We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
644
57
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
57
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vecchio asilo home made cakes fresh fruit san gimignano the perfect host would recommend this hotel to anyone his wife bruschetta breakfast each morning stayed nights room was large longer stay home away from home tuscan countryside gracious hosts exploring tuscany amazing views
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 709 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2011

That is it.. Believe in the reviews. This hotel was the highest point of our trip. Guido treats every guest as if they were a longtime friend. The breakfast is an experience with the fruit carpaccio prepared by his brother. It has passed weeks since our stay there and we still laugh in the morning pretending we are at the hotel. Great restaurant's suggestions and wise tips about trips in the area. You need to try it too.

Room Tip: any, but ours, the number 7 had a nice view of the farming fields
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulodasilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Vecchio Asilo for 2 nights and we wish to stay longer. However, we already booked an agriturismo for the following days !
The owner, Guido is a very nice guy. He gave us a lot of information and advice for shopping, sight-seeing and wine tasting, eating...etc.,
The breakfast is simple but good - the fruit platter like an art and the home-made the fruit cake was delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GipsyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I stayed four nights with Guido at Hotel Vecchio Asilo and it was a lovely experience. The price is more than right, the place is spotless and the breakfasts are a delight. There is not one negative thing to say about this place. The greatest thing about Vecchio Asilo, as so many others have stated before, is Guido. The man is a true gem. Anyone who opts to stay here will not be disappointed but instead rewarded with a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

thank you to our brilliant host Guedo and his beautiful family. This was Tuscany as I had pictured, beautiful scenery, great food and wine, lovely locals and great hospitality. From the moment you arrive and arte greeted by Guedo, you know that you have chosen a very special place. located only 5 minutes to San Gimiano where you will find all the great shops and restauraunts and should i also say GELATI that you will ever want, is this beautiful building in a quaint little town. I will always remember Guedo's great breakfast's, and sitting in the gardens with a bottle of Red just relaxing and admiring this very special place. I highly recommend Hotel Vecchio Asilo, you will not want to leave. Thank you to Guedo, Johnny and your family for an amazing experience.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank Troy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Hotel Vecchio Asilo is a beautiful old building situated in the heart of Tuscany. The rooms are spacious and cool. But the big bonus is Guido, the owner, who welcomes you like an old friend and makes you feel part of the family. Nothing is too much trouble, he gives you lots of information about places to visit, the best places to eat (as well as booking them for you) and where to find easy free parking. The highlight of the day has to be breakfast. All home made including savouries, fresh fruit salad and Guido's speciality, the cakes, all served at your table with a smile and a little hint of Italian charm. A gem of a place!

Room Tip: Book early
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews