We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rocky River Heritage Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
US$ 157
US$ 106
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Molly's Run(Kingscote)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
78
28
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
78
28
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspostman's cottagenational parkwalking trailsseparate buildingsingle bedelectric stovelots of charactertoilet and shower roomoil heatersmall roomkitchen areanight staystayed for nightsmaysgeesecapeechidna
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2012

We stayed in the Cottage in late January 2012 and had a fantastic time. It was very cosy and ultra convenient - the previous reviews are good descriptions of the cottage itself. On our way we bought some local wine and cheese which made for some very fun picnics :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank HenryEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed in Postman's Cottage after Christmas and really enjoyed our stay. The cottage is on the far west side of KI and is set in a clearing near the visitor's centre in Flinders Chase National Park.

Staying here was fantastic, we were near the walks around the visitor centre, and even had our own evening shows of wallabies, kangaroos and joeys, among other wildlife right outside the door! Be careful at night if you're driving around, those critters like to jump out from everywhere. Be sure to do the platypus walk in the evening, we didn't see a platypus but we did see almost everything else in the park!

This cottage, as other reviewers point out is small and basic but very comfortable. It has 4 beds, a double bed with a single bunk over it, and another single bed. I think that this would be a small space for 4 people though! There is a table and chairs and a working kitchen, with an oven, 2 hob cooktop, microwave, fridge and pots, pans and crockery galore. The star of the room is the wood burner, which is beautiful and really heats the place up. Some books and board games are left in the room, which is a lovely touch. The toilet is in a separate outbuilding beside the cottage, and disappointingly, despite it's size it doesn't have a shower (it is clearly a disabled toilet, and even has a drain in the centre of the floor!). The showers are a short while away, past the visitor centre in the campsite facilities, which can fill up with children depending on when you time your shower. However, you don't really go to somewhere like Postman's cottage for it's conveniences, you go for it's beauty and the wildlife around you!

We found this an excellent base for our KI trip, it's remoteness was a plus for us! We came away refreshed and relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denni84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the Postman's Cottage in August 2011. It is in a lovely corner of a beautiful island. Despite the modern conveniences of fridge, microwave and an electric stove and oven, it felt like we stepped back in time to the 1800s --thick plaster walls and a wood stove and after 5PM, we were the only ones there. We were glad for the conveniences especially the electric heat, since we set off the smoke alarm trying to start the fire in the old wood stove!

We had lots of Cape Barren Geese on our doorstep and kangaroos just down the road. The rain had closed the trails, so we did not get to do the hikes we hoped to, but it was great spot to visit Admiral's Arch, Remarkable Rocks and go on the night walk at the Hansen Wildlife Refuge and see a wonderful bird show at the Raptor Center. We enjoyed the penguins in Kingscote, but advise staying on that end of the island after the night walk to see them because the road was so full of wildlife at night (kangaroos, possums, echidnas) that we had to return slowly and carefully to avoid hitting anyone on our way back to Flinders Chase. Night time there was beautiful, so quiet and the stars were incredible.

The cottage is small but cozy. It is a bit inconvenient to have the toilets in a separate building and showers down the road, but it is definitely a step up from camping and very comfortable even in winter--the beds had nice warm comforters. It was very convenient to have the arrangements include ferry transport--except that the ferry broke down so we missed a flight to Sydney (but we got another night in Flinder's Chase!) Apparently this had not happened in the 18 years one island resident has been on the island.

I would definitely recommend the Postman's Cottage, especially to nature lovers!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed in the Postman's Cottage in mid-June. We are generally the types to camp or backpack, but didn't want to bring all the equipment for this trip. Instead, we chose this very cheap cottage, right inside Flinder's Chase National Park. We could not have been more pleased with the cottage. I was incredibly homey and warm, with a wood-burning fireplace, comfy bed, full kitchen, board games, travel books, and lots of information about the park and island. Being inside the park was great, we were often greeted by wallabies and other wildlife in the mornings and evenings, and were able to visit places in the park before other people arrived. Also, the booking process is so easy, a simple email and everything is taken care of, even the bookings for the ferry to the island. Please note though, this is a self-catering woodsy cottage, not a hotel room with maid service if you're in to that sort of thing. Also, the cottage has an attached bathroom, but the showers are at the main campground, a short distance away.

Room Tip: Just email!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geosarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We spent one night in the Postman's cottage and it definitely was a fun experience!
The cottage is tiny and very basic in the furniture: no TV, an ancient sink, a wooden table, 4 chairs, that's it! The bathroom is outside (luckily not too far though). We spent the evening playing board games and watching wildlife.
The location is excellent as it is right in the National Park. It's easy to go for a walk and meet the wallabies.
If you are not looking for luxury but a fun experience and a touch of History, I would absolutely recommend to stay in the Postman's house. There is another bigger house at the same location available for rent.
The only negative point: it has no shower...
I wouldn't stay there for a whole week but one night is worth it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissFlamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews