We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, But You Know.......”
Review of Flameback Lodges

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mudigere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Flameback Lodges
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mudigere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great, But You Know.......”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The most part of our three day rendezvous into the depths of south India was brilliant. Although it wasn't hard to find a few flaws with Flameback Lodges. Being only 14 years old and coming from day to day chaos in Camden i'm not accustomed to the unbelievable serenity we were subjected to at Flameback. There was everything an adventure thriving human being could ask for, a lake that allowed rowing as well as a massive forest around the whole area. German Shephards roaming around all over and mountain bikes at full dispense. The villa we stayed in was also really nice, with a Jacuzzi and rain shower as well a flatscreen t.v and wifi. There were a few things that were a little flawed as well, for example the food was absolutely putrid. Also the swimming pool was full of dead bugs and flies,(im not snob, I just felt i'd rather not swim in a pool which was 9 parts insect, 1 part water). Other than those two major flaws Flameback is a great place to go to if you want a serene environment for a few days.

Room Tip: Villas are the best place to be, they are more private thatn the paddy cottages and have a great vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex1539712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    29
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
49
34
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The lodge consists of some Luxury villas and small villas, spread-ed between paddy fields, small greenly mountains and forest.
We 4 person were there for 1 night - 2 days. We got the luxury villa, which I must say is great looking, spacious, well decorated villa. Bathroom is having a Jacuzzi and a separate shower area. Each villa has individual balcony and a small lawn with sitting place. All rooms have glass doors and windows. Because of which I felt the lack of privacy within room specially at night when it would be visible from outside (even after dropping the curtains). Dining area is nicely decorated and have a good view of lake, paddy fields and mountains.
This place has good outdoor activities like kayaking in the lake, cycling across the around place and forest or a calm walk. It has a pool and TT table near dining area.
It has also Ayurvedic massage with sauna bath. I like the cycling around the place.

I would say it is great place to be there if you are not that tight with your budget.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eternity007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The moment we left Hassan, it was blissful as we left the honking and the suicidal drivers behind, and once in Mudigere, we savoured the beautiful country drive to the Flameback Lodges, completely unspoilt countryside and untouched by commercialism and tourism .... and I hope it continues to stay that way. Our paddy villa was very comfortable, with a huge deck, and lovely views of the paddy fields and forest beyond. I am not normally a fan of buffets, but I loved the food and there was lots of it. The staff are very attentive and very accommodating. The massage was excellent. I look forward to visiting again ... soon!

Room Tip: I am not sure there is a bad room; ours was on the low-end, a Paddy Villa, and it was beautiful - an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Simply superb way to unwind! Excellent cottages, clean, cozy, private and beautiful. We are a family of 4 - 2 boys age 14 and 9. We spent 3 nights in the luxary villa and the experience was simply amazing. The staff there is superb and caters to every need . They treat you like family. There is enough stuff to do for your kids as well like hiking, nature walk, canoeing...all inclusive!
There were 2 german shepards and my sons loved going for regular walk with them. Best of all there is no connectivity at the villa - so we stayed away from emails/calls etc. They are very open to you using their landline to make calls to family and friends - which we did just to let them know that we had reached- but it helped to be away from all the noise! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for luxary villa facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shilpa_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Botswana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

If you are looking for a place to go for rambling walks, to go kayaking with your family, to sit back and quaff the spirit of your choice, all the while gorging on local delicacies, whilst ensconced in the lap of luxury... well this is the resort you want to resort to.

We had a lovely break from the hustle and bustle of the city life, doing everything and yet nothing. The resident friendly canines were our waling companions, attentive yet giving us space. The staff was there discreetly helpful. The serenity of the estate adjoining and the views from atop the hilltop were amazing ... literally a walk in the clouds.
You dont need to go for the massage / spa, nature itself shall soothe you. And the rooms are done up tastefully with luxury and comfort being the key. The bungalows have their own private garden and outdoor jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Go for the luxury villa if its in your budget, though the paddy cottages are equally good. before se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cari11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mudigere
0.0 km away
Trivik Chikmagalur
Trivik Chikmagalur
#4 of 16 in Chikamagalur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
38.0 km away
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
The Gateway Hotel Chikmagalur
#2 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
35.0 km away
Java Rain
Java Rain
#3 of 16 in Chikamagalur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.9 km away
Crystal Inn
Crystal Inn
#5 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
27.1 km away
The Serai
The Serai
#1 of 16 in Chikamagalur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
36.1 km away
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
Mountain Valley Chikmagalur
#8 of 136 in Chikamagalur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flameback Lodges? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flameback Lodges

Property: Flameback Lodges
Address: Billur Post, Pattadur Village, Mudigere 577132, India
Region: India > Karnataka > Chikkamagaluru District > Mudigere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mudigere
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,962 - ₹ 23,588
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Flameback Hotel Mudigere
Flameback Lodges Mudigere, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing