We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
Review of UNA Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Regina
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noicattaro
westfield, nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Una Hotel Regina is billed as a 4 star spa hotel. Even by european standards this is not a 4 star hotel. Upon our arrival we were not greeted by the staff, nor did anyone offer to help with our luggage. I reserved 2 rooms for our family of five. We were given rooms facing the parking lot. My room faced a beverage packing facility and a rusty fence. The pool area and the garden area are lovely and I'm sure if I were given one of those rooms, the feel of the hotel would have been very different. I asked about changing rooms and was told I could not, I even offered to pay more and was told it was not an option. My kid's room had ants. They sprayed the room while we were out having dinner, they did not offer any compensation or the choice of a room change. I wanted to see the spa facility and was told I could not go in to the spa since other people was in there. I was not offered an alternate time to see the spa. The pool area was lovely. We were required to wear bathing caps. Since we didn't own any, we had to buy it for 3 euros per cap. The slide was closed for 2 of the 4 days we were there. I found several staff members aloof and unfriendly. The air conditioner is controlled by the font desk and I had to call on 2 occasions to request that the air be turned on in the middle of the night. The concierge and the night time desk reception staff were pleasant and helpful. When was packing to leave, I found my luggage infested with ants which I discovered were coming from the bathroom. I complained and someone came and retrieved my luggage and brought it back to me 1 hr later "ant-free". We were never offered any apology or compensation. I would not recommend this hotel. Pulgia is very nice. We visited Polignano, Arberobello, Grotte di Castellana, and a private beach in Monopoli. I would recommend seeing all these site and staying in a hotel in one of these locations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the parking lot and does not have ants!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank risacv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unahotelregina, Proprietario at UNA Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sorry about your disappointment regarding some features of our city resort. Our property is very large and we try to assure a support in reaching the rooms after the check-in and during the entire stay. Our staff was already busy with other clients and due to the high occupancy in those days, we did not have the opportunity to offer you a different type of accommodation much more in line with your personal needs and preferences (we use to do it all the time for all our guests, if a problem is serious or even more if it’s a question of liking).
The unexpected difficulty occurred with the ants has been handled immediately for solving quickly the problem.
We are sorry about what happened and we hope to have again the opportunity to serving you again at the best in the next future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    210
    96
    47
    41
See reviews for
85
247
12
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We arrived at Bari airport at close to midnight and starving after the 6 hours Alitalia flight which only offered snack biscuits and water (Lon-Milan-Bari). The prearranged shuttle bus driver was already waiting, friendly and seems happy to meet us.

The hotel was approx 20 mins away and we were greeted at reception by a cheerful and efficient receptionist. We asked about getting some food and the driver (Fabrizio) offered to take us to the nearby Torre a Mare where there were restaurants and cafe still open. He dropped us off and picked us up when we finished too. The same driver helped us carry our luggage to the room and this is much appreciated as we were tired and sleepy!
Our 'Classic' rooms at the hotel were comfortable with balconies overlooking the central courtyard and facing the pools. The air conditioning is controlled by reception but we only have to dial 9 and this was switched on straightaway. The beds were comfortable and the surrounding area nice and quiet at night. There is a well-equipped and spacious gym, hairdresser (closed at the time) and small spa (charged at Euro 20 per person and have steam room, dry sauna, heated loungers and indoor pools - which we enjoyed & love) all accessed via the beautiful courtyard area. The garden were a good size, providing a lot of different relaxation areas, well kept and we saw a lot of staff always running around tidying the whole area which as a result were all well maintained.
The breakfast selection was good (pastry, fruit, bread, yogurts etc) and we can order eggs any style and speciality coffees when we want. There were a lot of people serving at breakfast so even though the breakfast is buffet style, there is always staff to help.
The restaurants serve lunch and dinner (which can be taken inside or outside in the garden) with a good selection on the menu for all including vegetarian and gluten free and the pasta dishes were amazing. The Apulia wine was good and reasonably priced.
The pool area is the best part and well maintained with areas for small children and had plenty of sunloungers, sun umbrellas and towels provided for by the pool attendant. The pool bar has a selection of drinks and limited lunch and snack menu but this is adequate for a quick snack. The attendant is always available and happy to help when needed.
We had a dental emergency on one of the days and the receptionist called around and booked us an appointment as well as arrange a free shuttle to take us there. This was extremely helpful and we were impressed with their consistent willingness to help!
The location is slightly out of Bari town but a shuttle service was available at no cost for guests to get to Bari for some shopping and sight-seeing. The reception was also able to arrange taxis or check trains for other sight-seeing needs. The airport & port transfer were also arranged without fuss and cost Euro 35 one way.
The only problem we had was the lack of English speaker among the reception staff and we don't speak any Italian so sometimes the receptionist misunderstood what we're saying and vice versa. This is a minor problem on the phone when we try to call the hotel for a shuttle pick up. There is also not much information in reception on the local area (which is common in other hotels) e.g. maps or tours availability and contact numbers but I mentioned this to the reception and believe that they will rectify accordingly or help if you ask specifically.
If like us you don't like being crowded in by business travellers in multi-storey modern hotels then this charming olde-worlde style building will appeal to you. Overall, this is an amazing Italian style hotel with excellent customer service, good food and helpful & friendly staff. We would recommend this for couples and family alike as there are plenty of space for all to have fun or simply relax in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Newz_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at UNA Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you so much for appreciating our city resort and its services. The description of your sensations is the perfect resume of what we created for our clients and this can be the best incentive to us for doing better in the future.

We look forward to seeing back you soon again, offering the best upgrade available at that time.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Good points first:
1. outdoor pool is superb and very clean with loads of loungers and towel service. There is a 25 m pool with lanes plus two smaller shallow pools for kids. Is busy at weekend with locals though but quiet rest of week. You do need to wear a cap but they can lend you one.
2. Dinner was good quality and well presented with some local dishes. Good range of local wine which is excellent if you avoid the cheapest.
3. A small but well run spa facility.
Average bits:
Rooms - adequate but more tourist quality rather than luxury. Air con had to be controlled via a call to reception.
Breakfast - acceptable ifnyou are not too hungry.
Bad bits:
1. They dont do snacks or lunches We arrived at 10.30pm and needed a snack - all they could offer was a pre pack vacuum sealed cheese and ham sandwich on white bread with no crust - yuk. Next day we were at the lovely pool for lunch and there were two choices on the menu hot dog or guess what - pre packed vacuum sealed sandwich again! Truly shocking and amazing when they can serve up some lovely dishes in the evening.
2. Service. No offer to help with bags or such. It felt like checking into a mid range resort rather than the best hotel in the area.
3. Pool only opens at 10am so no chance of an early morning dip :-(

My advice is its fine for dinner bed and breakfast and a swim but only for an overnight and on no account expect food at lunch time. It may be the best in the area but there's not a lot of competition as it's not really a foreign tourist area.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sailork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Proprietario at UNA Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing our property. We can suppose that on the whole your stay has been comfortable, except in few occasion.

Regarding the in-room control of air conditioning, we have a problem at the electronic systems that our suppliers are working to solve. Unfortunately the only way to guarantee fresh air was to control it only via our central system at the front office. Everything will be put back in operation in the next days.

Our Restaurant closes at 10.30 in the evening and we gave you the opportunity to eat the only available snack at that time. Anyway the restaurant is open all-year-round for lunch and dinner.

The swimming pool bar can serve only snacks and drinks.

Our breakfast is not an English or American version and, anyway, we give the guests our total availability to order eggs and bacon at any style, freshly made at the moment, at no extra charge. All our pastries are home-made but we are sure you tested their high quality.

We the sincere hope to being of service in the future, we thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Wonderful rooms, the staff is very helpful and friendly. Here you have a nice spa you can enjoy as well. And we DID! I love how close it is to many of the small beach towns in the area. The seafood is wonderful in this region. The people are nice and it is easy to get around.
I highly recommend this hotel. It has some of the things that I really find to making this experience go from soso to fab. AC that works very well, TV in many languages, the rooms are quiet, clean and very nice. The bed is very comfy. Over all, I will be going back and that would be my biggest compliment. I live in Italy so I am nearish by. I will be back there many times over this coming year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We travelled here for a long weekend in February visiting friends in Bari nearby. The rooms are comfortable and more like mini-townhouses. It was very warm in the room (it was the coldest weekend of the year! almost snowing) actually too warm - the hotel has only air cond for heating which cannot be controlled. The Wellness centre "bagno turco" is excellent but requires an additional charge, but its worth it. The fitness centre is opposite the wellness. This should not be a problem normally but we were there during the clodest week of the year and it wasn't so comfortable getting around. Breakfast is fine, staff very friendly all round. Ample parking. Hotel has a pleasant Tuscan style (as I understand it used to be an area of governmental housing, renovated into a new hotel).

I recommend this hotel and I would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noicattaro
16.9 km away
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
Pietrablu Resort & Spa CDSHotels
#2 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,984 reviews
22.5 km away
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
Borgobianco Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Polignano a Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
11.6 km away
The Nicolaus Hotel
The Nicolaus Hotel
#2 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Grande Albergo delle Nazioni
10.8 km away
Hi Hotel Bari
Hi Hotel Bari
#1 of 42 in Bari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
11.8 km away
Mercure Villa Romanazzi Carducci Bari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Regina

Property: UNA Hotel Regina
Address: Strada Provinciale 57 6, 70016 Noicattaro, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Bari > Noicattaro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Noicattaro
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,620 - ₹ 11,433
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Favourably standing in a green area and characterized byunique interiors, the hotel is located15 minutes driving from Bari’s historic city centre, 31 km from the K. Wojtyla International Airport and very close to the main attractions of the beautiful Apulia. The hotel areas are dedicated to both business and leisure travelers, with high speed Internet access, relax and wellness in the Regina SPA, a sporting area at the ALMUS Fitness Club & Summer Swimming Pool Club. A bright and welcoming Restaurant serves lunch and dinner with a selection of local and national gastronomic specialties and wines. 11 meeting rooms and a large parking area make the Una Hotel Regina Bari a place where every event is a success. The exclusive location of the UNA Hotel Regina Bari offers the guests an opportunity for visiting the main local attractions; the Bari historic city center and its Cathedral, the Svevo Castle, the Ruvo’s Cathedral, Castel del Monte, the unique Trani’s cathedral on the sea, the historical centre and seaside of Polignano, the Valle d’Itria and its Trulli, the Castellana’s Caves and the Bari’s shopping boutiques around Via Sparano. There is a large choice of gastronomy, with the opportunity to visiting the local vineyards and taste the specialties in restaurants located in breathtaking locations. Our Rooms: 100 Classic, Superior, Executive and Junior Suite rooms with private terrace, business desk, Hi-speed Internet, temperature self controlling, LCD flat TV with cable channels, minibar, direct dial telephone, large bathroom with oversized and regenerating shower. Some rooms are dedicated to disabled guests. Relax: Take care of yourself in our Regina SPA, a discreet area with its relaxing atmosphere, specially designed for our guest’s wellness: the best modern wellness equipment, an area with indoor thermal swimming pool and Kneipp path, Jacuzzi, emotional showers, relaxing warm stone beds, Sauna and Turkish bath. Our experts will coddle you by the most advanced massage techniques, body treatments and beauty. ALMUS Fitness Club is the area dedicated to the fitness, with its large and equipped exercise room powered by Technogym, Yoga and workout rooms and indoor swimming pool. And in summertime the UNA Hotel Regina Bari offers an exclusive outdoor swimming pool club with American bar. Restaurant & Bar: Enjoy the specialties of our Noha Ristorante Mediterraneo at lunch and dinner or relax at the REGINA BAR with an aperitif or after dinner drinks. Available an assorted selection of local and Italian wines, spirits, soft drinks and coffees. The restaurant is open all year round and can seat up to 400 people. Conference Centre: The UNA Hotel Regina Bari has 11 meeting rooms accommodating 10 to 500 people. All rooms have independent entrance, self lighting and sound control. Accessible foyers allows to hold snacks and coffee breaks and reception services. Amenities: The UNA Hotel Regina Bari offers multiple solutions for successful meetings and events. The meeting rooms are equipped with all the latest technologies and some of them are illuminated by daylight. All meeting rooms have screen, projector, high speed Internet connection, air conditioning and stationary kit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your UNA Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing