We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,350)
Filter reviews
5,350 results
Traveller rating
1,813
1,836
841
482
378
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,813
1,836
841
482
378
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand fleas main pool a la carte restaurants bahia principe san juan animation team main buffet jeep safari recommend this resort seafood snack bar buffet restaurant mini golf bad reviews chicken paradise island great resort my boyfriend
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 5,350 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

So to start this I will say this is the absolute worst resort in the history of resorts. Save your money friends and visit someplace where you will get treated with a little respect.
We arrived at the resort last Tuesday where we were promptly taken to the privileged club as we are members of the Bahia. We were able to check in easily and then we were taken via a cart to our room. Well that’s where the pleasantries ended. We entered a room that is from circa 1989. It was clean but that was about it. The toilet did not flush, there was no water pressure or hot water for the first 4 days of the trip.
As it was late when we arrived we decided to freshen up and go get some food at the buffet. We were probably better off bringing protein bars and cereal to live off of for the week as the food was absolutely terrible, there was no variety or flavour. We did go to all the restaurants available at the resorts and had zero complaints, I have to give credit where it is due. The snack bar also had much better food than the buffet as well as better service. As we are privileged club members we had a section at the restaurant that was suppose to be for members only but it was almost always full with non privileged members, you were waiting forever to have somebody serve you some drinks and to place some silverware on the tables. Not to mention that the staff more often than not we’re not able to correspond with us as they spoke little to no English.
So I will now continue with the next days and the remainder of my trip.
Again as members we were suppose to have our own pool but it was closed for renovations and the little wading pool they did have available for members did not suit our needs so we decided to enjoy our time at the main pool. First off there was no place to sit as the 50 chairs for 500 guest were not adequate also there were only 8 umbrellas for 500 guest. There was some shade huts and chairs on the beach if you want to sit on a very dirty beach all day then I guess that’s fine however I expect cleanliness not left over plastic cups and liquor bottles from the beach party the night before. We were taking turns waking up at around 6:30 am in order to get to the pool to get chairs for all of us and at least one umbrella so we could at least enjoy one aspect of our vacation again we were wrong because the staff at the pool bar are so rude that one girl actually rolled her eyes multiple times because she didn’t understand the words rum and coke, Clamato and lemon Daiquiri. Personally If your servers cannot understand at least some English or French then why are they working at such an area where there is high traffic flow with English and French speaking people. We also asked for mimosa’s from the same waitress she refused to get Champagne to make the drinks for us. Also as privileged members we were suppose to get premium alcohol but had such a hassle trying to get the liquor we wanted we ended up giving up on it.
This resort claims to be a 5 stars it’s 3 stars at best. It’s dirty, the staff are unfriendly and the food is terrible.
We were actually told right to our faces that the non members will be treated better than the members because they want them to sign up. Worst $15 000 ever spent on anything. It will be a cold day in the Dominican Republic before I ever go back, this trip has absolutely disgusted me to the point where I will never seek another vacation on that Island. I am currently half way home and I couldn’t be happier to be headed back to minus temperatures in April.
Signed one very unhappy vacationer.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
5  Thank 765sharlener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Services Department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time in sending us your feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We sincerely regret the fact that we were not able to fulfil your expectations regarding some of our hotel facilities and services.

However, we have follow up with our staff regarding your concerns and we would like to emphasise that we strive work for to create the best experience possible for all our clients according to our standards.

Once more, we regret so much that you have not enjoyed your holidays as you were expected. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels Bahia Principe in a near future, especially either of one of our Grand Bahia branch or Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service and superior rooms.

Kind regards,

Annyibert Gonzalez
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Quality & Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

First of all wow this resort is amazing it really lived up to the name grand!! Me my husband and my 11 year old travelled here last year( I know late review ) and we couldn’t have asked for better service and better staff... only came across 1 issue which was ac broke in our room but they switched rooms for us in a flash!!! Honestly buffet was to die for and the a la cartes were out of this world ... a year later almost and we still talk about his place!! Way to go ladies and gents that work here :) gotta give a shout out to a few people ... ROMAN on the bar!!! I honestly love this guys always smiling and fast at what he does !!!! My dude!!! And Waldy this is the guy to go see if you wanna go and do anything or just for an amazing chat!! He got us a cab to go shopping and one to take us to see monkeys and honestly I could talk to him for hours!!! Front desk staff were amazing .. they took issues seriously and helped you out very fast!!! Every single one of the workers here were amazing!! Wish I knew everyone’s name :( the night shows were so funny I almost peed every night and first time ever on vacation I actually went on stage ... twice!!! Anyway way to go grand Bahia principe San Juan keep up the awesome work!!!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank ValerieMark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Services Department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Guest,

In the name of Hotel Management, we thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us and for your loyalty when choosing and recommend us as a holiday’s destination.

We want to express how honoured we feel to read your comments about our friendly staff and their excellent service, the clean of the rooms and the hotel areas, as well as the variety of our food which ensured you an unforgettable experience. As you well know, in Grand Bahia Principe San Juan we are committed to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us whenever you are planning to return.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Annyibert Gonzalez
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Quality & Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Poor service los quality bad rooms ver y litterae hot water some service from privilidge club was ver y bad the y ignores your requests did not treat you with the respect that you should you receive after budín into tris club

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank deanmacdonald67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Services Department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking time in sending us your feedback about your stay in our hotel. We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive one. We sincerely regret the fact that we were not able to fulfil your expectations regarding some of our hotel facilities and services.

However, we have follow up with our staff regarding your concerns and we would like to emphasise that we strive work for to create the best experience possible for all our clients according to our standards.

Once more, we regret so much that you have not enjoyed your holidays as you were expected. We would like to have the opportunity to welcome you once again at any of our Hotels Bahia Principe in a near future, especially either of one of our Grand Bahia branch or Luxury Don Pablo Collection, which are a superior category and offer you an even more exclusive service and superior rooms.

Kind regards,

Annyibert Gonzalez
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Quality & Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Totally recommend a stay at this resort.
Food is great, the site is fantastic and staff members are really friendly and ready to help you. The beach is huge, perfect place for a great stay between friends or with your family.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank SuzieL27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Services Department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Guest,

In the name of Hotel Management, we thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us and for your loyalty when choosing and recommend us as a holiday’s destination.

We want to express how honoured we feel to read your comments about our friendly staff and their excellent service, the clean of the rooms and the hotel areas, as well as the variety of our food which ensured you an unforgettable experience. As you well know, in Grand Bahia Principe San Juan we are committed to ensure memorable experiences to our valuable costumers.
We are looking forward to welcome you back again. Please feel free to contact us whenever you are planning to return.

Enjoy an all-inclusive holiday with Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts.

Best regards,

Annyibert Gonzalez
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Quality & Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We traveled March 20-April 6, 2018.
We did our research and we normally take the reviews with a grain of salt. Most reviews were pretty accurate for this resort. We have been to 3 Bahia Principe resorts in the past 16 months so based on our experiences at the other two thought we would try even after reading the reviews.
It is an older resort and it shows. It is dated but not dirty.
The rooms are smaller than newer resorts but we don't spend much time in there anyways. They were cleaned and stocked so we were ok with that. We had a couple issues and they tended to them in a timely manner.
Beach was nice but nothing spectacular, normal for the north shore.
Pool was a good size and plenty to do but would be nice to have some music during the day other than the 30 minutes of aerobics or dancing.
Bars - service was good in most bars and the drinks were average for a resort.
Restaurants - were good. We preferred the International over the others but the service and food was good in all of them.
Buffet - this was our big issue. We read many reviews about the buffet and chalked it up to fussy people but that's not the case for this resort. Tables were not cleaned and ready for the next guests. We had to go get our own utensils many times. The plates and glasses were empty and not restocked in a timely manner, and this was any time we went to the buffet. Food that was just put out was already cold. The selection was good but the service was not. This is one of the main parts of your business and after 20 years you should have it down better than it is.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cservicebpsj, Quality & Customer Services Department at Grand Bahia Principe San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear Client,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write us this review about our hotel.

We are really appreciated that you highlight in your feedback all the good aspects that you are making mention.

We regret so much that we could not meet your expectations in some of our services. However, we sincerely appreciate your review as it is through communications on this nature that we can see what specific points we must focus to our attention.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in Grand BP San Juan in a near future.

Kind regards,

Annyibert Gonzalez
Grand Bahia Principe San Juan
Quality & Customer Services Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews