We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
157
48
11
2
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
157
48
11
2
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews burma bridge zip line the river kids and adults in house personal care dining hall adventure activities keep up the good work basket ball rooms are basic just like home badminton court hill top memorable experience a wonderful stay nature walk
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018

The property is located right on the Highway but still calm and quiet. We stayed in the forest hut and it was well kept.

The staff is very gentle, disciplined and hardworking. The food is very delicious but a little overpriced and quantities a little less.

There are different activities for kids to keep them busy.

Need to just suggest a few things which will make the property still better:

1. The Bed mattress are too soft and if a tourist has come after a tiring trek or river activity very soft mattress adds to the body pain rather than comforting

2. One of the Huts no. 116 has a TV installed on the left side of the bed and Air conditioner right in front of the bed so you can neither watch TV comfortably if you want to and neither can you stand the direct blow of the A/c.

3. The Gardens are not well kept and needs more attention.

Overall the property is good for family and friends.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gunjans272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you Gunjan, for taking the time to review us. We have taken your suggestions into consideration - the gardens have already been spruced up and we're looking to see how we can change the arrangements in 110. Unfortunately, the cottage is built amidst the forest at the back, so there's very little room to make structural changes.

Do visit us again soon.

Regards

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

It was a great place to be, amazing staff and excellent hospitality, Place is really friendly with beautiful rooms. would love to spend more time and now every trip to rishikesh i will be looking forward to stay in bull's.

Room tip: we choose super luxrry room and it was quite big and beautiful.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GauravC769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We stayed here for 4 days and had a great time. The rooms are comfortable and the staff is very helpful and courteous. The guided trek to the hill-top and river bank was amazing. They serve very good food, tastes just like home-made food. A good place for bird-watching as well. Hikers adventure park is just across the road, our kids enjoyed the adventure activities there. 2 kms from the retreat is a beautiful white sand beach on the river, serene and clean. Kids enjoyed making sand castles and we adults enjoyed a game of football and clicked lots of pictures. Just before the beach is the zipline across river Ganga, as must do for adventure lovers. Also, the pebbled river bank is just 7-10 mins walk from the retreat. A peaceful place to enjoy in the midst of nature.Overall it was a great holiday. Thank you Bulls retreat for your memorable hospitality. The retreat has a very homely feel unlike other commercial resorts. Keep up the good work.

Room tip: We booked deluxe rooms they were quite spacious.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Preeti_Purohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We reached hotel late at 21:00 due to heavy traffic in Haridwar and Rishikesh and asked guys to give us some snacks to just refresh ,but was told there is no snacks available and dinner is ready how can one have dinner in just five minutes after reaching hotel room to listen what can we do all are busy preparing dinner after lil exchanges of words they agreed and served snacks and Dinnner at rooms because we need time to freshen up after long travel and they will going to close restaurant at 10:00 thats ok, but the dinner is so bad that taste like hospital food,no taste at all .

Tea : I am pretty sure that Tea is worst then of Tea available in railways.
Biscuit: Again u will find them worst then of local road side chai walas .
Snacks : if prepared ,good but if prepared ,everytime you order you hear u have in complementary as to we are here for complentory stuff only or they don't want to cook.
Breakfast : was good no doubt.
Dinner again : worst to my thought no taste , brinjal at dinner never seen that.
Complementory Snacks : popcorn () and pea nuts .

Rooms : Good ,but no door locks from inside in huts,in day time the whole room lit up with light,even if full curtain are used.so not so easy to sleep.
No intercomm need to dial on cellphone.

Bathroom: you will be supplied with rupee 2 shampoo pouches and a soap.and no lock from outside.

Sports facilities:No single sports equipment is up to mark .they are just there for show.


AS PER THE TARIFF 5k+
Facilities / REPUTATION SHOWN IN LITREATURE OF HOTEL,NOTHING IS UPTO THE STANDARDS,

As Mr Narendra Kumar (the bull) is highly decorated army officer,but to utter dismay standard are not set as required ,not a single person in whole property has shown the standards,even no one is bothered to show museum highlighting the achievements of Mr Kumar.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JitenderC6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Jitender,

Thank you for writing in. We take every criticism as a way of learning - to ensure we don't fall short in our services in any manner whatsoever. But there does come a time when it is important for me, as a leader, to stand up for my team and call a spade a spade. So please allow me to highlight some points:

1. You arrived at 9:30 PM and demanded that the snacks to be served in your rooms because you were exhausted. Apart form the fact that it was way beyond "evening snack" time, we do not provide room service - and that is clearly marked in all our reading material. This is because we are at the edge of a forest reserve and the smell of food wafting from a room could lead to unwelcome visitors from the forest - something I am sure you would not have liked. Yet, you insisted.
2. You wanted your buffet dinner pushed to a later time - my team agreed to move it to 10:30 PM so you'd have enough time to freshen up. You refused to come to the dining area and again insisted on room service.
3. But here's the highlight - despite the fact that you found everything so very distasteful, you extended your stay by a day! And yes, again, behaved in exactly the same manner the next day - insisting on taking the snacks to your room and wanting to be served dinner there as well. The ladies in your group seemed to understand our predicament and came in to Bull's Bistro for their dinner - at 10:30 PM, but you and your friend insisted on being served dinner in the room - again.

We are a mountain lodge and so our style of working is different from the city hotels you may be used to. There definitely was a compatibility issue here, and if you wish to continue travelling in the mountains with us or anyone else, may I suggest a slight shift in your expectations? It will indeed, help you to have a much better holiday in the future - and help the people you stay with cope better too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

avoid the crowd of shivpuri and rather stay here its opposite petrol pump on main highway with hike park for kids just few steps away and zipline just few meters away...best thing about bulls retreat is the friendly staff and the way this property is built and maintained they have spacious green parks inside the vicinity lots of space to park play and even a small zipline for kids.. there is also a nice restaurant big enough to have private parties and in lodging besides rooms adjacent to each other one has options of cottages type room with interesting names like indus, zanskar etc...property is run by Ex Armyperson and it has a small musuem dedicated to mount everest..interesting

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amitanshukjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akshay K, Owner at Bull's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Dear Sir,

Thank you for this positive review. I am glad that you and your kids had a wonderful experience with us. Do join us again at Bull's Retreat or any of other Bull's Escapes.

Regards,

Akshay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews