden at the back of the hotel.

Food - breakfast very nice and huge portions. Full english breakfast cooked to requirement and also fresh fruit and cereal available. Pastries/pancakes were slightly stale however and could do with being covered to prevent this. Very freshly squeezed juice and fresh decantered coffee.

Overall we had a fab stay at the hotel and if visiting the area, would recommend. 10min drive to Ironbridge, further 10mins to Much Wenlock and 15 mins to Shrewsbury. We did not fancy the menu of an evening at the hotel so walked to a local pub called the Wickets Inn about 15min walk left out the hotel. Good food, very large portions and nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room on1st floor as bigger window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenster212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    45
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
35
171
9
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

These hotel was spot on! From the moment we arrived we knew we had picked an excellent hotel to stay in for the night. The room was one of the cleanest I had ever been in, everything was immaculate and so well decorated! There was a huge range of tea, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits and chocs. I have stayed at the Dorchester in London on a few occassions and can honestly say it was cleaner than there.

The food was lovely and the service excellent. We had a yummy 3 course dinner with wine and in the morning we had a full English which was one of the best I have tasted. The selection of other bits of food at breakfast was brilliant.

I cannot gush enough over this hotel. 10 out of 10 for everything!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just back from a weekend visit to the Old Orleton Inn, the moment we arrived we new we had chosen the right place to stay, beautiful and tastefully decorated, dining room, bar & lounges, our room was very comfortable, spotless clean,bright & spacious, again, the decor and furnishings were just lovely, a charming place to stay.
We ate in the hotel for breakfast & dinner our meals were delicious and well worth staying for..
Will definately be back again to the Old Orleton Inn where our hosts made us very welcome and nothing was a bother to them.
Well done Peter, Paul & Staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bax104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorridge, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2012

From the very first moment I got here this fantastic hotel hit all the right notes. My room is compact but beautifully appointed, clean and comfortable. If you're looking for a place to eat, stay, socialise, relax whilst visiting Telford or the surrounding area then this is it. I travel all over the world with my job and it's rare you find such a charming place. First rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

A fabulous meal cooked to perfection, the only let down was after ordering wine with the meal having to ask for an ice bucket to place it in, but that aside a very enjoyable evening spent with family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
1.0 km away
Buckatree Hall Hotel
Buckatree Hall Hotel
#4 of 21 in Telford
1,149 reviews
6.0 km away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
1.5 km away
Carriages - Cocktail Bar, Restaurant & Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
903 reviews
2.2 km away
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
Telford Whitehouse Hotel
#13 of 21 in Telford
537 reviews
6.7 km away
Holiday Inn Telford - Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Orleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Orleton Inn

Property: The Old Orleton Inn
Address: Holyhead Road | Wellington, Telford, Shropshire, Wellington, Telford TF1 2HA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Telford > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,704 - ₹ 9,098
Hotel Class:5 star — The Old Orleton Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Orleton Inn, Wellington, Shropshire is a charming retreat for both work and pleasure. With ten fully refurbished Boutique style bedrooms, each one unique in design and character, yet all retain their original antique features. A sumptuous mix of old and new for 21st century living. Renown locally for their comprehensive selection of carefully prepared Vegetarian, Fish and Meat dishes. Using only fresh, quality produce sourced locally whenever possible, giving the menus a truly "Modern British" character . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Orleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Orleton Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing