We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay at Postman's cottage”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flinders Chase
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocky River Heritage Accommodation
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We had a great stay at postman's cottage for one night. Small, rustic yet quaint. Nice surprise to find out they have added a shower in the bathroom which is located right next to the cottage. However, be aware that there is no heat in the bathroom, so if you get up in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom, it is a tad cold. Very close to the remarkable rocks and admiral arch and we could visit in the evening/early morning and had the place to ourselves. Would definitely recommend if you are not afraid of rustic, but bring your own food as cafe stops serving food at 3:30.

Room Tip: if you want a larger room, choose the may's cottage which has 3 separate rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyAlbertan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky River Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Dear SunnyAlbertan63

We’re pleased to hear that you enjoyed the simple charms and character of Postman’s Cottage! As you have found, Postman’s Cottage is very conveniently located for guests to enjoy the natural environment and to explore the many attractions of Flinders Chase National Park and the recent addition of private bathroom facilities alongside the cottage has certainly been appreciated by guests. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2012

I loved to be lost in nature and we had some wood ready for the fireplace which was perfect.
The shower was definitely a plus which wasn't expected and it was clean with towels prepared for us. Really nice to experience KI in an original way!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolaFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky River Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest lolaFrance,

We are pleased that your stay at Rocky River exceeded your expectations! Now that both Postman’s Cottage and May’s Homestead have dedicated shower facilities guests at Rocky River can experience the life of the early pastoralists with added comfort. The staff at Flinders Chase prepare the cottages with care to ensure that guests feel welcome on arrival. They will appreciate your positive feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Three adults and two kids. We stayed here in April 2012 for two nights and loved it. The cottage itself is lovingly restored so as not to change, modernise or polish it too much. It is very comfortable with books, games and puzzles in the cupboards to keep us amused if the weather had been inclement (weather was sunny and perfect). The surroundings are lovely and Cape Barren Geese honk and carry on which we loved.

While it is best to bring your own food, the Flinders Chase Visitor's Centre is walking distance away (yet around the corner so it doesn't destroy the feeling of being out in the bush). The Visitor's Center has great coffee, baguettes, pies n pasties and a few staples for folks like us who forgot to bring enough food for two nights.

I stayed in the Postman's Cottage (next to May's Cottage) for one night only the year before and made sure to extend my stay this time 'round. I will definately return again when I next have visitors to take to KI. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky River Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest Morgen B
We’re glad we were able to welcome you back for a second (longer) stay at Rocky River! The Cape Barren geese that nest at Rocky River are certainly a constant source of entertainment for guests staying at May’s Homestead or Postman’s Cottage – along with the kangaroos, possums, wallabies and other wildlife of course! We are pleased you enjoyed the character and comfort of the heritage cottages at Rocky River and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We loved our stay at the Postman's Cottage in late March 2012. We were snug and comfortable and felt a real 'presence of the past' in this historic little building. An added bonus, which we had not expected was the shower! in the lovely bathroom and the well lit walkway to it.

Sitting outside the cottage in the quiet evening whilst an echidna walked by or lying snug and warm in a very comfortable bed listening to the Cape Barren Geese in the distance are memories to be treasured.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OctaviaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol E, Guest Relations Manager at Rocky River Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Dear Guest OctaviaK
Thank you for letting us know how much you enjoyed the character and comfort of Postman’s Cottage! It’s great to hear that the history, wildlife and the experience of being lulled to sleep by Cape Barren Geese have given you such special memories of staying in Flinders Chase National Park. The recent addition of a shower alongside Postman’s Cottage has certainly been popular, allowing guests to stay in this heritage accommodation in its natural environment with added comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed for two nights at Postman's Cottage and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The cottage is very comfortable and not far from the Park visitor centre and local attractions. We were delighted to find that there is now a lovely new bathroom 3 metres away in an adjacent building including a shower and toilet. In the evening the wallabies and Cape Barren geese were our only company - it is so peaceful. We appreciated the lovely quality sheets, comforters and towels. It's wonderful to have the opportunity to stay in this quaint heritage accommodation - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kez59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flinders Chase
4.4 km away
Kangaroo Island Wilderness Retreat
6.5 km away
Western KI Caravan Park and Wildlife Reserve
22.0 km away
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
Kangaroo Island Bush Getaway
#21 of 50 in Kangaroo Island
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 km away
Hanson Bay Cabins
Hanson Bay Cabins
#1 of 1 in Karatta
72 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky River Heritage Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky River Heritage Accommodation

Address: | Kangaroo Island, Flinders Chase, Kangaroo Island, South Australia 5223, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > South Australia > Kangaroo Island > Flinders Chase
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Flinders Chase
Price Range: ₹ 4,547 - ₹ 10,783 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the history of the early pastoralists in these beautifully restored stone cottages. Peace and comfort beckons at the end of the day exploring Flinders Chase National Park, situated within walking distance of the Visitor Centre and the Chase Café. Choose from two bedroom May’s Homestead, built in the 1890’s or Postman’s Cottage, built for the visiting mailman. Relax and enjoy the abundant wildlife. Take a walk before sunset or sunrise to the Platypus waterholes lookout, where you might be fortunate to glimpse this elusive creature. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing