We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
33
12
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
33
12
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 50 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Our group stopped at Lioliou for a night as we were paddling kayaks around several of the small cyclades and we could not have been happier. The location is beautiful and relaxing and our hosts, Giannis, Chrissoula made the experience memorable for all of our group. Can't wait to return!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northwestpassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We booked Lioliou Beach Hotel for 7 days this August: impressed by recent reviews, we very much looked forward to our holiday.

Greeted by the dockside, the short journey up and over the hill, through the small, delightful town of Chora, took us to the hotel. Beautifully situated, with a couple of excellent beaches close by, we soon settled in to the pleasant rooms. The rooms are good but if you choose to stay here, then ask for a balcony – my daughter and her husband were very disappointed to be given one of the few rooms with a balcony that was too small to sit on – but the general standards are good. But what followed proved hugely disappointing.

The place is a little isolated but the nightly minibus offers a simple opportunity to go into town and to enjoy the pleasures of small, vibrant centre with some excellent restaurants and cafes. But we decided to eat locally for the first night, in the hotel restaurant. Whilst not particularly busy, we struggled with service: when we asked for menus, the miserable waitress actually through them at the table with as little grace as she could muster: we were shocked and appalled that any establishment could treat their guests in such a way. This didn’t bode well and it got worse.

Meanwhile I made the mistake of talking to Giannis, who apparently runs the place, whilst he was sat at a nearby table smoking, and asked what the ‘specials’ were, as it wasn’t clear on the menu. What followed was an extraordinary act of rudeness: he simply ignored me to the embarrassment of me, my family and other guests. I hadn’t realised that the form was this: you have to ask for menu first (don’t ask the staff to explain anything as only he can do this) and then wait for him to grace your table with his presence, which he eventually did, and with as much indifference as possible, he finally took our order. Not surprisingly, that was our last evening meal at the hotel. And, ironically, this was our worse food experience in a 15 day trip to Schinoussa and the neighbouring islands.

By chance, whilst walking to a nearby beach, we saw a small sign to another establishment, the Anatoli Studios. As I strolled up one afternoon, following a small track through a goat field, I was greeted by Nikos who runs the place – we could not have been made more welcome. Not only did they point out the less frequented beaches and talk about local history, the food and hospitality was first rate. Apart from breakfast at the hotel, which was fine, we either ate here or in Chora, where the locals could not have been nicer.

Schinoussa is lovely even in August! The beaches were never packed and if you are willing to walk, you can still find plenty of peace and quiet without too much effort. The hotel is well appointed: a lovely location and decent rooms with air conditioning. The rest of the non-restaurant staff were very pleasant and helpful but the rudeness of some left a distinctly sour taste. Despite paying up front – the place doesn’t take cards – when the opportunity came to go to Naxos a couple of days early, we cut our losses and left.

Room tip: Ask for a balcony big enough to actually sit on
Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DavidSusanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Location: hotel is at the south of the island, 5km from the port
Beach: There is a sandy beach with some Tamarisken directly at the hotel, which gave the name of the hotel. In 300 and 500 meters are alos some nice sandy beaches.
Service: the pick ypu up at the port and bring you back, bus has no hotel sign!!!! At 8pm there is a shuttle to chora and 11pm back
room: very large room, with air condition, good bathroom, relativ new
breakfast: on a veranda, above average
Restaurant: this is the big disadvantage! service has a bad quality, despite the fact that it is run by a family. Also the food is not the best and lots of dishes are always not avaible. Better to go to Chora or walk 10 minutes to Anatoli.
Wifi has a bad quality.
Location is the the real advantage!

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelGFrankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015

We stayed at this hotel for three days in mid July. The room was large with a balcony to the front and rear which helped with shade.
The bathroom was modern and had a good shower of the Greek style eg hand held.
Bedding and towels were changed every day
Breakfast was lovely, sitting on the open verandah.
There is a good restaurant attached to the hotel. It was especially good for lunch.
There are two beaches here. One immediately attached to the hotel and another about 500m away. If one is windy the other is calm!

Car hire isn't possible on the island but the owners will take you into town if you want. They use their minibus every night to take guests to the town for a meal.There are some lovely restaurants to choose from

Schinoussa is very quiet and special. It retains much of the 'old' Greece that you want from a holiday here.The people are very welcoming and friendly.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff/owners are very keen to help and work hard to ensure you have a good holiday.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank linandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2014

This is one of the best islands in Greece and this hotel and restaurant is the top attraction.
This is like going back in time to the Greece of the sixties.
The island is totally unspoilt and the owner has a passion and commitment one rarely finds.
Go with the flow and let the owner choose your food and wine you will not be disappointed.
I only hope that things don't change as this place is truly a gem!
ECD
LONDON

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews