We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Balcony with a million dollar view”
other travellers have booked this property
Casa Amarilla's perfect palm-fringed location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Amarilla's perfect palm-fringed location
The waterfall from the children's pool plunges to the main pool below Terrace view and Casa Amarilla's mango trees
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Casa Amarilla's perfect palm-fringed location
The waterfall from the children's pool plunges to the main pool below
Terrace view and Casa Amarilla's mango trees
Perfect spot for bird/wildlife, sunset viewing.  Then wait for the stars.....
Which hammock today?  Eeny meeny miny mo..........
Beautiful master bedroom with patio doors to private terrace and garden
The spacious comfortable lounge/library
The family friendly kitchen with all modern appliances
The family bathroom with jacuzzi tub and walk-in shower
Pavon Bay and the Dulce Gulf through the lounge window
Amazing sunsets from the terrace
Off to the beach on horseback
Wild local beaches for surfing, swimming or simply beachcombing
The stunning 18m swimming pool with barbeque rancho
One of nature's amazing light shows from the terrace
Rainbow in the hills viewed from Casa Amarilla
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 9
Pavones, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
IWILL58
Cockermouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Balcony with a million dollar view”
Reviewed 12 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We have travelled extensively and this rental was one of the best we have ever had. The large balcony and the views are outstanding, and if you like watching for birds it is the place to be. We saw Toucans, Scarlet Macaws and plenty of other birds whilst sat relaxing.
We also went for a walk with Freddy (who looks after the maintenance of the estate and is a lovely bloke) and saw a Sloth, monkeys, blue morphos, and plenty of birds.
The estate is huge and there are lots of places to walk if you are interested and feel up to it. There is also fruit to pick or just ask Freddy and he will get you some.

The house itself is also excellent and has everything that you could want, including a washing machine and drier. Having said that there is no TV and the internet is not up to streaming so if you can't manage without that you are in the wrong place.

There were a few maintenance issues with the house which we made the owner and Freddy aware of and they were either dealt with straight away or are being dealt with so they didn't spoil our stay at all. The A/C in our bedroom was fine but the ones in the other two bedrooms developed faults so if there are a few of you I would just check with the owner first that they have been fixed before booking.
There were only two of us but it would be ideal for a family or three sets of friends.

The communication with Crispin right from the start was very good and the instructions to find the place were spot on.

The 18 metre pool is a short walk down the hill and is shared with the two other rental houses, but we used it everyday and there was never anyone else around. It is in a lovely setting surrounded by plants and trees and is a nice place to relax.

The other two Casa's are well away so there is total privacy at Casa Amarilla.

There are plenty of places to visit within an hour of the Casa. Pilon beach is about 10/15 minutes drive, Pavones around 30 minutes, Zancudo maybe a touch longer, and we didn't go but Golfito would probably be about 1 hour.

We tried all the supermarkets around Conte and Pavones and found the best one to at Conte. When you get to the T junction at Conte (where it meets the tarmac road) ignore the small supermarket on your left and turn right on to the tarmac road, and about half mile down there is a small supermarket. They have a reasonable stock and also have really nice fresh bread in a glass counter near the front of the shop.

We loved our stay and if we go to Costa Rica again we will definitely go back to Casa Amarilla, and probably for an extended stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2018
Many thanks for the kind words Ian - really pleased you had such a good time. We're working on those points you raised, so hopefully next time you come it will be perfect!
Pura vida!
Crispin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J...
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“On the top of the rain forest, in the middle of paradise with nothing but good vibes.”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife Marlena and I were more than comfortable in this amazing home. We stayed for 5 nights and felt like it was everything we could have ever wanted for our first trip to Costa Rica. The house and property was extremely well kept, especially for being directly on top of a mountain in the middle of the rain forest. We felt safe and comfortable the entire time we stayed. Freddie the grounds keeper is an amazing person and was extremely accommodating to us throughout our stay. Upon request, Freddie set up a two hour horseback tour through the local village, mountains and beach with a friend of his named Enrique. We spent a part everyday surfing at the local beach and ended everyday with a good home cooked meal made in the more than spacious kitchen. The patio/balcony on the backside of the house was our favorite place to spend our time after taking a swim in the large pool that was adjacent to the house. Lounging in the hammock reading and enjoying the awe inspiring view of the rain forest canopy that stretched all the way to the beach made our stay feel more like a dream than a vacation. The two guard dogs on the property, Paloma and Niron, became good friends of ours, welcoming us back and escorting us away from the property every time we came and went. By the second day of our stay Marlena and I had fallen in love with this beautiful house painted in most distinct yellow and covered with amazing local wood accents, carvings and moldings. When the owner, Jo, built his home he really made sure it would be the most unforgettable place, I know we never will. Thank you Jo! Thank you Freddie!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thanks for the really lovely review Matthew, we're so pleased you had a good time. We hope you can come back again. Pura vida! Crispin and Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
Turrialba, Costa Rica
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location for birders”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The huge balcony of this house, at tree canopy level with termal updrafts in front, is ideal for bird watching. The heavily wooded farm and surrounding land offer a beautiful environment that puts you directly in touch with the amazing biodiversity (not just birds) of this región. The view is as good as claimed and the house was actually much bigger than the photos showed; first time this happens for us with a holiday rental! The manager (Freddy) was very helpful and well informed and Neron, the large dog that comes with the house, was great company on our local walks. The house is clearly run down but is still luxurious. Taking into account its size and the environment, the rental cost was reasonable. We hope to return one day.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thanks for the review John. Really pleased you had a good stay and got to see plenty of wildlife. Upkeep of the houses in the rainforest is difficult and expensive, but we try our best! We hope you'll be back again. Pura vida!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brenden t
1 review
“Guest ”
Reviewed 3 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Words can't describe how amazing my stay was at Casa Amarilla, but I will try anyway... We stayed for 12 days and I must say, It wasn't long enough. The views are breath taking, the wildlife is abundant and all around you.. when you think of the real Costa Rican experience, this is it! The Costa Rican people are very friendly, especially our care taker Freddy who is great guy and will go out of his way to help with anything you may need. The house has two very sweet dogs which made it feel so much like home.. I really didn't want to leave and I honestly miss it. Don't pass this one up, it's so worth it..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jguest201...
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful escape”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in the yellow house for 10 days with my two sons. They surfed daily and were very satisfied with Pavones on several levels. It is still an unexploited part of Costa Rica for surfing as compared to Tamarindo and Nosara. The house has a beautiful terrace and view of the coast to the north-west and south across to the tip of the Osa peninsula. There is a large and inviting kitchen and living area. For surfing it is a bit of a drive to Pavones, about 20-30 minutes and that should be kept in mind if surfing is the priority. However, the long driveway really gets you away and the view and property details make for a level of serenity not to be found in town.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing