We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing fort with great views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nalagarh Heritage Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nalagarh Heritage Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nalagarh
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Amazing fort with great views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Absolutely amazing old fort with great views! We stayed here for just one night on our trip from Shimla to Chandigarh, it’s about an hour’s drive from Kalka station and 1.5 hours to Chandigarh. It’s out of the main tourist route and located up a small side street on the top of a hill so hard to find if you don’t have a taxi. The only way to describe it is a beautiful tranquil 600 year old palace, perched on a hill overlooking the third world dirt and chaos.

We had a deluxe room which was huge with a massive walk in shower and bathroom and paid around 4000 Rupees (we just turned up and booked) Our room opened up onto a grassy courtyard lined with mango trees and white washed walls. There are amazing views of the landscape from little balconies and windows. The terrace has amazing sunset views over the chaos below.

The food served in the restaurant was very good with an evening buffet and a good selection of curries and breads. The pool is very relaxed, however, my only gripe was the two local kids by the pool who sat next to us giggling and pointing constantly. Not sure if they belonged to the hotel or not but it was like they’d never seen westerners before.

We also had a massage, manicure and pedicure when we were there which I think was overpriced for what it was. We subsequently then didn’t have enough cash to pay for the room and the card machine didn’t work, so think twice before taking a massage!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilgreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FortNalagarh, Director of Sales at Nalagarh Heritage Resort, responded to this review, 2 June 2016
Dear Guest,

Our Team and myself, thank you for taking out your valuable time to share your candid and constructive feedback.

We wish to express our gratitude for the kind words of appreciation you have chosen to describe your stay with us and have shared your comments with the entire staff. It is comments such as yours that motivate our associates to offer even higher levels of excellence and we shall make every effort to continue to live up to your expectations in future as well .

It will be delightful to host you again during your next trip to Nalagarh and we assure you of the best of services at all times.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Thakur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    49
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
45
30
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We arrived quite tired to be given the biggest room we have ever had .A huge bathroom.It was very comfortable and the views from the terrace were beautiful.Although the dinner was very good the table cloths were dirty.They have a badminton court in the central courtyard which can get a bit noisy especially when they start playing at 6.30 in the morning.! A comfortable stop on the way to Pragpur

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanrobinson190832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Our stay at Nalagarh Fort Resorts marked the beginning of our trip to Himachal Pradesh in early April, 2012. We were quite enchanted by the setting, the architecture and the decor of the place. The staff was courteous and accommodating. We were almost wishing we had stayed longer than a night. Then we had dinner. It was floating in oil and excessively spicy. We wondered how families with small children (there were several staying there at the time) would manage. We ended up the next morning with a bad case of food poisoning which partially ruined our trip. I had a look at the comments in the guest book later. The beauty of the property had earned much praise, but the food had invited adverse criticism.
We are back home and despite nearly a fortnight having gone by since our stay in Nalagarh, we have still not recovered. We now suspect the food served to us was recycled (the hotel was hosting a convention and probably made do with leftovers). In a remote area like this one, where there are few other culinary options, the meals served at a hotel are the backbone of the establishment. We are therefore quite disappointed by our experience of the place.

Room Tip: Ours was on the first floor and had a terrace all around it with nice views. It was also set apart i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MitaKolkata2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jalandhar, Punjab, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I frequently go to Nalagarh for a business purpose. Since Last 10 years, whenever I'm at Nalagarh, I stay only in this Resort.
Staying here gives you a immense pleasure. This resort is so old but well maintained. In real manner one can feel, a home away from home. The service & hospitality you get here is matchless. Rooms are big & lavish. Bar is small but unique. In the morning & evening you can enjoy the freshness of the nature.
Quite a peaceful place to stay. Also many times I have spent my weekend here with my family.
Definitely a worth place to stay.

Room Tip: Accept near Tennis Court all Rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kishores9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambala, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Good place to be.Nice place to recharge and regain energy.Comfortable stay. Really nice food.Courteous staff. Lot of games available. Really good place to stay for a day or two if you are looking to relax.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bansal_84k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nalagarh
30.4 km away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#1 of 16 in Kasauli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
35.4 km away
Moksha Himalaya Spa Resort
12.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Royal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.6 km away
Timber Trail Heights
Timber Trail Heights
#2 of 6 in Parwanoo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
36.2 km away
Aamod
Aamod
#1 of 2 in Shoghi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
11.8 km away
Legend Sarovar Portico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nalagarh Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nalagarh Heritage Resort

Property: Nalagarh Heritage Resort
Address: Rajmahal, Nalagarh, Nalagarh Tehsil 174101, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Nalagarh Tehsil > Nalagarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Nalagarh
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,956 - ₹ 7,094
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nalagarh Fort is a heritage resort with all modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ClearTrip, TravelGuru and Agoda so you can book your Nalagarh Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nalagarh Fort Hotel Nalagarh
Nalagarh Fort Himachal Pradesh
Nalagarh Heritage Resort Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing