We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
33
12
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
12
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Shinoussa is a lovely picturesque island. The place is wonderful with all the beauty of Cyclades. The island is 3 x 3 Km and with a population of 200 people. Many lovely beaches, with calm green water, a small village wait a few dozen houses and a handful of cafes and bars.

Lioliou Brach is the best hotel on the island. The hotel is in a cove and has its own beach. The distance form the hotel to the beach is 30 meters. The restaurant is very good with traditional food and flesh fish, reasonably priced with friendly owners and staff. This is the third year in a row that we are coming to the island the hotel for 10 days vacation. Absolute relaxation.

The rooms are plain but more than sufficient and balconies that overlook the beach. The hotel has about 20 rooms and all guests mingle and become friends that meet year after year to enjoy this marvelous place.

Families, couples, small groups have a wonderful relaxing time in an ageless Aegan location. A place to forget your worries and rejuvenate.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2016

we were at this hotel a few years back when it was undergoing refurbishment and they have made a great job of it. rooms are excellent though to get a decent wifi signal you need to got to reception. the only slight difficulty we had was with language, since the grandparents in charge spoke no English, and Katy (?) who did the cleaning, serving etc struggled a bit. but then we havent made any effort to speak greek ! they were nonetheless extremely helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. we ate in the restaurant on the first night and enjoyed the home cooking. the 2 beaches are in excellent condition and one is ideal for "safe" swimming since the waters are shallow. we will be back

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scousecousin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here twice, once in June 2014 and we have just left after three wonderful days in June 2016.

A lovely location if you are looking for peace and quiet, the hotel is very clean, spacious and well maintained.

What makes it special is the hospitality. The family who own Lioliou really looked after us. The food was lovely and with only a few guests we were asked if we had any particular requests. We were quite happy to go with the flow and enjoyed everything that was prepared but on our last day we fancied chicken in the oven with potatoes which was kindly made for us and like all the meals, was excellent.

With excellent food, free trips into Chora (which we didn't need as we were so happy at Lioliou) and friendly and helpful service from Katie including free Greek lessons we had a special time and we were sad to leave.

We loved our time here and will definitely return for a third visit.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Our group stopped at Lioliou for a night as we were paddling kayaks around several of the small cyclades and we could not have been happier. The location is beautiful and relaxing and our hosts, Giannis, Chrissoula made the experience memorable for all of our group. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northwestpassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We booked Lioliou Beach Hotel for 7 days this August: impressed by recent reviews, we very much looked forward to our holiday.

Greeted by the dockside, the short journey up and over the hill, through the small, delightful town of Chora, took us to the hotel. Beautifully situated, with a couple of excellent beaches close by, we soon settled in to the pleasant rooms. The rooms are good but if you choose to stay here, then ask for a balcony – my daughter and her husband were very disappointed to be given one of the few rooms with a balcony that was too small to sit on – but the general standards are good. But what followed proved hugely disappointing.

The place is a little isolated but the nightly minibus offers a simple opportunity to go into town and to enjoy the pleasures of small, vibrant centre with some excellent restaurants and cafes. But we decided to eat locally for the first night, in the hotel restaurant. Whilst not particularly busy, we struggled with service: when we asked for menus, the miserable waitress actually through them at the table with as little grace as she could muster: we were shocked and appalled that any establishment could treat their guests in such a way. This didn’t bode well and it got worse.

Meanwhile I made the mistake of talking to Giannis, who apparently runs the place, whilst he was sat at a nearby table smoking, and asked what the ‘specials’ were, as it wasn’t clear on the menu. What followed was an extraordinary act of rudeness: he simply ignored me to the embarrassment of me, my family and other guests. I hadn’t realised that the form was this: you have to ask for menu first (don’t ask the staff to explain anything as only he can do this) and then wait for him to grace your table with his presence, which he eventually did, and with as much indifference as possible, he finally took our order. Not surprisingly, that was our last evening meal at the hotel. And, ironically, this was our worse food experience in a 15 day trip to Schinoussa and the neighbouring islands.

By chance, whilst walking to a nearby beach, we saw a small sign to another establishment, the Anatoli Studios. As I strolled up one afternoon, following a small track through a goat field, I was greeted by Nikos who runs the place – we could not have been made more welcome. Not only did they point out the less frequented beaches and talk about local history, the food and hospitality was first rate. Apart from breakfast at the hotel, which was fine, we either ate here or in Chora, where the locals could not have been nicer.

Schinoussa is lovely even in August! The beaches were never packed and if you are willing to walk, you can still find plenty of peace and quiet without too much effort. The hotel is well appointed: a lovely location and decent rooms with air conditioning. The rest of the non-restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful but the rudeness of some left a distinctly sour taste. Despite paying up front – the place doesn’t take cards – when the opportunity came to go to Naxos a couple of days early, we cut our losses and left.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony big enough to actually sit on
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSusanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews