We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Havelock North stopover”
Review of Cherry Grove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cherry Grove Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Reviewed 24 March 2017

Cherry Grove is a clean, no fuss motel. Value for money. The rooms have everything one would need for an overnight stay or longer. Motelier is friendly, approachable and informative. We will always stay at this motel when in Havelock North.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 393Kiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Thank you so much for your review - sorry I missed it when it was written but a thank you at any time is better than none at all, right?
So we hope to see you again in the not too distant future, cheers!!!
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (44)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Awesome from start to finish, lovely friendly staff...... Lyn you are perfect for running a motel. Fun, friendly and so kind. Room was even better than we booked, loved our stay and will definitely be back again Jason & Karen

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynCraigLarking, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Thank you so much Karen & Jason (& the rest of the Buist Family) is was a pleasure having you all!!
We would love to have you back again, anytime!!
Cheers
Lyn :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

We've been here around 4 times now as it suits our needs to the ground. The new owners are friendly, attentive and really know how to run the place like a dream. I'm not usually a motel fan BUT I've changed my mind because they have gardens, sitting areas, good outdoor spaces A POOL and they are very close to the town centre and nice cafe almost next door. Super clean.
Rooms are varied in size and looks, you can have a studio or a 2 bedroomed apartment. Prices are the best in town. Lyn and Craig are so friendly and accommodating that they have become good friends now. Every time we go back it has improved, great job.

Room Tip: Pool rooms mean you can watch the kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry_Grove_Motel, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thanks Michelle - it means so much to us that you enjoy being here & want to keep coming back!! We'll have you here anytime :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017

It states on the reception wall that it was rated 8.8 out of 10.We found that a bit over the top. staff were good,room was clean and tidy, but for $210 and only having single ply bog roll bit much, it has 2 bedrooms one double and the other had 2 sigle beds. we only wanted a double,so how we ended up with this heaven knows. at best we would rate it as a 6 out of 10.bed was ok comfort wise.plenty of extra blankets in the closet.we have stayed in hotels in Wellington for far less and they have been superior.probably won't stay here again mainly cos of the cost.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jackandJill14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry_Grove_Motel, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Hi Jack & Jill,
I'm sorry you feel this way about your stay with us.
We are only a humble 3 star motel (with a 8.4 guest review rating from Booking.com)
I think what has happened here is that you've obviously booked online as opposed to booking with us directly (any online booking incurs an extra 15% commission) & I would say you got a two bedroom unit as there was nothing else more suited to your needs available.
Wellington motels are a different beast - & get year round business - Hawkes Bay is very much a summer destination & we have to make hay while the sun shines to still be here for the following seasons hence our pricing. Had you stayed at any other motel in Havelock North you would have paid a lot more.
As for the "single ply bog roll" it wouldn't have bothered us if you'd used the whole roll to do your paperwork. We use this particular paper as it's good for our septic tanks & the environment & it comes wrapped so it's hygienic until the guest needs it.
I hope this answers some of your queries....
Have a great day
Kind regards
Lyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Great place to stay. Super friendly on the phone and even nicer face to face. Spacious with really comfortable beds. Loads of space. Good water pressure. Clean with nice crisp linen. Definitely value for money. Would highly recommend it and really not that far away from Napier.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank HarriettandPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherry_Grove_Motel, Owner at Cherry Grove Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

Thanks Harriet & Pedro
Come back anytime - we'd love to see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havelock North
0.9 km away
Porters Boutique Hotel
Porters Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Havelock North
65 reviews
3.8 km away
Valdez Motor Lodge
Valdez Motor Lodge
#2 of 18 in Hastings
92 reviews
4.0 km away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Village Motel
Village Motel
#5 of 5 in Havelock North
65 reviews
0.9 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#3 of 5 in Havelock North
69 reviews
1.9 km away
Wine Country Motor Lodge
Wine Country Motor Lodge
#4 of 5 in Havelock North
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Grove Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Grove Motel

Address: 87 Napier Road, Havelock North 4130, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Havelock North
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Havelock North
Price Range: ₹ 6,309 - ₹ 9,366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Grove Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a comfortable & quiet family friendly motel close to "the Village" of Havelock North, Hawkes Bay. We are a popular destination to stay whilst you may be attending many of the events or weddings we host in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Cherry Grove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Grove Motel Havelock North

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing