We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
157
48
11
2
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
48
11
2
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burma bridge zip line the river kids and adults in house personal care dining hall adventure activities keep up the good work basket ball rooms are basic just like home badminton court hill top memorable experience a wonderful stay nature walk
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2018

This so callled Retreat is actually located directly on a busy main road opposite a petrol station. When we visited in October 2018 we found the whole resort to be covered in a layer of thick dust and extremely noisy due to the major road works located right outside the main gate. This was hardly conducive to a quiet, peaceful, much looked forward to holiday. The dust was so severe we only stayed here for 3 hours before leaving due to the appalling conditions.
We feel that the website for this resort and the descriptions on Tripadviser and Booking.com etc are extremely misleading. This place is not a peaceful retreat! The staff however we very helpful and apologetic.
We are currently trying to secure a refund for our trip but contact with management is proving difficult.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel20042014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. The road construction talking place is part of the the Char Dham Highway Development Project being undertaken by the central government.This is a massive project where 1100 KM of damaged Uttarakhand highways will be converted into all seasons road and is being done in several phases.

The mega project was expected to be completed by March 2019 but that deadline has - unfortunately, been extended by one year. We were expecting the road project in our phase to be completed by the beginning of the October season, but there has been some delay in that. I am sure you would understand that there is very little we, or any of the other hotels in the area, can do about this matter. We do try to settle the dust down by watering the area as often as our innate water conservation DNA will allow us. Thank you for admitting that our staff was helpful and apologetic - I am sure they too get upset when clients leave.To label our website and other TripAdvisor reviews as "misleading" is frankly unfair to our other guests and us.

Regarding your refund, you were in touch with Aditya from our office who helped arrange a car pick up from the airport. I just checked with Aditya and he says no one from your end has connected with him regarding a refund. Please do drop in an email to him and we will do the best we possibly can.

Thank you and regards,

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic time in this resort and specially enjoyed their food - the best we had during our stay inRishikesh. The staff was very polite and courteous. They also arranged for the rafting was with a reliable partner. The resort has a private road which takes you to the river, and the staff was kind enough to accompany us. When I visit again - I will definitely come back here.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank abbas_india
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you Abbas for a lovely review. Bull's Retreat is owned and managed by MHE Adventures - the same folks you went rafting with:-). We are essentially an adventure travel company and Bull's Retreat is our active hideaway away from the bustle of the city.

Do visit us again soon and experience more adventures with us.

Regards,

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Booked through make my trip for 18th n 19th Aug .
Reaching on 18th noon found place in horrible condition .
Cement n briks everywhere .
Worst place . They literally looted my money. No refunds .
Bloody scoundrels .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ajay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Mr. Pandey,

Thank you for taking the time out to review us. I'm sorry you feel this way. I understand you came into the property on the morning of August-18th, took a few photos and left. Yes, our main gate was undergoing repairs - because of the road expansion and construction work going on, it was torn down the previous day. Due to incessant rains we were unable to address the situation until the next day.

One room - one room only, was undergoing repairs, something we can only do during off-season. And it wasn't your room or anywhere close to it. I wouldn't call that "heavy repairs."

You had booked via MakeMyTrip and when we connected with them, they had no information regarding your contact details - no email ID or contact number. Which is why we couldn't get through to you. We had sent all our guests an email informing them of the road repair work, but for some reason MMT did not send us your voucher and we have taken up the matter with them separately.

Regarding your refund, we couldn't possibly give you one since you didn't book with us directly. Only MMT can do that for you and we connected with them. To the best of my knowledge, you have received a refund.

I'm sorry you didn't step in to see the rest of the property, or if you did, failed to appreciate the flowers in full bloom, the landscaped gardens and the serenity within.

Thank you and regards,

Akshay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Happy to be at Bulls resort after busy New Delhi and Rishikesh. Very clean room and clean, pretty garden and staff werd very helpful, gentle and kind. Also thanks tot the lovely walks they made possible we had a really special time.
Especially for people interested in mountaineering, don't forget tot go go the museum. It's impressive.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank gkreugel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for the lovely review - deeply appreciated. The Ecerest Museum is Col Bull Kumar's passion and every piece there has been personally supervised by him!

Do visit us again soon.

Regards

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We stayed in this resort for a family vacation. We took two cottages. Cottage size was good & they were clean. The resort staff was great and helpful. The resort had a couple of options for indoor activities. Food served was great and resort offered a lot of complimentary snacks for evening tea.

The only suggestion I have for this resort is starting in-room food service which they don't do currently.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank msharma554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the suggestion - really appreciated. The reason we don't encourage in-room dining is because Bull's Retreat is surrounded by forest at the back. The whiff of food from your room would encourage wildlife to make their way there - bob cats, monkeys, langoors and field mice are particularly persistent. We hope you understand now, why we have this policy. Needless to say, if someone is ill or unable to make it to the dining room just a 100 yards away, we are happy to accommodate them.

Do visit us again soon.

Regards,

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews