We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveller rating
647
57
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
57
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vecchio asilo home made cakes each morning san gimignano yogurt the perfect host his wife bruschetta tuscan gem rooms were very clean stayed nights breakfast was amazing room was large charming hotel exploring tuscany longer stay home away from home
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2011

What a great place for a B&B. Very quiet, great host/owner Guido, spotless accommodation with ensuite bathroom overlooking vineyards. A lovely Restaurant nearby he recommended. Very handy for bustling San Gimignano 10 minutes drive away. He even told us exactly where to park there for free! You don't choose the breakfast, he does! Definitely a 110 percent rating.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_and_Rosie_5477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

A delightful country hotel set in the quiet village of Uglignano. The room was generous in size and the bathroom more than adequate. The view over the vineyards was wonderful!
The owner Guido is gracious, helpful and hospitable – he went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable and recommended great and inexpensive restaurants in the area for us to eat at (there are no restaurants in the village so you do need to drive for meals unless you pick up provisions in the small supermarket down the road and eat in the hotel). The hotel is only 7km from San Gimignano so this is a great base from which to explore the sights.
Breakfasts were original, thoughtful and delicious with home-made cakes and toasted treats (different every day).
Truly a unique and special place to spend a few days!

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

Guido is a warm, funny, sweet man. The hotel is delightful, the breakfasts superb, the view of the Tuscan countryside breathtaking. It is a short 7 Km drive to San Gimignano, but to have a purely relaxed evening, simply pick up some bread, cheese and tomatoes, and buy a bottle (or two) of wine from Guido, and watch the sun set over the Tuscan hills. If you can have a better time in Italy (or anywhere else) please let me know! I have stayed many special places. This is most certainly among that number.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank docloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We booked 4 nights at this hotel based on some of the previous reviews here on Trip Advisor. Given the glowing comments, we were expecting quite a good hotel. Well the reviews on here do not do the hotel and especially the host, Guido, justice.

Guido bent over backwards to assist, from organising great restaurants to eat (even to the point of talking to them over the phone to clarify what we wanted to order) providing great local knowledge to where to go and what to see, providing excellent breakfasts (including home made cake the way nonna used to) and just being an overall excellent host. He was always there when you needed but never in the way.

The hotel itself, is a typical italian cottage, with the most amazing views of the vineyards!!! The rooms were well sized, had central heating, good bathroom facilities and most importantly were very clean. The hotel also had a terrace overlooking the vineyards which was a great place just to sit, relax and watch the sun set. We had high expectations and this exceeded them

Guido, thanks so much for a great stay. We hope to be back soon, very soon :)

Room tip: Book early cause there are only 5 rooms
Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TraveBug83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We decided to stay here after reading many of the glowing reviews. I was so happy that they are all spot on, especially about the rooms and above all the service you can expect from Guido, the face of the family business.

He will bend over backwards to make your stay perfect, helping us plan what to do each day and providing information and maps as we needed them. Such a nice guy, and he is the heart of the hotel. Breakfast is fantastic with displays of sliced fruit and different Italian cake. The little pizza things he makes are awesome, my girlfriend kept stealing them from me!

If you're exploring Tuscany by car, this is the absolute perfect place for you to stay. Location is very central, and we explored Sienna, Volterra, Florence, Pisa and Vinci, with the hotel being quite central to all. Lots of places to eat in San Gimignano which is a 5-10min drive and parking was easy.

If you're thinking of a holiday in tuscany and looking for a place to stay, just come here.

Thanks Guido!

Date of stay: March 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackwebdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews