We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Postmans Cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky River Heritage Accommodation
Reviewed 23 July 2017

We stayed for 5 nights in the middle of winter. Lovely and quiet setting with cape Barron geese and kangaroos literally out the front door. Very small room but clean beds and comfortable. Wood supplied to provide heating and cooking via the old metters stove, but oil heater and electric stove top also there. We needed to put up a few towels in the window as the curtains were a bit thin and let a lot of light in. Separate toilet/shower clean but a little chilly and breezy. Close to walking trails and visitor centre. We will be back, but probably upgrade to the Mays Homestead next time.

Room Tip: Nice place to chill out, with no tv and minimal internet coverage, but that's why we chose to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssgangell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2016

The Postman's Cottage is a terrific little room to stay in with the added comfort of a nearby toilet and shower room. At a very affordable price one can stay within the park surroundings and hear the koalas and geese right outside your door. We will definately be back to stay a little longer next time. Warm with lots of character and comfort. Be sure to check out the wonderful drawings in the guestbooks.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at the Postman's Cottage in September. We loved it, it was so quite, with Cape Barron Geese, Kangaroos everywhere and the grunts of koalas not far away. The cottage was really well catered for, with a fridge, an oil heater, comfortable beds, condiments like oil, salt, pepper, sugar- everything you could possibly need for your stay. The main office is not far away, where the excellent bush walks start. Excellent value for money. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marisol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at May's Homestead and loved it. Surrounded by the walking trails through Flinders Chase National Park and abundant wildlife it was very peaceful. The homestead is basic with no television but that is part of the charm. We cooked on the wood stove but there is a gas one there too. The kitchen is well equipped with pots and pans, cutlery and crockery so that you can be totally self sufficient. Plenty of wood was provided for the fires which kept us toasty warm and the quality of the bedding and linen was excellent!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TheRealDebAndKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

we stayed at the homestead for three nights - it was magical, like a portal back in time, whilst there are no luxuries or mod cons, the old stove with flute, wooden sink and large communal kitchen table along with the fireplace, game boards and most beautiful setting in an biologically amazing national park on a wonderful island was everything we were looking for. it retains its old settlers cottage charm. even though there was only two of us we enjoyed having a large living area and kitchen area. theres lots of functional surface area too for putting clothes and bits and pieces. National park staff very helpful. would go back in a heart beat

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank piccolina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
4.4 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
95.7 km away
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
Mercure Kangaroo Island Lodge
#1 of 2 in American River
454 reviews
6.5 km away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
85.8 km away
Kangaroo Island Cabins
Kangaroo Island Cabins
#4 of 7 in Kingscote
35 reviews
28.4 km away
Kangaroo Beach Lodges
0 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky River Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky River Heritage Accommodation

Address: | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range: ₹ 4,499 - ₹ 10,668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of the early pastoralists in these beautifully restored stone cottages. Peace and comfort beckons at the end of the day exploring Flinders Chase National Park, situated within walking distance of the Visitor Centre and the Chase Café. Choose from two bedroom May’s Homestead, built in the 1890’s or Postman’s Cottage, built for the visiting mailman. Relax and enjoy the abundant wildlife. Take a walk before sunset or sunrise to the Platypus waterholes lookout, where you might be fortunate to glimpse this elusive creature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing