We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute world wind of a house with Amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Auld Schoolhouse

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Sandhead, Mull of Galloway, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

01molly01
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolute world wind of a house with Amazing views😍”
Reviewed 20 June 2021 for a stay in June 2021

Had a lovely stay all week, the sunrises are stunning to see. Lovely walk on the beach right across from the house, private garden also and very very spacious. Ideal for every need and especially if you have children and just overall a fantastic accommodation. Very clean and tidy

Date of stay: June 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
27 Jul 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a lovely review for Auld Schoolhouse, it is very much appreciated as it gives future guests an idea of what to expect of the property, beach and village of Sandhead from a visitor's point of view. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards, Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nursemurr...
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Fantastic house with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 16 June 2021 for a stay in May 2021

Stayed here in beginning of May, lockdown just lifted to allow us to travel.

House is lovely and very well equipped. Situation right across from a long and beautiful beach which we had to ourselves most of the time.

Hotel just along the road is fab and makes lovely food and very friendly atmosphere.

We travelled around in our weeks stay and lots of lovely, quaint wee villages surrounding sandhead.
Would definitely recommend and will definitely return in the future.

Elspeth, the owner, is very friendly and extremely approachable. Thank you x

Date of stay: May 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Jul 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a complementary and comprehensive review of Auld Schoolhouse and the surrounding area, it is very much appreciated as it gives future guests an idea of what to expect from a visitor's point of view. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again sometime. Kind regards, Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trail3701...
1 review
“House across from an expansive beach, wonderful”
Reviewed 15 June 2021 for a stay in May 2021

Walk across the road to the beach, never very busy so was great for our dogs. Lovely big house with views over the beach and everything you could need, great for relaxation. Fab outside space but garden furniture could do with an upgrade.

Date of stay: May 2021
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Jul 2021
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. Sorry had not noticed 1 of the chairs was broken - there were more in the shed and have now replaced it.
Hope to see you again sometime
Kind regards, Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JezBux
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Our favourite hideaway”
Reviewed 28 November 2020 for a stay in November 2020
2
people found this review helpful

We come back to The Auld School House every year, more often than that if possible.
Elspeth and her family really look after this beautiful house, and in these difficult times it’s clear that the safety of guests is second to none. We were very confident that everything humanly possible had been done to ensure guests are safe and well catered for.
The house itself is huge, beautifully furnished, warm and well equipped. There are two double rooms as well as a twin room. There are 3 bathrooms (1 full bathroom upstairs, 1 shower/loo/sink upstairs and another shower/loo/sink downstairs. The downstairs shower is ideal for cleaning up after a long walk on the beach with the dogs.
There’s a washing machine, dishwasher, microwave and all the usual things you expect in a well equipped house. Oh, and there’s very good wifi too.
The parking at the side of the house is easily enough for 2 cars, possibly 3 although we only had 2 between us.
The driveway gate and the front garden gate help to keep the dogs safe. The garden at the back is great for the dogs to use.
Sandhead is a lovely village, and the location of The Auld Schoolhouse is just perfect for the beach (literally a few 10’s of metres away), access to the nearby corner shop and the local pub/hotel is ideal.
Everytime we stay at the house, we make time to visit the Mull of Galloway Lighthouse which is about 20 minutes drive away. It is a beautiful location, has a fab cafe/restaurant and gift shop as well as a bird reserve (observation point) and stunning walks.
We can’t wait to return, even minutes after leaving we are desperate to return!

Date of stay: November 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Dec 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a complementary and comprehensive review of Auld Schoolhouse and the surrounding area, it is very much appreciated as it gives future guests an idea of what to expect from a visitor's point of view. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay this year, as much as previous years and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Kind regards, Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Go4366955...
1 review
“Great family house, lovely location”
Reviewed 25 November 2020 for a stay in October 2020

We have stayed in the Schoolhouse a number of times over the last few years and had a great time on each occasion. It is a lovely house which is a nice mixture of traditional and well thought out refurbishment, so you have everything you would expect in a modern home. There is lots of room for a family, and both a garden at the back and a lovely walled garden across the road which is perfect for sitting out in. The views looking over Luce Bay and the beautiful light at the front of the house are particular highlights. Elspeth, the owner, is lovely to deal with and just on hand down the road, should you need her. The Rhins is a very a special area to visit, so it’s always surprising that it is not overrun with visitors, and Sandhead is a good, central place to stay when visiting. The village has a pub/restaurant and a shop, so everything is on your doorstep, including the beach, which is vast – you can walk for miles along it without meeting anyone else. Further afield you can climb the lighthouse at the Mull, visit the Botanic Gardens or catch the sunset on the Port Logan side of the peninsula. I would highly recommend both the Schoolhouse, and Elspeth as your landlady!

Date of stay: October 2020
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
11 Dec 2020
Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a complementary and comprehensive review of Auld Schoolhouse and the surrounding area, it is very much appreciated as it gives future guests an idea of what to expect from a visitor's point of view. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay this year, as much as previous years and hope to welcome you back to Auld Schoolhouse.
Kind regards, Elspeth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.