We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea ”

The Dearden Tea Rooms
Ranked #3 of 125 Restaurants in Rossendale
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Once inside our tea rooms visitors will experience the authentic charm of yesteryear, open fires, original Lancashire range and may more original features whilst enjoying a traditional afternoon tea or if you prefer order from our menu of hearty dishes freshly prepared by our passionate chef and co - owner Chris Hood using locally sourced produce of the highest quality. We are passionate about baking and we hope you enjoy eating our cakes as much as we do making them. And we don't stop there our staff look the part too! We serve a vast selection of loose teas. Everything from traditional breakfast tea to delightful herbal and fruit teas, all our loose teas are available to buy. Loose tea isn't our only specialty. There's a coffee for everyone. Here at Dearden Tea Rooms we use rainforest espresso from exchange coffee based in Clitheroe. Our menu uses locally sourced produce of the highest quality. Visitors to our tea rooms can be assured of a warm welcome and a full belly!
Restaurant details
Description: Once inside our tea rooms visitors will experience the authentic charm of yesteryear, open fires, original Lancashire range and may more original features whilst enjoying a traditional afternoon tea or if you prefer order from our menu of hearty dishes freshly prepared by our passionate chef and co - owner Chris Hood using locally sourced produce of the highest quality. We are passionate about baking and we hope you enjoy eating our cakes as much as we do making them. And we don't stop there our staff look the part too! We serve a vast selection of loose teas. Everything from traditional breakfast tea to delightful herbal and fruit teas, all our loose teas are available to buy. Loose tea isn't our only specialty. There's a coffee for everyone. Here at Dearden Tea Rooms we use rainforest espresso from exchange coffee based in Clitheroe. Our menu uses locally sourced produce of the highest quality. Visitors to our tea rooms can be assured of a warm welcome and a full belly!
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had lovely afternoon tea. Sandwiches & cake selection were beautiful. Roaring fire. Staff were lovely & helpful especially Danni. Would definitely go again. Thank you.

Thank rashenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch had the cheese and onion pie which was delicious and our waitress Elise was lovely, looking forward in returning

Thank Grahame a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Our Cheese & Onion pie is home made and very popular. All our produce is locally sourced from reputable suppliers and cooked fresh to order where possible giving us great tasting dishes.

We will pass your feedback onto Elise and the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited Dearden Tea Rooms on several occasions and have never been disappointed. The food is lovely the staff are caring and friendly and the atmosphere is lovely too. The only problem I have is remembering to take cash as it is cash only for payment.

Thank samdingle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

It's great to hear you have visited us on several occasions and we've never disappointed.

All produce is locally sourced from reputable suppliers and cooked fresh to order where possible giving us great tasting food.

We are a cash only business but there is a cash machine immediately next door so don't panic.

We will pass your kind words onto the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to stop for breakfast on our way to the Lake District so googled places for breakfast near M65 this popped up so we gave it a try. The breakfast was delicious!! Well worth the slight detour

Thank Gingertraveller1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your visit to the tea rooms.

We are well known for our award winning breakfast. All produce is locally sourced from reputable suppliers within Lancashire and cooked fresh to order where possible.

We will pass your kind words onto the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I took my Mum here for afternoon tea on Saturday as a Mothers day treat. Firstly we were sat at a table right next to a childrens party which was obviously very noisy, the waitress apologised that there was nowhere else they could sit us as it was full and said the party would be finishing soon. The party left approx 20/30 mins later, during this time we couldnt hear each other very well
The afternoon tea was disappointing, 4 stingy sandwiches with hardly any filling. 2 small scones which were nice, a tiny square of chocolate cheesecake, half a strawberry, a pot of chocolate orange mousse and a piece of lemon drizzle cake. It was also made very clear that you only got 1 pot of tea included. Weve been for a lot of afternoon teas now and I can honestly say this is the stingiest ive had - it was clear theyre interested in as much profit as they can get and have cut corners at every opportunity. I have had much better afternoon teas for less money and wouldnt come back or recommend it to anyone
If you want to host childrens parties you ideally need a separate area so that other customers who come for a relaxing couple of hours are also catered for

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cjhood, Owner at The Dearden Tea Rooms, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review Sam.

We're sorry to read that you were very disappointed with the experience you had at the tea rooms on Saturday the 10th of March. We are usually busy at weekends but Mothers Day weekend was extremely busy.

We are a family orientated business and welcome families and children of all ages. We are also well known for hosting baby showers, hen parties, birthday parties and more recently we have had children celebrating their birthdays with us. We do ask all parties to be respectful of other customers when here but I'm sure the excitement got the better of them on more than one occasion. It's great to read that the waitress tried to accommodate you somewhere else, its just a shame we were full on this particular day.

We do believe our afternoon tea to be excellent value for money. All produce is locally sourced from reputable suppliers within Lancashire and cooked fresh to order where possible.

We will take on board your feedback and relay it back to the team and revisit staff training.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dearden Tea Rooms also viewed

Rawtenstall, Rossendale
 
Crawshaw Booth, Rossendale
 
Rawtenstall, Rossendale
 

Been to The Dearden Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing