We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quiet, private retreat in the midst of everything”
other traveller has booked this property
Come and swim amidst the natural beauty of the surrounding hills
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Come and swim amidst the natural beauty of the surrounding hills
The heated swiming pool, with jacuzzi, close to the house and terrasses - a spacious 11 x 5 meters
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Come and swim amidst the natural beauty of the surrounding hills
The heated swiming pool, with jacuzzi, close to the house and terrasses - a spacious 11 x 5 meters
A global view of the beautifully furnished living area, dining room and kitchen
Welcome to Claviers - typical hilltop village in Provence, unspoilt by tourism
A large living and dining room beneath a cathedral, beamed ceiling
The dining room comfortably seats 8
The spacious kitchen to enjoy preparing fresh produce surrounded by family and friends
And a cosy log fire to warm you during the cooler months
A separate area to watch  TV  and DVDs
The  double bedroom, with French windows leading to terraces and the swimming pool
Children's bedroom with bunk beds and a 3rd single bed
Large double bedroom with king-size bed and French windows to the terrace and gardens
One a the 3 bathrooms
Play boules in the spacious grounds... and drink a pastis !
Arriving at our villa - standing in beautiful grounds (7000 square meters!) -  unseen by neighbours
Swimming pool terrace... it is so quiet and has an excellent range of pool furniture and a pergola
South facing shaded, large terrace, perfect for summer dining
Have breakfast outside your bedroom... with the sun - and enjoy the beautiful view over the hills
View towards the garden - another place for a drink, watching people in the pool or playing boules
Cabanon in the garden : ideal for a couple - just 25 meters from the main house
The cabanon's  spacious bedroom ( with en suite shower & WC)
Be active ...play table tennis, volley ball, football in our large grounds
the swiming pool pergola
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Claviers, Var, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Charlest0...
Charleston
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quiet, private retreat in the midst of everything”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Our most recent stay in lovely Villa Jamai brought an opportunity to appreciate the owners’ tasteful enhancements. The property provides us a wonderful escape from the crowds, noise and hustle-bustle of California. Once again we were delighted and returned home refreshed.
A major attraction of Jamai is its proximity to all that Provence has to offer – extensive vineyards, wineries, picturesque villages, Nice and the Côte d'Azur – while providing a restorative retreat from it all. We could drive a reasonable distance when we wished to spend a day exploring, or walk along the twisty lane to the village of Claviers to enjoy a meal in the square. Otherwise we were free to relish the privacy and tranquility of our own pool, play boules, catch up on some reading, and enjoy gardens overlooking the forest.
Meals, coffees, cocktails al fresco on the terrace or poolside were a treat each day. The kitchen is well equipped with all the ‘mod cons’ and the outdoor grill was still another plus. The villa is beautifully decorated while inviting us to make ourselves comfortable. We are very much anticipating our return after completion of the extension with hot tub and sauna!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you for this review - and we promise to keep you, and all our guests, updated on the extension which will start in October 2016 and finish early in 2017, with en suite bathroom facilities added to the 2 main bedrooms, a new childrens' bedroom as well as the hot tub and sauna and further extended terraces and gardens. Have a good summer. Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathryn F
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Jamai is an opt out from the rat race, a little piece of paradise in a busy world”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

From the first time we read its description and saw its photos, Jamai appealed to my husband and myself. The beautiful pool area and garden, along with the comfortable house and cabanon made us feel this was the place for a holiday with our daugher, son in law and good friends. Its location outside the very pretty perched village of Claviers, only an hour and a half from Nice, yet a world away from the busy cote d'azur, also caught our attention.
From the outset we were dealt with warmly by Gill, one of the villa's owners and sent a lot of useful information about how to get there and what to expect when we arrived.
Nuccia and Laurent, who look after the upkeep of the villa and grounds could not have been more courteous and helpful, with Nuccia meeting us at the church in Claviers to lead us to the house, and Laurent keeping an eye on the pool and the gardens.
The property was everything we had hoped for and more. Down a rather long lane, (which seemed to shorten everytime we drove it, as we grew accustomed to its twists and turns) the villa fulfilled its promise as a haven of peace and tranquility. Birdsong, cicadas and the odd dog barking in the valley, along with the melodic sound of the church bell chiming in the village was all we heard. That, and the constant murmur of the pool was so relaxing we often fell asleep either at the poolside or in the hammocks and deckchairs thoughtfully provided in the lovely garden which had roses, lavender and oleander bushes to attract the many new and exotic butterflies we delighted in trying to identify.
The house was very comfortable and well equipped. Our daughter and son in law were charmed by the Cabanon, especially when they were woken early in the morning by strange noises, ran to the window and witnessed the sight of a line of wild boars making their way along a clearing in the forest below them, on the other side of the electric fence installed to keep them out of the property I should add. On another morning they saw a green woodpecker on a tree just outside their window.
The pool area was the place we all loved best. Such a lovely, clean pool, at the perfect temperature with a great combination of sunbeds and comfy relaxing armchairs in the slatted shade of the pergola.
The outdoor eating area was also great and the whole house and grounds had plenty of space for the six of us to find our own secluded spots and then come together for meals. We also played boules on some of the evenings which we really enjoyed, plus two very competitive games of Chinese Checkers in the house!
We ate out in the village on three occasions, twice in L'olivier and once in the bar/restaurant in the square. All were good and on our last evening we got takeaway pizzas from the bar/restaurant having had lunch in Bargemon earlier in the day. Unfortunately Aroma, another restuarant was closed while we were there as was Le Cle de Songe and the local boulangerie was up for sale.However the Proxi superette in the village was selling fresh bread and the nearby village of Bargemon had a good supply of food - a bigger Proxi, a good boulangerie/patisserie and a bucherie/charcuterie along with a Pharmacie. It also has a variety of restaurants.
We also ate in La Gloire de mon pere in Seillans, which we highly recommend, and on one of the days we drove to St Maxime on the coast (about an hour and a half away) where we took the Bateau Vert ferry to St Tropez. 13.50 Euro return for a 15 minute refreshing boat trip and a lovely way to enter the port of St. Tropez. Once we got over our dismay at the massive boats dwarfing the beautiful honey coloured buildings encircling the port, we explored further into the town and found an old square of plane trees and reasonably priced restuarants. We did enjoy gawping at the boats and the exclusive boutiques with the ever present black suited security men at their doors nonetheless!
The only downside we all agreed to our holiday was our inability to find a taxi to take us to restaurants in neighbouring villages when we wanted a break from driving. Having said that I did only ring the local Clavier taxi and the local Bargemon taxi on the day we were hoping to use them. (Ask in the Proxi, they have the cards). Had I tried booking in advance I may have been luckier. A tiny cloud on an otherwise wonderful holiday in a wonderful place. All six of us want to go back. What more can be said!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne B
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home in the sun - peace in the heart”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2013

My partner and I have spent a week here in May and another in October and on both occasions we have experienced the deep calm of this beautiful villa tucked away in the bush but not far away from villages offering delicious local cuisine. I love early morning swimming, late breakfasts and lazy lunches on a sunny terrace so this is an ideal site for me. Reading beside the pool, afternoon walks, dinners out in local restaurants or a barbecue at "home" make this an ideal holiday place for us. I think, however, it is the quality of the silence that has had such a beneficial impact on us on the two occasions we have stayed there. We feel blessed to have found this beautiful haven and will certainly return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DizzyDino...
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful getaway for ultimate relaxation and de-stress.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was our third year staying here and we gave it a great review before - the owners have since spent a lot of time and effort making it even better - so we'd now give it a 5star+ review if we could.

One of the biggest improvements that we liked was the new paved terrace to the pool side of the house which the doors from each bedroom now open on to - the terrace catches the morning sun with a gorgeous view of the valley so breakfast moved outside every day as did barefoot walks direct from bed to the pool in the morning for a swim before that sun-drenched breakfast! Even better the bedrooms now all have individual air con for an even better nights sleep - the beds are comfy and their is absoutely nothing to disturb your sleep in this valley except occasional wildlife noises from the cicadas and the wild boar in the forest (kept out of the fenced garden).

More improvements down at the pool too which we already loved but now it has an electronic cover - great for child safety and also for keeping the pool toasty warm. Pool furniture has all been replaced and upgraded for a real premium feel as has the cushioned furniture suite under the new awning by the pool for those of us who need a bit of shade in the midday heat.

Although we hadnt thought there was any problem before a re-decorate inside the villa has also made it seem brighter and fresher - we were really pleased to see the layout hadnt changed - the big sofas and scope for everyone to sit and chill out in groups or together, at the huge dining table or outside was all still there and made us all feel really at home and able to socialise or have our own space as we chose. Of course the hammocks under the trees are also a bonus too and we were amused to read the visitor review book and see that the teenage son of the guests before us spent their holiday writing music on their lap top just as ours did in their seclusion.

The villa was lovely and clean as usual, Nuccia who meets you with the keys and a quick tour for your stay was as helpful as we remembered as was her daughter who translates when our ropy French ran out - the pool is looked after during your stay and kept clean but really unobtrusively and efficiently - we have stayed in villas where we felt we were sharing our holiday with the care-taker - this isnt one of them fortunately.

All in all we had a great holiday again - can't recommend the villa enough if you are looking for total peace and time together as a family. We dont feel the need to go anywhere during our stay but just swim, play boules or badminton or table tennis (all facilities in the large grounds), chat, drink wine, sleep and switch off from the manic 21st century. We emerge a few times a week for meals in the local village restaurants (our favourite is in the square at Claviers) where we find the locals to be unfailingly friendlly and welcoming and the food excellent.

We've booked again for 2014 and can't imagine a year without our heavenly de-tox here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and terrace and the absolute peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing - unless you are put off driving down very narrow lanes to get here but its worth it!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lefamille...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A paradise retreat in Provence”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A wonderful retreat in a beautiful part of France. Fabulous villa equipped to a very high standard including Sky TV, internet connection and music system. All the bedrooms in the main villa have air-con which was wonderful. One really positive attribute was the fact there were 2 x fridges. This meant we only needed one large shop for the week. We just wandered into the local villages for fresh bread, fruit and veg! Perfect! Outside, the pool is obviously the focal point but the little areas of tranquility where you can chill-out in the sun or shade, including a couple of hammocks are equally enchanting. The BBQ appeared new and was well used during our stay! The owners have provided stacks of information to do if you ever want to leave! We only ventured out once and this was to the local gorge about 20 minutes away. This was amazing. Numerous huge plunge pools have been formed by the river as it flows down to a lovely waterfall at the end. And yes, you can jump the 50ft into the pool below and yes, we did it! Very exhilarating. Climbing back up the waterfall was also an interesting challenge and not for the faint hearted! All in all, an amazing villa in beautiful surroundings and one I would recommend to anyone wanting a complete break from the rat-race.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool, boules and air-con
Liked least: Mosquitoes
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 293
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing