We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pulled Pork Ever!!”
Review of Pig and Pallet

Pig and Pallet
Reserve with OpenTable
Pig and Pallet is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Topsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 6 - US$ 65
Description: Relaxed and informal. Some communal dining and some smaller tables. We are a butcher using classic methods from British and European sales to produce our own cured meats. We also take influences from American BBQ to produce well cooked smoked meats. We make everything possible ourselves. We make Pastrami for the Reubens, Franks for the dogs. We are very pleased with our award winning burgers. Be sure to ask what the secret is to a great burger (by the way there is no secret just use great dry aged Devon beef with salt and pepper).
Restaurant details
Description: Relaxed and informal. Some communal dining and some smaller tables. We are a butcher using classic methods from British and European sales to produce our own cured meats. We also take influences from American BBQ to produce well cooked smoked meats. We make everything possible ourselves. We make Pastrami for the Reubens, Franks for the dogs. We are very pleased with our award winning burgers. Be sure to ask what the secret is to a great burger (by the way there is no secret just use great dry aged Devon beef with salt and pepper).
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Another fantastic meal had at Pig & Pallet. We visited a year ago and were not disappointed on our return. Fantastic service, delicious food & lovely choice of local beers to try. Would highly recommend the pulled pork!

Thank MPn359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Owner at Pig and Pallet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thanks very much for your feedback about Pig and Pallet. We take all comments on board and they are discussed with the team.

We have a policy not to respond to individual reviews and comments on Tripadvisor. If this is a problem for you we are really sorry and get in touch or pop back in and we can chat.

The owners of P and P have an inbuilt inability to take anything too seriously and we feel we would only use this as another medium to have a laugh and it probably wouldn't go down too well and help any of us. It would be funny however and in good taste (couldn't guarantee that mind!).

If we get anything wrong in our service or quality we will put it right and apologise but if you don't like the style and philosophy of Pig and Pallet then there are many other place to eat in a environment where you will feel more relaxed and comfortable, as will we. Not every place is the same and this is what makes independent businesses so great and exciting.

We aim to make the most amazing food from great high welfare produce, if we fall short then please tell us.

Our service is relaxed and friendly and inclusive, if we fall short then tell us.

We aim to serve you as quick as possible but we do make everything in house so it's not alway fast food quick, if you think we are too slow please tell us.

Our first core value as a business is to be nice, if you meet anyone of our team and they are not nice please tell us. If we have customers who are not nice feel free to tell them!

I hope you liked your visit to Pig and Pallet and you get what we are about but please be nice and have fun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 251 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited for a quiet lunch on a Friday afternoon and were blown away by the lovely atmosphere, tasty food (including BACON JAM!! This is EVERYTHING) and the service. We felt really relaxed and stayed after our meal to finish our game of rummikub. At no point did we feel we should move on, we felt welcome and at home. It was gorgeous. Wish I'd bought some of the deli food now I'm reminiscing. I love this place.

Thank Angie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Owner at Pig and Pallet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thanks very much for your feedback about Pig and Pallet. We take all comments on board and they are discussed with the team.

We have a policy not to respond to individual reviews and comments on Tripadvisor. If this is a problem for you we are really sorry and get in touch or pop back in and we can chat.

The owners of P and P have an inbuilt inability to take anything too seriously and we feel we would only use this as another medium to have a laugh and it probably wouldn't go down too well and help any of us. It would be funny however and in good taste (couldn't guarantee that mind!).

If we get anything wrong in our service or quality we will put it right and apologise but if you don't like the style and philosophy of Pig and Pallet then there are many other place to eat in a environment where you will feel more relaxed and comfortable, as will we. Not every place is the same and this is what makes independent businesses so great and exciting.

We aim to make the most amazing food from great high welfare produce, if we fall short then please tell us.

Our service is relaxed and friendly and inclusive, if we fall short then tell us.

We aim to serve you as quick as possible but we do make everything in house so it's not alway fast food quick, if you think we are too slow please tell us.

Our first core value as a business is to be nice, if you meet anyone of our team and they are not nice please tell us. If we have customers who are not nice feel free to tell them!

I hope you liked your visit to Pig and Pallet and you get what we are about but please be nice and have fun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Having worked in the hospitality trade for more years than I would like to admit to I love trying new places and seeing what is around. I was sorely disappointed with the P&P. What they may label as quirky I thought was a bit cheap and tacky. Drinks were good but the food was terrible. I had the pulled pork sandwich which was soaked in an overly sweet sickly sauce, it was so wet that the bottom of the bun was inedible as it had turned to pulp. The paper under the food was also saturated with the sauce and I inadvertently ended up eating some of this. no table checks done by staff, our table was not cleared after we had finished so no chance to point out the failings to the staff. Having an open kitchen if it does not clean is not great either, the kitchen staff could also do with looking cleaner. I see from previous reviews that a standard response is pasted in which is a shame that time is not taken to reply to customers, not everyone can pop in for a chat..............

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank devonshiredumpling50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Owner at Pig and Pallet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thanks very much for your feedback about Pig and Pallet. We take all comments on board and they are discussed with the team.

We have a policy not to respond to individual reviews and comments on Tripadvisor. If this is a problem for you we are really sorry and get in touch or pop back in and we can chat.

The owners of P and P have an inbuilt inability to take anything too seriously and we feel we would only use this as another medium to have a laugh and it probably wouldn't go down too well and help any of us. It would be funny however and in good taste (couldn't guarantee that mind!).

If we get anything wrong in our service or quality we will put it right and apologise but if you don't like the style and philosophy of Pig and Pallet then there are many other place to eat in a environment where you will feel more relaxed and comfortable, as will we. Not every place is the same and this is what makes independent businesses so great and exciting.

We aim to make the most amazing food from great high welfare produce, if we fall short then please tell us.

Our service is relaxed and friendly and inclusive, if we fall short then tell us.

We aim to serve you as quick as possible but we do make everything in house so it's not alway fast food quick, if you think we are too slow please tell us.

Our first core value as a business is to be nice, if you meet anyone of our team and they are not nice please tell us. If we have customers who are not nice feel free to tell them!

I hope you liked your visit to Pig and Pallet and you get what we are about but please be nice and have fun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

Having been visiting this area for several years we came across the pig & pallet via a tv program!!! and boy are we glad we did!! From the moment you walk through the door the place is fun, welcoming and different and the staff(all of them) make you feel very welcome. On top of all this the food is excellent and there is a good choice, we visited on Mothering Sunday and whilst some places on special days don't always live up to expectations this place did and more, well done.
We'll be back and it doesn't have to be a special occasion to enjoy this special place.

Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Owner at Pig and Pallet, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2017

Thanks very much for your feedback about Pig and Pallet. We take all comments on board and they are discussed with the team.

We have a policy not to respond to individual reviews and comments on Tripadvisor. If this is a problem for you we are really sorry and get in touch or pop back in and we can chat.

The owners of P and P have an inbuilt inability to take anything too seriously and we feel we would only use this as another medium to have a laugh and it probably wouldn't go down too well and help any of us. It would be funny however and in good taste (couldn't guarantee that mind!).

If we get anything wrong in our service or quality we will put it right and apologise but if you don't like the style and philosophy of Pig and Pallet then there are many other place to eat in a environment where you will feel more relaxed and comfortable, as will we. Not every place is the same and this is what makes independent businesses so great and exciting.

We aim to make the most amazing food from great high welfare produce, if we fall short then please tell us.

Our service is relaxed and friendly and inclusive, if we fall short then tell us.

We aim to serve you as quick as possible but we do make everything in house so it's not alway fast food quick, if you think we are too slow please tell us.

Our first core value as a business is to be nice, if you meet anyone of our team and they are not nice please tell us. If we have customers who are not nice feel free to tell them!

I hope you liked your visit to Pig and Pallet and you get what we are about but please be nice and have fun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

Visited with family for first time this Monday evening. Amazing place! From the minute we walked in I knew we'd love it! The owner was so lovely as were all the staff we met. We were made to feel very welcome and the owners knowledge of the food, where it had come from (all local) and the processes it went through (there is a smoker for the meat on the premesis) was impressive. He obviously is very passionate about good local food prepared and treated on site. The meal was really really lovely! Venison steak - hubby said best he had ever had - really tasty and very tender,
mac and cheese with bacon and chorizo - one of my all time favourite mac and cheese ( and I have been very disappointed by mac and cheese elsewhere before!)
ribs with pulled pork on the side - so tender and tasty - fell off the bone
felafel burger - seriously good felafel with lovely sides
We were all very impressed, very stuffed and very smiley by the end of the evening! The owner let me try some of the Pastrami which is made on site - PROPER Pastrami (at last!!! I now don't have to put up with the pre packed supermarket pap - this Pastrami is so tasty and just the right amount of smokiness and saltiness - a bit of a 'when Harry met Sally' moment at the table going on!!)
We will definitely be back and can't recommend the place enough - brilliant food, staff, decor and atmosphere - dog friendly too.

Thank SeaSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W, Owner at Pig and Pallet, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

Thanks very much for your feedback about Pig and Pallet. We take all comments on board and they are discussed with the team.

We have a policy not to respond to individual reviews and comments on Tripadvisor. If this is a problem for you we are really sorry and get in touch or pop back in and we can chat.

The owners of P and P have an inbuilt inability to take anything too seriously and we feel we would only use this as another medium to have a laugh and it probably wouldn't go down too well and help any of us. It would be funny however and in good taste (couldn't guarantee that mind!).

If we get anything wrong in our service or quality we will put it right and apologise but if you don't like the style and philosophy of Pig and Pallet then there are many other place to eat in a environment where you will feel more relaxed and comfortable, as will we. Not every place is the same and this is what makes independent businesses so great and exciting.

We aim to make the most amazing food from great high welfare produce, if we fall short then please tell us.

Our service is relaxed and friendly and inclusive, if we fall short then tell us.

We aim to serve you as quick as possible but we do make everything in house so it's not alway fast food quick, if you think we are too slow please tell us.

Our first core value as a business is to be nice, if you meet anyone of our team and they are not nice please tell us. If we have customers who are not nice feel free to tell them!

I hope you liked your visit to Pig and Pallet and you get what we are about but please be nice and have fun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pig and Pallet also viewed

 

Been to Pig and Pallet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing