We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (599)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
294
212
57
22
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
212
57
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfruitnice hotelper personevery nightwhite hotelpool area isplenty of parkingice creambreadpoolsdesignalmeriajacuzzifishingbeachespersonnelfeeling
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Sunny, light, clean, a bit zen....good breakfast, everything is easy here. Good athmosphere, a lot of space gives a good athmosphere. We come back, one of the best hotels we ever visited, 3th that we come back here,

Room Tip: Everything perfect, rooms, personel, cleanness, architecural....fantastico
Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sercuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCDirector, Director General at Hotel Spa Calagrande, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Sercuf,

Thank you so much for your words about the Hotel

We will be glad to sgare the Hotel with you again

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2016

My overall experience in the cala grande hotel was good.
To get anything from this review I must express my motivations for choosing cabo de gata as my destination.
I love recreational fishing, body surfing, castle and ghost town visiting and rock collecting.
Hotels are a place where I can sleep soundly, eat and recharge my motors in order to do the things I love to do.
As far as the hotel is concerned it served me well in that area.
The breakfast was really great.
Dinner however was somewhat limited but was served was usually pretty good.
The waitresses seemed over whelmed at times by the work load.
Anika and Hermi are great waitresses and deserve a round of applause for their kindness and personal service.
I also wish to mention Julian at reception with whom I had a wonderful conversation with.
The dinner´s were served outside which was okay except for the people who thought it was okay to smoke.
We solved the problem by eating inside.
All the hotel staff were kind and attentive.
Our room was nice and the air conditioner quiet.
I believe however they need to revise their air conditioning unit. I think mosquitos were coming through the AC system.
I also noticed a heavy odor of tobacco smoke in the room, possibly from the AC.
It might be the someone smoking near the AC unit.
I hate the smell of tobacco.
These are small details that can easily fixed by either changing the room or telling the recepionist, of which I didn´t bother to do.
I did love the hotel location also.
It is a short walk from everything without being in the middle of the drunken mess that can materialise in such tourist areas in August.
Getting bottled water was sometimes a pain.
The spanish have the custom of closing at midday.
20 years in Spain and still haven´t gotten used to it.
There is one supermarket with unprofessional cashiers in Las negras that made the hours up as they went along.
The best solution is to stock up on water and leave it in your room.
Many of the restuarants in the beach area are staffed with waiters and waitresses who don´t are unqualified to work in the sector.
Thankfully that is not the case in Cala Grande hotel.
I would also like to give an insight into the Las negras beach and surroundings.
Places like cala san pedro were worth only a visit and nothing more.
It´s a beautiful little bay that is protected from the constant winds that frequent the area.
There is a hippy colony living there that I found at first to be interesting only later to realise that it is being held hostage by those same hippies who think they own the place.
The rules as far as being a nature reserve are a bloody joke.
Jet skiis were tearing the little coves up while boaters illegally anchored at will.
I found however that the jet skii activity to be the most offensive and violent attack on the senses and the reserve itself.
Police or forestry personnel were non existent.
The recreational fishing information was third world.
I decided to not pull out my fishing equpiment except for one day.
Again another jet skiier destroyed any chance of having any sort of a peaceful day fishing.
Those damaging water transport vehicles should be banned from such prestine areas.
The hills surrounding Las negras turned out to be a real gift.
While most people were buzzing up and down looking for a wind free beach we did a hike in the barranco de las negras.
There wasn´t a soul in sight.
It was hot but worth it. The rock formations and abandoned cortijos along with the scurry of quails and lizards made the hike a delight.
It was surreal to see how the volcanic activity and the people of the past forged this place into what it is today.
I highly recommend hiking in the hills in cabo de gata.
There was a surprise around every bend.
Had i not run short on water i believe I would have just walked the whole day long. We found some fossils but that took a back seat to the bizarre landscap that surrounded us.
As an avid hiker, it´s actually the best memory I think I have of my trip.
Thanks for reading. Ron
.

Room Tip: Room 31 was quiet and well situated. The terrace has a view of the sea. Important when deciding the plans for the day.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCDirector, Director General at Hotel Spa Calagrande, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Dear Ron,

Thank you so much for your words about the Hotel and our staff. It has been a pleasure to share these days with you.

I will tell my staff about your kindly words.

Hope you have a nice trip to come back home.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The hotel is located in the center of las Negras village, a small village close to major attractions (Mirador de Amatista, San Jose village and beaches), has an ok spa and good rooms (filled with dozens of mosquitoes though).
The bathrooms are not well designed as you have a window that connects to the room, next to the bed...and a door which has an opening thus no privacy and smell of sewer at night.
The staff attention was ok, very helpful at dinner and reception, very nice spa staff, with a high quality of food and wine at dinner. The breakfast was ok, very good selection of tea while lacking in fruit sometimes and with some bad manners weekend waiters (answering rudely, not bringing the food asked for etc.).

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank diana791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectorHC, Director General at Hotel Spa Calagrande, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2016
Google Translation

Estimada Diana,

Gracias por sus palabras, leemos sus observaciones y haremos lo que este en nuestra mano para solucionarlo. Solo decirle que la ventana de la ducha que da al dormitorio, es algo hecho adrede para poder ducharse y ver la habitación, el mar...

Aprovechamos la ocasión para mandarle un saludo de todo nuestro equipo.

Esperamos volver a verles por aquí.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2015 via mobile

It looks perfect at first look but the reception staff are not very helpful and friendly. The spa is good and lovely,the staff working there are really kind and nice. We took a road trip from Valencia there and we asked a room with a sea-view prior to our arrival but when we got there they said sorry! . When we got there we found the mattresses in balcony soaking wet and we couldn't sit on, so we asked them to changed it and they said not today! Because we ran out of staff,and they said tomorrow! After 3 days the mattresses were still unchanged and wet.About the breakfast , they acted like the were in a war zone rushing and they move tableware and utensils aggressively. So if you are in a neighborhood and you want a good spa go there,otherwise ...

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Afrooza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

The hotel has spacious rooms, a really fantastic breakfast and a wonderfull staff. It's a design hotel and very white while sometimes I thought another colour (for example by the swimming pool) would be nice. Probably forbidden by the architect. It's easy to acces with your car.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews