We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
647
57
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
57
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vecchio asilo home made cakes each morning san gimignano yogurt the perfect host his wife bruschetta tuscan gem rooms were very clean stayed nights breakfast was amazing room was large charming hotel exploring tuscany longer stay home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in Hotel Vecchio Asilo for 2 nights and we wish to stay longer. However, we already booked an agriturismo for the following days !
The owner, Guido is a very nice guy. He gave us a lot of information and advice for shopping, sight-seeing and wine tasting, eating...etc.,
The breakfast is simple but good - the fruit platter like an art and the home-made the fruit cake was delicious.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank GipsyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My husband and I stayed four nights with Guido at Hotel Vecchio Asilo and it was a lovely experience. The price is more than right, the place is spotless and the breakfasts are a delight. There is not one negative thing to say about this place. The greatest thing about Vecchio Asilo, as so many others have stated before, is Guido. The man is a true gem. Anyone who opts to stay here will not be disappointed but instead rewarded with a great experience.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

thank you to our brilliant host Guedo and his beautiful family. This was Tuscany as I had pictured, beautiful scenery, great food and wine, lovely locals and great hospitality. From the moment you arrive and arte greeted by Guedo, you know that you have chosen a very special place. located only 5 minutes to San Gimiano where you will find all the great shops and restauraunts and should i also say GELATI that you will ever want, is this beautiful building in a quaint little town. I will always remember Guedo's great breakfast's, and sitting in the gardens with a bottle of Red just relaxing and admiring this very special place. I highly recommend Hotel Vecchio Asilo, you will not want to leave. Thank you to Guedo, Johnny and your family for an amazing experience.

Date of stay: June 2011
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Troy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Hotel Vecchio Asilo is a beautiful old building situated in the heart of Tuscany. The rooms are spacious and cool. But the big bonus is Guido, the owner, who welcomes you like an old friend and makes you feel part of the family. Nothing is too much trouble, he gives you lots of information about places to visit, the best places to eat (as well as booking them for you) and where to find easy free parking. The highlight of the day has to be breakfast. All home made including savouries, fresh fruit salad and Guido's speciality, the cakes, all served at your table with a smile and a little hint of Italian charm. A gem of a place!

Room tip: Book early
Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingTonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

San Gimignano is gorgeous. Vecchio Asilo is the cutest little B&B that you could ever stay in. It is affordable, greatly priced, and all the reviews are SPOT ON. Guido is awesome. Always the consummate professional, he gave us great tips on where to park, where to visit, and anywhere we could go. We love him and his mother's delicious breakfasts. We were on our honeymoon for three weeks, stayed in some pretty swanky places, and the only breakfast that we could keep remembering was Guido's fantastic food!

The hotel was super cute, you know what you're getting into when you go there, it's a very well run little B&B. There is no A/C in your room (at least not in ours), but while it's HOT outside, it actually stays pretty cool indoors, and they have a fan in room. Seriously, at first I panicked, but honestly that's all you'll need. You stay pretty cool during the day, even when you're indoors and fighting off jetlag.

Internet is available, but you have to pay by hour, I think its 2 euro per hour, or 3 euro for 2 hours. Because of the fact that we're hooked onto our computers, that was actually pretty hard because we had to run out to Guido to ask him for a new internet card everytime we ran out (jetlag will make you bored), but that's more of the fact that my husband and I are addicted to the internet.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews