We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
157
48
11
2
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
48
11
2
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burma bridge zip line the river kids and adults in house personal care dining hall adventure activities keep up the good work basket ball rooms are basic just like home badminton court hill top memorable experience a wonderful stay nature walk
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

Booked through make my trip for 18th n 19th Aug .
Reaching on 18th noon found place in horrible condition .
Cement n briks everywhere .
Worst place . They literally looted my money. No refunds .
Bloody scoundrels .

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ajay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Dear Mr. Pandey,

Thank you for taking the time out to review us. I'm sorry you feel this way. I understand you came into the property on the morning of August-18th, took a few photos and left. Yes, our main gate was undergoing repairs - because of the road expansion and construction work going on, it was torn down the previous day. Due to incessant rains we were unable to address the situation until the next day.

One room - one room only, was undergoing repairs, something we can only do during off-season. And it wasn't your room or anywhere close to it. I wouldn't call that "heavy repairs."

You had booked via MakeMyTrip and when we connected with them, they had no information regarding your contact details - no email ID or contact number. Which is why we couldn't get through to you. We had sent all our guests an email informing them of the road repair work, but for some reason MMT did not send us your voucher and we have taken up the matter with them separately.

Regarding your refund, we couldn't possibly give you one since you didn't book with us directly. Only MMT can do that for you and we connected with them. To the best of my knowledge, you have received a refund.

I'm sorry you didn't step in to see the rest of the property, or if you did, failed to appreciate the flowers in full bloom, the landscaped gardens and the serenity within.

Thank you and regards,

Akshay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Happy to be at Bulls resort after busy New Delhi and Rishikesh. Very clean room and clean, pretty garden and staff werd very helpful, gentle and kind. Also thanks tot the lovely walks they made possible we had a really special time.
Especially for people interested in mountaineering, don't forget tot go go the museum. It's impressive.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank gkreugel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for the lovely review - deeply appreciated. The Ecerest Museum is Col Bull Kumar's passion and every piece there has been personally supervised by him!

Do visit us again soon.

Regards

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We stayed in this resort for a family vacation. We took two cottages. Cottage size was good & they were clean. The resort staff was great and helpful. The resort had a couple of options for indoor activities. Food served was great and resort offered a lot of complimentary snacks for evening tea.

The only suggestion I have for this resort is starting in-room food service which they don't do currently.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank msharma554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for the suggestion - really appreciated. The reason we don't encourage in-room dining is because Bull's Retreat is surrounded by forest at the back. The whiff of food from your room would encourage wildlife to make their way there - bob cats, monkeys, langoors and field mice are particularly persistent. We hope you understand now, why we have this policy. Needless to say, if someone is ill or unable to make it to the dining room just a 100 yards away, we are happy to accommodate them.

Do visit us again soon.

Regards,

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

We were 2 families with 4 adults/4 kids and stayed here on the Eid weekend this year. We booked super deluxe rooms. The rooms offered were spacious and clean, but basic only, not much luxury.
Resort is right on the highway, so connectivity is excellent but then you have to bear some vehicle noise. Though they have done an excellent job with greenery, once inside you don't realise that you are bang on highway until you hear some vehicle honking on road.
Kids had lots of fun on the trampoline and foosball table, other activities they enjoyed was basketball, football, cricket, badminton and just running around the lawns.
Equipment though was again basic and could have been better maintaned. Foosball table had one pin broken, trampoline had few straps missing posing a possible injury hazard.
Staff at resort was super nice - Harish took good care of us. The cook Arif is awesome - he churned out awesome omelette s and dosas at breakfast and was super friendly with kids. The yoghurt eggplant (brinjal) on our first dinner was amazing and was break from the usual dal makhani and paneer fare. Overall food quality was good.
Mahendra? Took us for a morning hike to the river, that was wonderful experience.
Adventure zone is nearby providing even more fun options for kids.
They have a mountaineering museum with good exhibits and tons of information, kids had a good walk thru and peek into the mountaineering world.
Overall a good experience, we will recommend it to friends

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rsj_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us. And for pointing out our shortcomings as well. The trampoline has been tended to as has the foosball table. We're glad you liked the food Srig cooked up - the brinjal-yoghurt-burnt garlic combo is a Parsi dish taught to Arif by my Parsi wife and is pretty much a hit with all our guests:-).Mahender is the manager of the resort and also MHE's chief trekking leader - and takes every opportunity to wing his way to the river or the mountain top with enthusiastic guests in tow!

The Everest Museum is Col. Narinder Kumar's passion and every piece there has been personally supervised by him.Do visit us again soon.

Thank you and regards,

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The property is located right on the Highway but still calm and quiet. We stayed in the forest hut and it was well kept.

The staff is very gentle, disciplined and hardworking. The food is very delicious but a little overpriced and quantities a little less.

There are different activities for kids to keep them busy.

Need to just suggest a few things which will make the property still better:

1. The Bed mattress are too soft and if a tourist has come after a tiring trek or river activity very soft mattress adds to the body pain rather than comforting

2. One of the Huts no. 116 has a TV installed on the left side of the bed and Air conditioner right in front of the bed so you can neither watch TV comfortably if you want to and neither can you stand the direct blow of the A/c.

3. The Gardens are not well kept and needs more attention.

Overall the property is good for family and friends.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gunjans272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you Gunjan, for taking the time to review us. We have taken your suggestions into consideration - the gardens have already been spruced up and we're looking to see how we can change the arrangements in 110. Unfortunately, the cottage is built amidst the forest at the back, so there's very little room to make structural changes.

Do visit us again soon.

Regards

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews