We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
78
28
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
28
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national park separate building walking trails single bed electric stove oil heater small room kitchen area night stay stayed for nights mays geese postman toilet cottage cape echidna
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2016

The Postman's Cottage is a terrific little room to stay in with the added comfort of a nearby toilet and shower room. At a very affordable price one can stay within the park surroundings and hear the koalas and geese right outside your door. We will definately be back to stay a little longer next time. Warm with lots of character and comfort. Be sure to check out the wonderful drawings in the guestbooks.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2016

My partner and I stayed for 2 nights at the Postman's Cottage in September. We loved it, it was so quite, with Cape Barron Geese, Kangaroos everywhere and the grunts of koalas not far away. The cottage was really well catered for, with a fridge, an oil heater, comfortable beds, condiments like oil, salt, pepper, sugar- everything you could possibly need for your stay. The main office is not far away, where the excellent bush walks start. Excellent value for money. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaryP400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at May's Homestead and loved it. Surrounded by the walking trails through Flinders Chase National Park and abundant wildlife it was very peaceful. The homestead is basic with no television but that is part of the charm. We cooked on the wood stove but there is a gas one there too. The kitchen is well equipped with pots and pans, cutlery and crockery so that you can be totally self sufficient. Plenty of wood was provided for the fires which kept us toasty warm and the quality of the bedding and linen was excellent!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheRealDebAndKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

we stayed at the homestead for three nights - it was magical, like a portal back in time, whilst there are no luxuries or mod cons, the old stove with flute, wooden sink and large communal kitchen table along with the fireplace, game boards and most beautiful setting in an biologically amazing national park on a wonderful island was everything we were looking for. it retains its old settlers cottage charm. even though there was only two of us we enjoyed having a large living area and kitchen area. theres lots of functional surface area too for putting clothes and bits and pieces. National park staff very helpful. would go back in a heart beat

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank piccolina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We stayed for four nights and wished we could have stayed longer. We loved the peace and tranquillity of the place and the wildlife was fantastic. The walks around the Visitor Centre were enjoyable and there was always something new to discover at different times of the day and night. The homestead is rustic but wonderfully comfortable. This was a great way to experience the beauty and wilderness of Kangaroo Island.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews