We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveller rating
5
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We found this hotel while looking for a hotel near Emmen so we could go to Wildlands adventure zoo.
We booked 3 rooms for the six of us. What a good choice if you need a place to sleep for 1 or 2 nights. The rooms all have a theme. We had the Dutch room. It was small but cute and clean. Before going to sleep the six of us had some drinks and played cards in the breakfast room. Surrounding is also nice,you can sit outside and have some drinks.
Breakfast was good enough and included in the price.
The only thing I did not enjoy was the bed. Time for a new mattress. It was too soft and it was a little too hot in the room.
I would stay here again if I needed to be in the area.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

In October we stayed two nights in room 2. All rooms in this small hotel (8) have a theme. We had a room with ‘horse riding’ as theme.
We booked this hotel as a kind of ‘second choice’. Other hotels we had in mind along a hiking trails were occupied because of a holiday. We now can recommend this hotel to everybody as a first choice! Pros and cons.
Pros
- the location outside the center of Emlichheim (a 10 minutes’ walk) is a great advantage. No traffic sound at all. We seldom have had a hotel with a location and rooms as quiet as in this hotel.
- sufficient free parking near the hotel.
- a good check-in and service by a friendly lady who did everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible
- a nice comfortable room (larger than it looks on photo’s), with good lits jumeaux beds, sufficient lamplight in the room, flatscreen tv.
- the personal touch in this hotel; not only in rooms, but also in the breakfast room
- a tasty breakfast buffet with sufficient choice.

(Small) cons
- no really disadvantages. If we have to mention one, it would be that the free wifi signal in the room was rather weak.

Summarized, a small hotel with a very good quality, for a decent price. We would advise everybody to choose for this hotel if you like to stay in this region near the Dutch / German border.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MarcelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

Pension Groote Engel is a small pension in Emlichheim. It is a bit away from the village center so a car or bicycle is recommended. Each room has a theme and that is quite nice if you spend half of your time in hotel rooms. The rooms are very clean and decorated with a lot of care. The building and other materials are, as typical for Germany, excellent. There is no dinner served but the breakfast is, as typical for Germany again, very good. A good combination of hams, cheeses and sweet things and a good choice of rolls and breads. For lunch, the owners can provide you with a lunch box. At walking distance there are some places where you can get something to eat as well. The owners are flexible and relaxed and if you want to drink something at night or have a snack, you can just take it out of the fridge and write down what you take.Free WIFI.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IgorBl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews