We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous Wedding Venue, but thats about it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cherry Valley
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Wedding Venue, but thats about it”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We just spent the day there on Friday April 20th for an amazing wedding held under the 1100 year old Oak Tree. What a gorgeous venue. The grounds are stunning and the staff was very friendly, and available at all times, but yet were discreetly not around... in a good way. A few suggestions? Wear flat shoes. The grounds are very uneven because you are in true natural spaces, so ladies leave the heels at home or bring a purse big enough to secretly change into some flip flops. And bring an umbrella, the guests sat in the open sun, while bridal party was under the shade of the tree. We weren't in shade until the reception, held under a gorgeous line of olive trees, all lit up, with one side opening up to lavender fields.
So romantic

I wish we would've had an opportunity to really explore the grounds because there seemed to be lots of options of things to look at, however based on what I saw, I believe the buildings needed upgrading desperately.

Be aware that the use of the RESORT, is used very loosely. This is not a resort but seemed more like a camp ground. I wouldn't choose to stay here but for the wedding services, great choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clavautoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    19
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
20
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I took my husband here for a Valentines day weekend and was sadly a bit disappointing. I'll start with the good. The food/restaurant is EXCELLENT! Very tasty, interesting lavender infusions and very vintage atmosphere. Beautiful views. The bar was also very neat. The decor was of the history of the place and very fun and pleasant. I wish it would have carried over into the accommodations. When we got into our room, somebody had just left because nothing had been clean. Bed sheets were still slept in. When we finally did get a "clean" room, The room had no TV, it was very stale smelling and was reminiscent of a hostel I stayed at in France. The "king" bed was simply two twins pushed together with a bottom sheet thrown on top to keep them together. This of course didn't happen, because on the slick floor as soon as my husband rolled over to make a move the two twins slid apart and he was headed for the floor (great entertainment however). The grounds are in gross need of remodeling. The pool area needs to be completely redone, and the grounds are in disrepair. I felt as though I was in the twilight zone. This place has so much potential if only someone would invest in some remodeling and staff.

Room Tip: get one at morongo
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gnatB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherry Valley hotels

California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Despite what it sounds like below, I do recommend this place due to it's location and the beautiful grounds.

My wife and I stayed here for the second time last weekend. Last year we stayed there the weekend after the Annual Lavender Festival and we had a fantastic weekend. We strolled around the grounds anywhere we liked and we were practically the only ones there. This year we came during the Lavender Festival and it wasn't as relaxing for the most part.

On both visits we had trouble with our reservations since we used the reservation system on their web page. The first time we stayed there someone was already in our room and we found out when saw their stuff in the room when we opened the door, with a key (now they have key cards like other hotels). Luckily they were not in the room at the time. When we went back and told the front desk, we were upgraded to a nicer room in the 800s facing the lavender field at no extra charge. Last weekend, we arrived and were told there was a problem and then that "a pipe in our room had burst" after the front desk person had a consultation with the hotel President. We had to downgrade to the 700s, with the lower rate that came with the room.

CALL FOR RESERVATIONS IF YOU WANT TO BE GUARANTEED A ROOM WHEN YOU ARRIVE!!

With that said, this last visit they gave us 2 coupons for admission to the festival (which we didn't need), a coupon for 2 free lavender flavored drinks at the festival (which we did use and saved about $7) and a gift certificate to the onsite restaurant that almost covered the cost of dinner. The food at the restaurant was good however it was a long wait to get it. Probably due to it being the weekend of the festival and the place was packed. Even with a reservation we had to wait for a table. Also the chairs at our table were very uncomfortable. There were other chairs that looked like they were not as bad.

The grounds are what makes this place worth it. They have open spaces, shaded grassy areas, a few ponds and lavender fields you can roam around like you own the place. There is a long lane lined with olive trees that was the entrance at one point several decades ago. It's very quiet and peaceful.

Now that we know to call for reservations, we feel better about going back to stay here. It will be on a weekend when the festival is not going on. We will drive out for the day to attend the Festival.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the lavender fields.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pgvet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

This is not a resort. It is perfect for big groups for retreats but please...a resort? The tennis courts are beyond repair, the basketball courts be careful so that you don't trip over the cracked concrete. The cottages???? Um very outdated....they even use tape on the windown curtains to keep light out. No privacy....so curtains are always drawn. The rooms are very small....the bathroom and shower....wow....if you are a big man you are in for a surprise. Not your 4 or 5 star resort at any means. So why does this place get a 3 stars still? It is better than your average Holiday Inn express....although you might think differently with quality of the modern decor. The swimming pool is huge....and nice gym and whirlpool area. The grounds are amazing and relaxing. The acres of lavender fields over nice happy hour can't go wrong at all. The food is very fresh and the service is ok. That is why you get a 3 star vs. 2. If it wasn't for the grounds, the pool, and good food this is a hands down a two star place. Please taper your expecations when you arrive at this joint.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We had rooms in the "700" area and our room was very large and nice. You can tell they are still working on renovations as the main part of the room was updated but the bathroom still needed work.
I would say this is more of a retreat than resort because what you think of being in the rooms of a resort. We had no coffee maker, no drink glasses, no ice, etc.
I will say that the grounds are lovely even with it being the end of summer. We did not have a chance to visit the restaurant, a little spendy for my budget but it sounded and smelled wonderful.
I would stay here again.

Room Tip: I would try for the rooms in the "700" area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KlondikeKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherry Valley
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Beaumont-Oak Valley
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Banning-Beaumont
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel  & Suites Banning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Days Inn Banning Casino/Outlet Mall
25.5 km away
Ayres Hotel Redlands
Ayres Hotel Redlands
#1 of 9 in Redlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
14.3 km away
Morongo Casino, Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center

Property: Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center
Address: 10600 Highland Springs Ave, Cherry Valley, CA 92223-5548
Region: United States > California > Cherry Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cherry Valley
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,103 - ₹ 7,687
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Highland Springs Hotel Cherry Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing