We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A sad waist of money!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cherry Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cherry Valley
Indio, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sad waist of money!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We perchased a two night get-a-way for our son and his new bride. "BIG MISTAKE!" They found a number of dead bugs in the bed linnens, the floors were dusty, dirty bathroom, no continental breakfast that was supposed to be there. We asked for a simple DVD player to be placed in the room which we were told that would be done, "NOT". Not even a simple coffee maker in the room or a blowdryer in the bathroom! OK, Forget the blowdryer. If we wanted that extreme amenity we should have had a reservation at the nearest Motel 6. We will be contacting the Riverside Co. Health Dept. and the BBB. Not to mention our credir card to remove the charge. Sad Sad Sad.

Room Tip: "Nearest Motel 6 (NOT KIDDING)"
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSResort1884, General Manager at Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Dear Mike S., 

I was dismayed to hear that your stay was less than satisfactory due to several issues. We addressed the reported pest problem immediately with our pest control provider Ecolab (California's premier pest elimination services). We had a field expert come to the room your son stayed in, and after spending several hours going inspecting the room thoroughly he was not able to find evidence of any pests or insects in the room or bed. 

Unfortunately, our rooms do not come equipped with dvd players. I understand that our front desk personnel informed you and your son, before checking in, that this would not be available. Other amenities are available upon request when checking in (such as hair dryers, ice, irons, etc.). Continental breakfasts are currently offered on the weekends only. I sincerely apologize for the misunderstanding regarding our amenities and for the issue with your son's room, and would be happy to discuss your complaint further.

My e-mail address is tina.k@hsresort.com, and I look forward to hearing from you with hopes we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort.

Best Regards,
Tina Kummerle
President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    18
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
20
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
175 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Rooms: The rooms were cozy and had character. The rooms were big enough for our needs although we didn't spend much time in the room. We were mostly out and about on the property or eating.

Location: We were on vacation so we were in no rush. But it was roughly 2 hours outside LA.

Value: The experience of staying in a heritage inn was great fun. We enjoyed our stay.

Reason for stars: Although the property wasn't prestigious, I give it 5 stars for the experience and the stay. The property had a lot of charm and character. We also visited their restaurant which was also great. It was quiet and gave us some "family time". We also took a short trip to the Cabazon Outlet Mall which was great as well. I have suggested the resort to friends who have enjoyed their stays as well.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feedthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

So disappointed in this historic resort! The rooms (800 series) are just awful. The rooms are huge and have beautiful new hardwood floors but the decor, the exterior and amenities are outdated by decades! The furniture is a mix mash of different styles. The sights and the property should be breathtaking, but the grounds aren't kept up and very little of the usable land is utilized. The rooms could use a reference binder about the property, the front desk hours, the directions to the pool, etc. This at one time was a glorious gem, but is very close to reverting to coal.

Dear HSR - hire a property management expert and get some investors.

Room Tip: Don't assume they all come with basics such as radios, dresser, TV and internet access
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lycanthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cherry Valley hotels

Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

So the bathroom faucet was difficult to shut off and the shower needed some work. The place itself was charming but I was disappointed that the room was not made up when we arrived. The clerk refunded the early arrival fee of $20. (No other hotel has charged extra just because I arrived an hour early to check in.) The clerk gave me the key and charged $20. Went to the room and it had obviously not been cleaned. This at 3 pm. I went back. Clerk was nice and said it would be an hour. We were there for the Lavender Festival which was very nice. After the first night, no service was performed on our room. We went out to dinner at 6 pm and I went to the front desk to ask for fresh towels. Younger clerk told me she was busy and couldn't leave the desk. I said, "That's okay, we are going out to dinner." We returned at 8 pm and still had not received fresh towels much less any tidying of the room. I again went to the front desk. Now the young clerk was a bit snippy when she told me she still couldn't leave the front desk. Towels were later delivered to our door. That day was the last day of the festival. We had a difficult time sleeping due to the young folks who had worked the festival enjoying themselves right outside our window. They were racing around in golf carts and squealing and yelling at one another. Also, they advertised there was WiFi. The WiFi signal was so week my laptop could not connect to the service. Needless to say, we plan to attend the festival next year but we won't be staying at HSR and I won't be recommending this place to my friends. Very disappointed in our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placentia, california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2011

The resort is well past its prime. Most of the property consists of abandoned buildings. The tennis courts, exercise room, and pool are basically unusable--dirty and in poor condition. Our very large room had been recently renovated with fresh paint, new beds, and a flat screen tv. But the bathroom was in very poor condition. Shower had black spots in places on the grouting. One section of the property, the Spanish courtyard (?) was in much better condition with renovated bathrooms and bed rooms, so we were told. We were there on a Living Social promotion, so we were not given a room in the renovated building. The restaurant was gourmet level in service, food quality, and presentation. There is an excellent museum just up the road and Oak Glen is not far away. For $89 a night including $50 credit for dinner and $20 for breakfast each day, I guess we can't complain too much. Go when the lavendar fields are in bloom.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rbelloli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cherry Valley
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Banning-Beaumont
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Beaumont-Oak Valley
5.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel  & Suites Banning
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Days Inn Banning Casino/Outlet Mall
25.5 km away
Ayres Hotel Redlands
Ayres Hotel Redlands
#1 of 9 in Redlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
14.3 km away
Morongo Casino, Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center

Property: Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center
Address: 10600 Highland Springs Ave, Cherry Valley, CA 92223-5548
Region: United States > California > Cherry Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cherry Valley
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,150 - ₹ 7,757
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Springs Resort and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Also Known As:
Highland Springs Hotel Cherry Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing