We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
78
28
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
28
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate buildingwalking trailssingle bedkitchen areanight staycottageechidnawallabieswildlifewinterdoorstephousenpbunkpicnictree
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I loved to be lost in nature and we had some wood ready for the fireplace which was perfect.
The shower was definitely a plus which wasn't expected and it was clean with towels prepared for us. Really nice to experience KI in an original way!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky River Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest lolaFrance,

We are pleased that your stay at Rocky River exceeded your expectations! Now that both Postman’s Cottage and May’s Homestead have dedicated shower facilities guests at Rocky River can experience the life of the early pastoralists with added comfort. The staff at Flinders Chase prepare the cottages with care to ensure that guests feel welcome on arrival. They will appreciate your positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Three adults and two kids. We stayed here in April 2012 for two nights and loved it. The cottage itself is lovingly restored so as not to change, modernise or polish it too much. It is very comfortable with books, games and puzzles in the cupboards to keep us amused if the weather had been inclement (weather was sunny and perfect). The surroundings are lovely and Cape Barren Geese honk and carry on which we loved.

While it is best to bring your own food, the Flinders Chase Visitor's Centre is walking distance away (yet around the corner so it doesn't destroy the feeling of being out in the bush). The Visitor's Center has great coffee, baguettes, pies n pasties and a few staples for folks like us who forgot to bring enough food for two nights.

I stayed in the Postman's Cottage (next to May's Cottage) for one night only the year before and made sure to extend my stay this time 'round. I will definately return again when I next have visitors to take to KI. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky River Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest Morgen B
We’re glad we were able to welcome you back for a second (longer) stay at Rocky River! The Cape Barren geese that nest at Rocky River are certainly a constant source of entertainment for guests staying at May’s Homestead or Postman’s Cottage – along with the kangaroos, possums, wallabies and other wildlife of course! We are pleased you enjoyed the character and comfort of the heritage cottages at Rocky River and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We loved our stay at the Postman's Cottage in late March 2012. We were snug and comfortable and felt a real 'presence of the past' in this historic little building. An added bonus, which we had not expected was the shower! in the lovely bathroom and the well lit walkway to it.

Sitting outside the cottage in the quiet evening whilst an echidna walked by or lying snug and warm in a very comfortable bed listening to the Cape Barren Geese in the distance are memories to be treasured.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OctaviaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky River Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest OctaviaK
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the character and comfort of Postman’s Cottage! It’s great to hear that the history, wildlife and the experience of being lulled to sleep by Cape Barren Geese have given you such special memories of staying in Flinders Chase National Park. The recent addition of a shower alongside Postman’s Cottage has certainly been popular, allowing guests to stay in this heritage accommodation in its natural environment with added comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for two nights at Postman's Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The cottage is very comfortable and not far from the Park visitor centre and local attractions. We were delighted to find that there is now a lovely new bathroom 3 metres away in an adjacent building including a shower and toilet. In the evening the wallabies and Cape Barren geese were our only company - it is so peaceful. We appreciated the lovely quality sheets, comforters and towels. It's wonderful to have the opportunity to stay in this quaint heritage accommodation - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kez59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in the Cottage in late January 2012 and had a fantastic time. It was very cosy and ultra convenient - the previous reviews are good descriptions of the cottage itself. On our way we bought some local wine and cheese which made for some very fun picnics :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HenryEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews