We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME PROPERTY! Must visit for snow capped mountains even in MAY!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kalpa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kinner Kailash (HPTDC)
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kalpa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Please definately stay in this hotel! We stayed here for two days and had absolutely nothing to do but we still loved it! The food is good. though repetitive from other hptdc hotels. Since this is a new property it is great. the staff is particularly nice very where in all hptdc hotels.

The view of this hotel is breathtaking! Though get a room in the new wing to have this view! The only place to see snow capped mountains! Besides the hotel a small trail goes upto the mountain where there is a temple. It is very little trekking and has steps made. A very nice himachali family lives there with cute rosy cheeked kids! Do visit!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2010

it is a fantastic hotel with awesome site scenes.. delicious food with lots of variety.. great hospitality.. from my side i think it deserves 10 out of 10..
i will definately recommend this hotel to my friendz..

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank savin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

This is the best hotel i stayed in Himachal Pradesh. Its a wonderful hotel managed by HPTDC. the location is little above kalpa village and valley view is wonderful. Hotel staff are friendly infact all kinnauri people are friendly. Food and desserts were delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chaitanya_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2010

We didnt stay at Kinner Kailas - only had lunch there once. There are only 2 decent-ish hotels in Kalpa and we stayed at the other one Kinner Villa which was slightly cheaper but had an enthusiastic and helpful staff.
The Kinner Kailas hotel seemed like a typical govt run set up. When we walked in at 12 30, the waiter informed us in bored tones that lunch could only be served after 1 30. Most of the dishes on the menu were not available and the ones we ordered (standard stuff like Butter Chicken etc) were oily and had a weird smell.
the location of the hotel is good though it doesnt have a balcony (like the Kinner Villa does) where one can drink in the spectacular view. We didnt see the rooms so cant comment but in general the service seemed poor.

I'd recommend Kalpa only for people who like to enjoy the beauty of nature from afar - those who like to sit and watch snow clad mountains but have no desire to hike up them. The only things one can do is walk to Kalpa village ( typical pahadi village) and to Roghi which is 3 km away. The walk to Roghi is on a tarred road so not very exciting to people like me who prefer trek routes through forests and meadows. Roghi is a scenic place but the village is a smaller version of Kalpa. The disturbing thing about both was that we encountered several children (mostly girls) who came up to us asking for 5 or 10 rupees. In all my travels and treks in India this is the first time I've experienced something like this. A sad reflection of the urban greed and culture we're bringing into these remote hamlets :(

As for hotels in Kalpa - I recommend Kinner Villa . It doesnt look as posh from outside as the Kinner Kailas but the service and probably the rooms are better.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjana0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

As a honeymoon couple we stayed here for 7 days in cottages. Basically a very nice hotel with good arrangement for food and stay ammenities.
24 Hrs geyser, Wooden flooring etc.
Very neat and clean hotel.
Good staff.
Very nicely located opposite Kinner kailash range. Breathtaking view from porch. Apple, Peach, apricot garden along the boundary
Best part was the View.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tazz_mania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalpa
0.8 km away
Kinner Villa
Kinner Villa
#1 of 6 in Kalpa
64 reviews
12.4 km away
Hotel Batseri
Hotel Batseri
#1 of 15 in Sangla
39 reviews
27.1 km away
Samaa Resorts - Chitkul Heights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 km away
Hotel Madhu
Hotel Madhu
#5 of 15 in Sangla
24 reviews
14.2 km away
Kinner Camp Sangla
Kinner Camp Sangla
#2 of 17 in Sangla
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kinner Kailash (HPTDC)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kinner Kailash (HPTDC)

Address: HPTDC Tehsel Kalpa, Kalpa 172107, India
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kinnaur District > Kalpa
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Kalpa
Price Range: ₹ 3,680 - ₹ 4,325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hotel Kinner Kailash (HPTDC) Kalpa, Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing