We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
25
29
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
25
29
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cooking class his wife vegetable market local sights arabian sea old colonial cookery lesson morning trip cookery book lunch and dinner spice shop experience local large dressing area tellicherry festival alan villagers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2020

Tellicherry is off the beaten track and we saw no other tourists. A bustling little town with great markets and on the coast. The property is colonial style and a bit run down but it is clean and in it's day would have been very grand, don't let this put you off though - the welcome and warmth of the host was just lovely, we were taken to see the local sights and go to the markets to choose what we wanted for our dinners.You can walk around the town quite safely - any of the locals would be happy to help you. Faiza Moosa is one of the best chefs in Kerala and everywhere we stayed in India, everyone told us this. We had a great cookery lesson with her and bought her book (only £8.50), her and her husband and the small team they have here looked after us really well, nothing was too much trouble. It's one of those places that will stay with you - just dont expect your hairdryer to work; but to reiterate, it's clean, comfortable and the bathroom was large and well appointed.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank karenbU9429XN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2020

We stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed some lovely meals.
The pool has had a leak which has not been mended and sleep was difficult with very noisy A/C (if it was working in your room, it wasn’t in all of them)

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 6hq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2019

We stayed here for two nights and enjoyed the experience. Moosa is a knowledgeable and welcoming host, having to work extra hard while his wife, Faiza, was away. The food was authentic and full of flavour, especially after the early morning fish & vegetable market trip, which enabled us to choose our own ingredients - like kingfish, prawns and tapioca. The visit to a village Theyyam ritual will remain in our minds for a long time too, as will the cotton and cigar factory visits too. This is Moosa's house, not a luxury hotel, and we found it a refreshing change - especially with such helpful staff and agreeable fellow guests.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahameT68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2019 via mobile

Ayesha Manzil is a lovely, old imposing colonial style mansion .On arriving here we were met by the owner who took us to our spacious room overlooking the sea. From that moment we were cosseted and so well looked after throughout our stay . Mrs Faiza Moosa is an excellent cook and she prepared us some super local dishes which we ate outside under the trees overlooking the sea below us. We were even fortunate enough to have a cookery lesson with Faiza on our second day there. Mr Moosa had taken us to the market early that morning to buy the fish and vegetables for our class and then a member of his staff took us sightseeing during the day which included going to a couple of festivals . This was all provided to us at no extra cost . We loved our stay here and all this home had to offer including its lovely owners .

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NotttinghamJak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2019

We enjoyed our two-night stay at the Ayesha Manzil. As other reviews indicate, this homestay is quirky, interesting and gives a good insight into the historic past of colonial Thalessary. Mr Moosa was away attending a family wedding, so it was left to Mrs Moosa and Alan, the house guide to welcome us.
The welcome was genuine and warm but it is fair to say we were a little overwhelmed by the list of ‘optional’ tours that the house provides whilst we drank our welcome lime soda drink at the house. Be ready to ask for some time to contemplate what you want to do in the time available to you.
The interior of the house is dark with huge wooden furniture dating from the time the house was home to British tea-traders. The rooms are large with once-grand bathrooms (down tiled steps – be warned). In our room two single beds had been pushed together, both draped with mosquito netting. It had good AC and a ceiling fan. The Bakelite electric controls reveal a time gone by!
Alan stepped up in the absence of Mr Moosa. His tour of the fish and vegetable market before breakfast was an experience not to be missed if you want to experience real India. Alan also arranged for us to attend the Hindu Theyyam festival in a local village. Wow, what a treat. We were warmly welcomed by the villagers and the whole experience was unforgettable. Alan had arranged for a very reasonably priced private taxi to take us to the village and Alan was our expert to explain what was taking place.
Another first for us was the Tuk Tuk trip to purchase local spices and teas from a reputable supplier in the city. The Tuk Tuk then took us onto a wonderful deserted beach for a swim in the Arabian Sea. Again, the incredibly cheap fee (for the TUK Tuk) was agreed in advance. If you have limited opportunity to experience a Tuk Tuk trip in a bustling city, take this opportunity. It will live long in the memory.
The evening meals at the house were prepared by Mrs Moosa. If you enjoy a reasonably priced Indian Lager with your meal (or a more expensive bottle of wine), just ask, the house is happy to provide them.

Date of stay: January 2019
1  Thank andyleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews