We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Vecchio Asilo - A perfect place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Certificate of Excellence
København, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Vecchio Asilo - A perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Hotel Vecchio Asilo - The Old Asylum is a perfect place to stay. The location in a little village, Ulignano, in the countryside just outside San Gimignano is perfect if you want to go by car to the highlights of Toscana. It is easy to reach big cities like Sienna, Firenze, Lucca, Pisa and Bologna and it is much easier and cheaper than staying there. And every time you come back to the hotel you feel like coming home to e peaceful place.

It is even better if you come for enjoying the landscape and nature in the neigbourhood. San Gimignano is only 15 minutes away and it is quiet and wonderful in the evening, when all the buses with tourists have left the town. The trip from Ulignano to San Gimignano in the evening sun is beautiful.

We had 5 wonderful days at this little and charming hotel. Our room on the back side of the hotel had a perfect view over the hills with wine fields and forests. The room and bathroom was nice and clean.

But the best part is that you all the time feel like a special, honoured guest. We have travelled quite a lot in Italy, but we have never met such a hospitality and passion for giving good service.

We selected the hotel in the first place because we read the many positive reviews in Tripadvisor. So when we were informed that Stefania and Elio have taken over from Guido, we were prepared to adapt our expectations. But it was not necessary. We could not want more service, hospitality, better breakfast and passion for the job than we met. We got a lot of good advice of where to find the best places and restaurants to visit in the neighborhood. Always with a smile.

We will be glad to return

Søren and Lisbeth
Denmark

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soeren_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    54
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
129
423
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

On a trip through Tuscany, the upper west coast of Italy, and Lake Como and two other very expensive hotels, Hotel Vecchio, near San Gimignano and Sienna, was hands down the BEST place we stayed and was the least expensive.

Our spacious and comfortable room with private bath in this charming bed and breakfast was clean, bright, airy, and overlooked rows of grapes growing in a vineyard. We slept with the window open - ah so fresh and quiet. Guido's breakfasts are scrumptious! We enjoyed hand pressed coffee, daily homemade "coffee" cakes, a different one each morning, a variety of fresh fruit salad, and tomatoes fixed various ways on little toast squares with fresh herbs.

There are two outdoor garden areas where we enjoyed wine in the evening and the smell of flowers with great views of the countryside and vineyards. We parked just steps from the garden and hotel for free.

Guido spoke excellent English and was so kind helping us plan day trips to San Gigimano and Sienna and nearby vineyards and to restaurants. He lives at the bed and breakfast with his mom.

We met several other couples staying there who were all returning to Italy and to Hotel Vecchio. We know why - and we will be back - in fact we will plan our trip so that we visit this area again just to stay here.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room with a private bath that overlooked a garden and vineyard. The room was sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ETravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I have been putting off writing a review on this property until friends of ours decided to tour Tuscany and I recommended Hotel Vecchio to them. In fact I wish I could add the hotel to our itinerary. The experience of staying at the hotel is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pirata21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I have never lived in a place with such great customer service. It is a small B&B and the owner lives on premise and is great. We stayed only for a day while visiting San Gimignano and it definitely was the best stay we had during our entire trip. If and when i go back to Tuscany I will make a longer stay at this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ratz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

One of our favourite places in italy because of the wonderful Guido and his family that own the Hotel Vecchio. You could stay here for weeks and go out every day and explore a different part of tuscany. Each day Guido would tell us where to go and recommend great local restaurants different from where all the other tourists were going. Each morning at breakfast he would have delicious cake and goddies freshly made.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank klr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulignano
8.8 km away
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
Hotel Casolare le Terre Rosse
#3 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,195 reviews
5.0 km away
Hotel Sovestro
Hotel Sovestro
#2 of 30 in San Gimignano
612 reviews
4.9 km away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#4 of 30 in San Gimignano
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
Hotel L'Antico Pozzo
#6 of 30 in San Gimignano
736 reviews
5.6 km away
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
Relais Santa Chiara Hotel
#9 of 30 in San Gimignano
615 reviews
4.8 km away
Hotel Leon Bianco
Hotel Leon Bianco
#5 of 30 in San Gimignano
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchio Asilo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Asilo

Property: Hotel Vecchio Asilo
Address: Via delle Torri 4 | Ulignano, 53037 Ulignano, San Gimignano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Gimignano > Ulignano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ulignano
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,164 - ₹ 9,923
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Vecchio Asilo 1*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Asilo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Asilo Hotel
Vecchio Asilo San Gimignano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing