We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Close to beaches, great accommodation”

Review of Puffin House

Wide view of Puffin House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wide view of Puffin House
The bridge across the stream and the Puffin House The lake at front of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Wide view of Puffin House
The bridge across the stream and the Puffin House
The lake at front of house
kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Room
Twin bedroom
Upstairs triple bed
family bathroom
Dusk on the beach
The pond that the house overlooks
Wide view of Polzeath Bay
Dogs on the cliff front
Sunset on the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Polzeath, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jowedeman
1 review
“Close to beaches, great accommodation”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed here for new year and loved the place. Lovely walk through the trees to the beach. Lots of nice places to visit nearby. Some of our group played golf, swam at the health club, went horse riding. On site restaurant was lovely too. Would be nice if there were swings or something for the children but otherwise great.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eija B
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely very comfortable house for a family Christmas”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We enjoyed a special family Christmas at Puffin - the house was charming and worked really well for young people, adults and elderly grandparents including a wheelchair user - as well as two Dalmatians!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness and quality of the accommodation
Liked least: Kitchen utensils - lack of good knives and oven mits
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip B
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A brilliant house in a superb location”
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Puffin House is family holiday home that is well appointed, well located and quiet. It is so convenient for Pozeath beach, an area we have been coming to for many years. As the family has grown, we have wanted a really good home to holiday in so this holiday has been our second time in Puffin as we like it so much. I highly recommend Claire Derry's Puffin House.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bukka79
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Puffin amazing!”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

What a wonderful pad in a fabulous part of the world! Kids dogs and grown ups were all very happy with Puffin House! From the minute we arrived (early) we were off exploring the golf course with the dogs! No fights over the rooms as they were all fabulous (pictures and reviews didn't do them justice)! It was perfect for our family/friends annual holiday! It had loads of things in the kitchen and music docking stations books and games etc! (I lost at scrabble! Outrageous!) We brought our own stairgates for smaller children and to keep dogs downstairs, and the garden area is very steep for little ones so some caution is to be had but it had lovely views and was a great sun trap! Loads of space/storage for golf clubs and body boards in the garage and an extra fridge for booze! Great big BBQ and Ice trays in the cupboard above the fridge. (We found them on the last day)! We love Polzeath beach (busy but lots of fun) and Daymer beach. A fun little 20min walk to the beach along a footpath through the golf course (lots of blackberry, sloe berries and other little treats) good run for the dogs!! We'll be back soon I hope! :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
333florri...
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great house for our family holiday”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a wonderful week at Puffin House. Very spacious and well equipped house. It was an excellent location for our holiday with the facilities at the Point available at a reasonable price. Some of our party used the golf course and the swimming pool, restaurant was child friendly. Polzeath beach is only 5 minutes by car from the house, with dog-friendly Daymer beach just a little further. We cycled the Camel Trail from Wadebridge to Padstow - hired bikes with buggy and child seat - great fun. Enjoyed the Mowhay for morning coffee and light lunch. I would definitely recommend Puffin House and hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing