We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveller rating
245
46
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
245
46
8
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr prithvi meditation room top floor the owner meditation hall bonfire area visited kalpa french windows breathtaking views electric kettle snow capped mountains library books hospitality balcony india beauty
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 300 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The best host and the greatest hospitality you can ever hope for. The front rooms have the best views of Kinner Kailash in all of Kalpa. Their library is fantastic, as are the meditation room and the entertainment room with a large projector and a great collection of movies and documentaries.
We went for our 30th anniversary for six days and the entire trip was phenomenal. We will cherish these memories all our life. The staff had arranged for a well thought of private, candle light dinner for the two of us.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gdvikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021 via mobile

The staff is amazing the host and the owner both are very humble and very hospitable . The best view from kalpa .
The bar
Library
And the bonfire area are amazing .
Devil the staff guy is always excited to host the guests.
Whenever in kalpa without a doubt opt for this one .
Recommended trip to chakka and peo market also .

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank pawan0782verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2021 via mobile

Easily the best place in Kalpa to spend a week or a weekend. This is my second visit to the place in 3 years, and I have yet to find a more hospitable and positive staff. Owner Prithvi has now become a friend, and has done up the place beautifully. Army issue blankets kept us warm in -18 deg nights, and the warmth from staff like Shubham (amongst others) kept us ever warmer. The food is lovely, and it has fantastic views of the surrounding mountains. And all of this from the comfort of your bed. The place itself is beautifully done up, with balconies offering spectacular evening chai spots. The library on the top floor is stacked with a great variety of books, and also offers a 360 view of the surrounding area.
I’m not going to bother looking for another place to stay in Kalpa. The Grand Shamba-La is where I’m headed.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank aadilnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2019

We traveled to Kalpa after 4 days in Taj Theog, Simla, and since this is a tiny village we hadn't expected much, but oh we were in for such a surprise! The views of Jorkanden and Ralden from each room are to die for, and you can even spot the Kinnaur Kailash trident using the binoculars present in the upper deck/ library in the hotel. The sit-out here on the library deck was perfect for watching the sun rise (I even shot a time-lapse video).

The hotel is owned by Mr Prithviraj Negi, who was traveling, but we were well taken care of by Mr Yashpal (the manager), Mr Devender and Mr Shubham, who were all courteous, ever-smiling and very friendly. They accommodated our request for food items which weren't even on the menu, and we relished the tastiest bowls of Thukpa here. The rooms aren't very spacious, but they are well-equipped with electric kettle, a 3KW heater, and running hot water. The french windows and balcony offer some astonishing views, and you could head to the library deck or the meditation hall adjoining the property for happily whiling your time away when here.

We managed to visit Sangla Valley and Chitkul on the first day we were here - it was a truly magical experience to watch green meadows and snow-capped mountains and the zig-zag roads. It began to snow the 2nd night we were there, and by morning the entire place was like a winter wonderland - tree branches enveloped in snow, roads and cars covered in snow too. Our rented car (a Toyota Etios) would not be able to navigate safely in snow-covered roads, so the driver suggested that we sent unimportant luggage with him, down to Powari where the chances of snowfall were relatively scanty. We spent the day strolling, enjoying the snow fall and relishing warm bowls of thukpa. Since we had to leave the next morning to catch a flight thereafter from Delhi, Yashpalji informed us that the snow would reach 2-3 ft height by morning, and if PWD delayed the clearance, we may miss our flights. The staff helped us shift to a hotel in Reckong Peo overnight - Yashpalji even arranged the transportation via an uncle of his who owned a Gypsy, and they transported us and a co-passenger group of 10 members to the hotel in Reckong Peo. He then personally saw to it that we were comfortable, and stayed the night in a nearby place to help us with transportation in the morning for Powari, where our driver and luggage were waiting. All these efforts, and he smiled throughout, and refused to accept any tip at all - it's true that when you visit the mountains, you meet the kindest, happiest and most helpful people.

The hospitality and care impressed us the most here, and we definitely would visit and highly recommend this place and Grand Shamba-la Hotel to all. Visit it to believe the beauty and peace!

Room tip: The higher level rooms offer better views, but combined with the high altitude of kalpa, it is advisable that you climb slowly.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank soniavad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2019

We visited Kalpa on 10 th 11th and 12th December 2019. The high light of our stay was in Grand Shamba La Kalpa we were a Group of 10 Adults and one child and we had senior members on the group the staff were very courteous and helpful food was excellent and Yashpal thr Manager had taken personal responsibility of our safe return when it started snowing heavily

I recommend this hotel for every body and I travel a lot but this was the best experience ofy travel in a Decade

Mahesh Kumar

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Wanderer318555254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews