We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
10
5
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
5
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent stay home stay sunset point camp fire dec amenities mud trekking mountains waterfall midst homestay place property coffee hospitality
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Visited with a group of friends in July for 2 days, had the most humbling and nourishing experience. There is no network coverage for Vodafone there, so after a long time completely cut off from the world outside and really enjoyed the home stay and Chickmanglur.
Difficult to say what was the best part of the trip - it would be a tie between three things:
1. Absolutely scrumptious and delicious local food prepared by Auntie (we over-ate throughout the trip)
2. The company of our humble & funny host Ikshu, who took us for several trips around the place while looking after us Mumbai-ites, completely new to this world.
3. The stunning beauty of the place, the endless mountains and valleys, streams and waterfalls, the dense forests mingled with plantations topped with wispy clouds

As far as the stay goes, we were made very comfortable by our hosts and given complete attention to as there was no double booking during our stay.

I would highly recommend Cross hill homestay to anyone looking for something other than the ordinary and is willing to step out of their usual world.

Room tip: All rooms are the same
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadhurP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

A small rustic cottage with a few rooms surrounded by nothing by greenery and the silence of the mountains. Very basic but comfortable rooms and bathroom with plenty of hot water (which was highly necessary), amazing food and the best host that one could ask for - Ikshu and his friend Shashi. The open centre courtyard was a fun place to play cricket and transforms into the perfect party place with a warm camp fire to keep you company in the cold nights under the starry sky.

We reached the homestay in the afternoon by following Ikshu's car from Mudigere. The roads are the only pain point of this place, and it may not suit all cars. Check with the owner regarding this. My suggestion to Crosshill is to use a jeep to ferry passengers from the nearest town with good roads to his homestay, if they prefer. We were given a lovely refreshing pink lemonade on arrival (made with ginger lotus). After a wonderful lunch of veg pulao, potato bajjis, white rice with sambar, rasam and curd (and chicken biryani with chicken fry as starters), we decided to take a stroll to the nearby natural pool to swim in clear fresh water. They provided us with clean wildcraft life jackets (they maintain quality in everything, we figured!). A short walk away and we came across a pristine small pool which was at the end of the waterfall which is 30 mins away. The water was freezing even at 3 in the afternoon, but was oh-so-wonderful to play in specially when the sun's rays hit the pool. After this we went back to the homestay and freshened up to go to the sunset point at Devaramane Valley. This place was beyond gorgeous! We watched the sun go down and leave hues behind. Got back to the homestay and started the campfire which the kept up for almost 4 hours. We enjoyed the warmth, but not the ashes as much :) After a night of laughter and craziness with uno and rum and dinner, we couldn't manage to wake up early for the trek through the forest in the morning. We were ready to skip it, however, Ikshu insisted and pushed us to go for it. This is what we liked best about him. Throughout the trek, Ikshu kept us interested by giving us little anecdotes about the forest around us and on the way back, he showed us the different species of plants in their backyard. We returned in time for hot akki rotis with awesome coconut chutney and green gram masala curry, and also upma and holige (which is like a jaggery and coconut filled roti). After the sumptuous and delectable breakfast, we got ready and had to be on our way out.

All in all, a fantastic getaway! I would have given it 5 stars, but we were all too cold at night despite the rug. The inner layer of the quilt was nylon which may have caused the issue. I know this is a very minute thing, but it caused quite a bit of lack of sleep :) This and the roads are the only reason to take away 1 star. Once the bridge comes up on the tar road, you can expect us more often. Keep up the awesome work!

Room tip: All rooms are the same
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_z0mbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Me and my friends decided to go for the long pending trip to Chikmaglur. We were looking for a not too expensive place and we found it on tripadvisor.
We were eight adults plus one child, called the owner Ikshu and the booking was quick and easy. We reached on Friday late noon on time for lunch.
The host Mr. Ikshu is a very humble person.
The food prepared by Ikshu's mother was simply brilliant.
We stayed for 2 nights and there were no multiple bookings. Later Ikshu told that they don't take multiple bookings at the same time to maintain the privacy.
Rooms are small but clean.
The trekking to nearby place was brilliant with stream flowing very close to property, Shashi the helper was out guide for trekking.

Over all 4.5/5

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank YogeshAte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2015

This was one of the most memorable stay we had..The property is located interior of mudigere and away from dust, pollution and noice. Probably the sound is only of winds and rains.This place may not come under very good amenities but surely this place should not be missed as this may be one of the calm places.
The host Mr Ikshu is a very knowledgeable person about the place and also versed.
The trekking to nearby place was brilliant with stream flowing very close to property.
The food prepared by the Host's mother was brilliant and very yummy.
One point to remember is carry enough rain coats and beware of leeches, though it is not a show stopper...

Overall i would rate this as one of the best stay with nature.

Points to note:
No electricity (i feel we can survive without it) Basic lighting is provided.
No Mobile Network (You have time for friends and yourself)
The road leading to homestay is muddy.

This place can be called as Photographers Paradise...

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Praveen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2015

Remote! No mobile network! Connected only by cutout mud roads! It's the perfect definition of a getaway!
It's a short trek to a hill overlooking a valley that wakes up to the most scenic of sunrises and a short walk to a clear natural swimming pool. Also, 27 year old Ikshu is the perfect host. @ City dwellers: Do go prepared for frequent power outages and minimalist convenience!

Date of stay: March 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
6  Thank PraveenMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews