We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property!”
other travellers have booked this property
Contemporary decor and carpet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Contemporary decor and carpet
Come home to a log fire and table seating for 6 Feeling hungry? Cook here or eat in the village - only 2 mins away
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Contemporary decor and carpet
Come home to a log fire and table seating for 6
Feeling hungry? Cook here or eat in the village - only 2 mins away
We spent our winter week ends making it look like this for you!
Cotton sheets and a king size memory foam mattress for a great nights sleep
A proper shower as well
Whirlpool corner bath with room for 2!
Quality oak furniture complete with wooden hangers!
Fabulous kitchen with breakfast bar seating for 6
A roaring reception awaits after a long day
Dalby forest from the village
Colour at Castle Howard
Rated by our guests as 5*
Also loved by our junior guests
Ellerburn beck on way to Dalby Forest
Beck Isle Cottage with nearby paddling!
York walls where kids of all ages can pretend they are soldiers
The sign of a relaxing stay
Enjoy a walk at Flamborough to see the puffins nest
Ducks galore round the pond and they are always hungry
The seaside's not far away
Fabulous York walls walk
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Thornton-Le-Dale, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simon R
Ormiston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent property!”
Reviewed 23 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely house with all you could need, very comfortable throughout. Great location in North Yorkshire to get to beaches, Dalby Forest, Whitby, York, etc

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The living room and kitchen, bath
Liked least: Archway access
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
voidzboy1
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little getaway”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We have now stayed three times at Gable House, Andrew and Carole have put a lot of thought into making it the cosy place that it isand we thoroughly enjoyed our stays. Big spacious kitchen with log burner. Good size lounge/dining also with log burner. [full central heating if you don't want to light the fire], good quality beds and a large bath/shower room.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked it all
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, comfortable & clean house”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely house, very comfy beds, great kitchen, great location for exploring Yorkshire. Friendly and thoughtful hosts. Good wifi. We would love to have stayed longer!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole S
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Rally Stay”
Reviewed 26 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed here whilst my husband took part in forrest rally. The house was excellent very clean and spacious, lovely kitchen. We had a van and trailer so the Lovely pub, think it was the sun inn across the road allowed us to park it in there car park at night. Narrow arch to get through to park at Gable house I have an evoque which I managed to squeeze through. Only moan i have is couldn't work out how to work the heating as we were cold. But overall would highly recommend and defiantly stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position was good for us
Liked least: Heating
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2013
Many thanks for your kind review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your week end and glad that you managed to arrange parking at the New Inn. As advised, the village only has one main car park and access to the cottage was formed in the days of the horse and cart and although is it not ideal, it can accommodate commercial vehicles up to Transit van size. We were sorry to hear you had problems with a lack of heating as we were not aware of this. All controls for the heating are explained in our welcome information which is sent to each guest and is also available within the cottage. We are always available to take guest calls either on our land line or mobile and a quick phone call would have had you toasty! We hope this did not spoil your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeteJUK
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at a lovely cottage”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed here with my partner and our eight month old daughter during early October. The cottage is situated down a quiet alley very close to the Main Street of Thornton le dale. The cottage is lovely, really nicely furnished and very clean and the beds are very comfy. The kitchen is very well equipped and we enjoyed using one of the two wood burning fires during the evenings even though the central heating is more than adequate. Pickering is 2 miles away if you want to go on the Steam train to Goathland or Whitby. The closest supermarkets are in Malton which is about 15 minutes away. We'd definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The really well furnished cottage
Liked least: Tiled floor in kitchen meant cold feet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing