We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"GREAT LITTLE MOTEL"”
Review of Cherry Grove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cherry Grove Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Reviewed 3 May 2017

This great little motel is a very friendly family motel. It is very clean and tidy. The new owners are in the process of doing the motel up. The location is ideal as it is not quite in the town but it is a very short drive away or a 15 minute walk to the shops of Havelock North. The owners lyn and Craig are very hospitable and very knowledgeable of the area. Give this Motel a try, we did and are coming back to stay in May.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LSM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review - we really appreciate it :)
You and your family & friends are welcome here any time!!

Cheers
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017

Travelling with my elderly mother and was referred to this motel by another where we usually stayed who could not accommodate us this time.
What a pleasant surprise. An older motel. Larger rooms, comfortable beds and great internet and water pressure. Spotlessly clean. What more could you need. Very friendly host new to the industry. I have been in the industry for the past 15 years and I wish you well. You are doing everything right. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeR-PCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review!!
So nice to hear that what we do everyday is appreciated & that I personally, think I've found my calling :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Cherry Grove is a clean, no fuss motel. Value for money. The rooms have everything one would need for an overnight stay or longer. Motelier is friendly, approachable and informative. We will always stay at this motel when in Havelock North.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 393Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you so much for your review - sorry I missed it when it was written but a thank you at any time is better than none at all, right?
So we hope to see you again in the not too distant future, cheers!!!
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Awesome from start to finish, lovely friendly staff...... Lyn you are perfect for running a motel. Fun, friendly and so kind. Room was even better than we booked, loved our stay and will definitely be back again Jason & Karen

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you so much Karen & Jason (& the rest of the Buist Family) is was a pleasure having you all!!
We would love to have you back again, anytime!!
Cheers
Lyn :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We've been here around 4 times now as it suits our needs to the ground. The new owners are friendly, attentive and really know how to run the place like a dream. I'm not usually a motel fan BUT I've changed my mind because they have gardens, sitting areas, good outdoor spaces A POOL and they are very close to the town centre and nice cafe almost next door. Super clean.
Rooms are varied in size and looks, you can have a studio or a 2 bedroomed apartment. Prices are the best in town. Lyn and Craig are so friendly and accommodating that they have become good friends now. Every time we go back it has improved, great job.

Room Tip: Pool rooms mean you can watch the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry_Grove_Motel, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thanks Michelle - it means so much to us that you enjoy being here & want to keep coming back!! We'll have you here anytime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
0.9 km away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
82 reviews
4 km away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
256 reviews
0.9 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
66 reviews
4.3 km away
Portmans Motor Lodge
Portmans Motor Lodge
#3 of 18 in Hastings
71 reviews
0.8 km away
Havelock North Motor Lodge
Havelock North Motor Lodge
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Grove Motel

Address: 87 Napier Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range: ₹ 6,369 - ₹ 9,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Grove Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a comfortable & quiet family friendly motel close to "the Village" of Havelock North, Hawkes Bay. We are a popular destination to stay whilst you may be attending many of the events or weddings we host in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Cherry Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Grove Motel Havelock North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing