We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
74
40
5
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
40
5
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pasta overlooking the sea olive trees the owner yogurt home made during our stay cooking class short drive food cooked beautiful surroundings learned how authentic experience looking forward food was amazing house lemon
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We spent two nights at Torre Galli and attended a cooking class during our stay. Mariella and her son Demetrio along with the rest of the staff provided an amazing opportunity to experience a true slice of Italian country living. The historical old world charm of Torre Galli coupled with the attentive host made the stay very memorable. The food was farm to table fresh and it was a great experience to attend the cooking class and learn how to make the regional pasta. The room had beautiful authentic antique furniture and was very comfortable. Torre Galli is only 10 minutes from the old town of Tropea with great beaches and views. If you're considering a visit to the area we highly recommend staying at Torre Galli.

Room Tip: Great views, country quiet yet close to the beaches of Tropea
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

This is long overdue, but as I am looking at a return trip to Calabria, Torre Galli is on the list of "to go back to". Marcella, the owner was kind enough to agree to a last minute cooking class. It was wonderful. I was there 'off season' so just went for the cooking class. I want to experience it when the restaurant is in operation, and looking forward to staying there. Old Olive trees, lemon orchard, beautiful surroundings, and an amazing host and her wonderful assistant. the pasta making was easy, and the eating even better. Thank you, and apologies for taking so long for reviewing your beautiful villa.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ameeta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Last week we spent one night at Torre Galli and it was nothing else than fantastic. Unfortunately we had to continue our journey the next day to Sicily otherwise we would have definitely stayed longer. A beautiful house on a scenic location with gardens overlooking the sea. We were warmly welcomed by the friendly owner and her assistant. They accompagnied us to our room through the beautiful decorated house. Our room was Well appointed with a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom. We enjoyed a Nice Home made snack and glass of Wine in the garden viewing the surroundings and sea. Followed by a delicious dinner , without doubt the best during our trip in Italy. A wonderful culinary experience in a hospitable ambiance. The following morning's breakfast was fantastic with All home made products as joghurt, jam and spreads from their own land- we couldnt pick a "favourite" , these were all winners! The owner and assistant are very friendly, hospitable and caring persons - without doubt we will be recommending your place to our family and friends - a true "hidden gem". We are looking forward returning in the near future. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JVB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We had a cooking workshop in Torre Galli with Mariella and her workman. It was a 100% local experience in a typical Italian kitchen - cooking pasta 'nduja' and vegetables. We learned how to make pasta from scratch, afterwards Mariella took us to the very local bakery with a real wood stove - we saw the freshly baked bread and the owners of the bakery.
Olive & lemon trees around, rooms in a rustic italian style - if I knew about the place before arrival, I would definitely book it for the stay. Only 4 km from Tropea - so if you plan to rent a car anyways, I would recommend to spend your time in a real local environment, to 'smell' Italy!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Henrietta-Straton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We spent a charming couple of nights at Torre Galli. It is a taste of Old World Italian life. It gives you a nice base of operations from which to take day trips in the area. We arrived and were greeted promptly by the host and taken to our room. It was large and comfortable. The breakfasts and dinner was well prepared. The heat was a bit low, or I would have rated this place excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nichoj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews