We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,276)
Filter reviews
2,276 results
Traveller rating
711
770
399
191
205
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
770
399
191
205
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busel salvadorroyal decameronbeach clubchickengot sicka la carte restaurantsbottled waterfriesseafoodzip linethere are so manybeautiful resortkeep in mindpupusassnack baryour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 2,276 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We had a booking for this hotel and we were totally disappointed and annoyed with their terrible customer service. We had to wait outside the complex in our car in order to enter premises. Then, we had to wait almost two hours to get our room after a very bad logistic. We were given a smoking room and we had asked for a non-smoking one. We had to wait 2 hours more to be changed. The replacement room had issues with the TV and lightning. We had to let in the maintenance team to get the issues resolved.
After too much hassles, we asked for our money back since we we wanted to get out ASAP. We were given so many lies and they didn't honored our request. This is by far the worshippers service experienced I've ever had in a Resort as this one.
Not recommended at all, stay away!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Javier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Javier C:

We appreciate your comments, which allow us to verify our processes and work on their continuous improvement.

We would have liked that during your stay you had requested to speak with our guest service staff so that we could follow up promptly and immediately on the incidents you mention to make your stay more pleasant.

We regret your perception of our services. We would like to share with you that the opening hours are from 3pm, in order to be able to make use of the facilities in advance you can check availability of this service at the time of booking, this service has an additional cost and is subject to availability. All our rooms are exclusively for NON-SMOKERS, following the Tobacco Control Law of El Salvador.

For a future stay we ask you to contact Mr. Oscar Ortiz, Head of Guest Services, to have the opportunity to change your perception of our services.

Cordial Greeting,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

My family was there in July 2017. This was my second time staying at this resort, the first time was 2014. The first time I was there I thought that the service was great and the food was pretty good. I wish that I could say that things have gotten better. Shouldn't this be the aim of every business? I really wish that I could say this because I paid almost $800 for a two-night stay.
Getting in to the buffet dining room was a big deal. If you got there early they let you in and tell you not to serve yourself yet - but then other people came in and started serving themselves. On another occasion we were not allowed to enter the dining room (which did not look full). We were sent to another hall/room where they had a makeshift buffet service. The food was so bad; bland, no taste/flavor. Nevertheless, my dad and niece ended up getting sick from the food.
I think it is so sad that a company does not feel challenged to serve people better just because they feel they have "cornered the market" and people don't really have any other choice but to choose them.
On that note, it would be nice, again because of the dollar$ that are being paid, for the company to invest in the rooms. We were assigned to the rooms near the main buffet dining room. (It's amazing what a redone bathroom, updated furniture or new drapes/curtains can do.)
Of course there are good things... like the after dinner shows for adults and children. Lots of fun!
The pools and surrounding areas were always clean and there were always people going around to make sure they stayed clean.
Housekeeping services was great!
We did manage to make a reservation at the steakhouse - this was a very nice meal! and superb service!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 515ingridmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear 515ingridmg,
We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your comments, these are very important to verify our procedures.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our show, the fun, dinner service at Steak House Restaurant, the cleaning of our swimming pools and public areas.

We regret your perception of our service in the restaurant Buffet Chack Balam, in days of high occupancy enabled the convention center # 1 as a buffet restaurant area, which has facilities such as air conditioning, carpeted floor, comfortable chairs and all the variety of our restaurants. We have shared your comments with our team and we will check the times and operational movements at the buffet restaurant.

We would like to share with you that Hoteles Decameron, has reinvestment plans in all its properties, we hope that for your next visit you can enjoy the renovation of our rooms.

For a future stay, please contact Mr. Oscar Ortiz, Head of Guest Services, to make your stay more pleasant.

Cordial greetings,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

There are not too much good options in beach hotels in El Salvador and the few "good" ones don't offer a good all inclusive option. Decameron knows this and they only try to be a little over the line of the others, that doesn't mean is good enough.
When is full you have to wait in line up to 1 hour just to get an alcoholic drink, the drink menu is very limited to basic vodka, ron, tekila wiskey and tap beer.
Now you have to make a reservation even for the buffete restaurants.
The beach was mostly distroyed by the tides last year, so your only options are the pools wich are very clean and well cared
The menu options are good but not spectacular.
Recommended for family and kids, friends to hang up and spend the time in a secure environment.
The disco is fun and nice place to spend the night hours with open but crowded bar.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mario_Umana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Mario_Umana:
We appreciate the time it took to write your comments, as this allows us to verify our processes and work on the continuous improvement of them.

We are pleased to know that you recommend us to enjoy with family, friends and that you consider our facilities to be quite safe. The fun at our Ixchel nightclub starts from 10:30pm until 2:00 AM.
On busy days and for your convenience we enable different points of service of drinks among which we have: Bars Akan, Bambú, Maya, Steak House, Pergola, Oliva, La Mar and others.

We have a wide variety of national and international drinks among which we have whiskey Jhonnie Walker red ribbon, tequila Jose Cuervo, Ron Botran, Vodka Smirnoff. Among the variety of international cocktails we have Piña Colada, Margaritas, Tequila Sun Rise, Brandy Alexander, Coco Loco, Beach Sex, Red Eye, Michelada, White Russian and Hawaiian Blue.

Due to environmental regulations, we have placed gabions in a part of the beach in order to perform mitigation tasks for high waves.

We look forward to your visit in the future.

Kind regards,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

this place was highly recommended by friends and family, so we wanted to give it a try. check-in is at 3pm but we get there at 230 because we were coming from a couple hours away. we cant go into the resort yet so we are in this line of cars. finally 3pm! cars start to roll in. get to parking lot start unloading, walk to check-in area, soooo many people. they give us a number, wait to be called after 30 mins. we get our wristbands and keys, then we made reservation for dinner because theyre were so many people you had to reserve your spot. finally in our rooms! its now 430, get situated, bathing suits on because we only have about an hour of daylight. get downstairs we are starving couldn't find any snack area, not even the staff could tell us where to go. finally we get directed to the other side of the resort we walked what seemed like 6 blocks, snack bars! pizza and hotdogs. we have tp hurry and eat and get the others because its past 530 and they close at 6. by the time eveyone is at pool its dark, we go to rooms get ready for dinner. i get severely sick before i even make it to dinner with some food bug or virus of some sort. felt weak, started vomiting, chills, body aches, bad stomach pains ect. husband calls front desk they send the resort's "nurses" they cant give me anything. i couldn't even get bottled water because the store was closed. next morning im dehydrated, still cant get water becasue they open at 8. food was not bad. check out was at 1pm, we had at least 10 staff wanting to talk to us about joining their scam "timeshare" or membership, staff is rude. that evening my husband got a severe ear infection from the pool! overall a really bad experience!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank kmartinez62312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Kmartinez62312:
We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comments about your stay at Hotel Royal Decameron Salinitas.

Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel, has 552 rooms distributed in one kilometer of beach, 2 restaurants buffet, 4 restaurants of specialty, paintball, archery, cinema, video games room, canopy, slides, bikes, children's playground, tennis court, tennis court, soccer field, volleyball beach ball, antitheatre, discotheque, 5 pools of fresh water and 1 swimming pool salt. Due to the size of the property and the amount of activities to do, we recommend you to visit us at least 3 days in order to have the time to enjoy.

We want to share with you, the schedule of entrance to the property is from 3:00pm, in days of high occupation we carry out the Check-in in wide halls. They have facilities including comfortable chairs, air conditioning, children's play tables, welcome drinks, spacious bathrooms and a dining reservation area. We have 3 snacks distributed on the property, our schedule is from 11am to 6pm.

We regret your health condition, we hope you feel much better. Our nursing staff provides 24-hour nursing care and attention. Due to national and international regulations for the administration of medicines, a medical evaluation is necessary, which is managed immediately and at an additional cost.

We would have liked that during your stay you had requested to speak with one of our executives to make your stay more pleasant. We are pleased to inform you that Hotel Royal Decameron Salinitas is HACCP certified in food safety.

We hope to have the opportunity to visit in the future and change your opinion about our services.

Kind regards,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

it is good. Not great, not even near great. they say food has improved, and it may improved a little bit, people this time was worst than ever, most of them in the bad mood and rude. Sales Staff is still chasing you to take you to their "event" (to sell you a membership) which I guess is a really poor marketing strategy, you know, people at a resort just want to rest, NOT BEING CHASED. Sadly, I don't think we are going back to Decameron again.

Room Tip: tell to sales people you have already been invited to their "event"
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Robert T:
We thank you for taking the time to give us your comments, these have been shared with our entire team of Decameron Multivacaciones.
 
We are pleased to know that this is the second time you have visited the Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel and you have enjoyed our facilities.
 
We would have liked you to speak with one of our executives during your stay to express your views on our services and this way we would have looked for the way to make your stay more pleasant.
 
It is very important for us to share with you that all our staff is constantly training in techniques of service and customer service in order to provide a better experience for our visitors.
 
We hope to have the opportunity in the future to change your opinion about our services. Please, for your next stay, contact Mr. Oscar Ortiz, Head of Guest Service, to make your experience more pleasant.
 
Best regard,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews