We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunter Valley YHA
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 87
US$ 70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley(Lovedale)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
US$ 138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$ 230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cessnock Motel(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
US$ 102
US$ 98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$ 94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wine Country Motor Inn(Cessnock)(Great Value!)
US$ 109
US$ 104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 87
US$ 84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
9
17
13
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
17
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bedwine tourpotters brewerynice sceneryabsolute starbudget optionhunter valleyhostelnigelbedsfootstepsaccommodation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2017

A fan in the bedroom and the beds have a plastic covering over the mattress, so avoid the place in hot weather. 2 toilets and 2 showers TOTAL for women and 4 hotplates in total to cook on. Floors are boards, so you hear and feel the other guests footsteps or thuds as they walk, with windows rattling when doors are shut. There's a combined dining area and lounge that gets pretty crowded, but if you are a family you can always sit at a picnic table if there is one available.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 775traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

Very quiet, nice scenery & pool. Easy walk to potters brewery. Stayed in a 4person room with private bathroom. Basic room with modern bathroom and comfortable beds. Happy that we splashed out on local food & wine and saved on accommodation. Would return.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank kitty_jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016 via mobile

Hunter valley yha is very nice palce to stay if you need a cheap accomodation in Hunter valley. It is clean, relatively new kitchen, toilets and showers and nice yard with bbq-place and little swimming pool. The owner couple is very nice and helpful.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank AniMal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016

We were 5 families with kids who stayed here over Easter. The YHA was excellent. Great location, lots of room for the kids to play outside, a swimming pool and big verandahs to enjoy a wine at the end of the day. The hosts are lovely and you can hire bikes to visit the local vineyards. I highly recommend this as a place for large groups with kids that isn't too expensive.

Room Tip: Family rooms have an ensuite and the best view.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2016

We came to the Hunter to view the Xmas lights and came for 2 days. Many of the hotels were charging in excess of $290 per night and we did not want to spend this much considering check-in is 3pm and we would be out and about most of the time hence why we chose a budget hotel.

The YHA is decent accommodation overall. We and we stayed in a room with a double bed and bunks and ensuite.

The weekend we stayed it was very hot and the room did not have air con, only a small blower fan in the corner of the room which was not sufficient. The room felt like a boiler so we when there we had to spend a lot of time in the dining area which was the only place which was air conditioned.

The ensuite bathroom was huge as it is designed for disabled people. In saying this the ventilation in the bathroom was poor so all the heat from the shower would work its way into the room. The double bed did not have a spring mattress instead a foam one and your back feels it the next day. Not comfortable.

The place had an in-ground pool which was great but needed a clean.

The great thing about YHAs is that you can make your own meals as they provide a full equipped kitchen and this is a great way to cut down costs but also manage your meals.

You can park your car at the front and it is not far from the Xmas lights, wineries or shops.

It was a convenient stay not a comfortable one.

If they install air con in the room and a spring mattress we'll be back otherwise it we give it a miss.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews