We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,276)
Filter reviews
2,276 results
Traveller rating
711
770
399
191
205
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
711
770
399
191
205
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busel salvadorroyal decameronbeach clubchickengot sicka la carte restaurantsbottled waterfriesseafoodzip linethere are so manybeautiful resortkeep in mindpupusassnack baryour luggage
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 2,276 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

There are not too much good options in beach hotels in El Salvador and the few "good" ones don't offer a good all inclusive option. Decameron knows this and they only try to be a little over the line of the others, that doesn't mean is good enough.
When is full you have to wait in line up to 1 hour just to get an alcoholic drink, the drink menu is very limited to basic vodka, ron, tekila wiskey and tap beer.
Now you have to make a reservation even for the buffete restaurants.
The beach was mostly distroyed by the tides last year, so your only options are the pools wich are very clean and well cared
The menu options are good but not spectacular.
Recommended for family and kids, friends to hang up and spend the time in a secure environment.
The disco is fun and nice place to spend the night hours with open but crowded bar.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mario_Umana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Mario_Umana:
We appreciate the time it took to write your comments, as this allows us to verify our processes and work on the continuous improvement of them.

We are pleased to know that you recommend us to enjoy with family, friends and that you consider our facilities to be quite safe. The fun at our Ixchel nightclub starts from 10:30pm until 2:00 AM.
On busy days and for your convenience we enable different points of service of drinks among which we have: Bars Akan, Bambú, Maya, Steak House, Pergola, Oliva, La Mar and others.

We have a wide variety of national and international drinks among which we have whiskey Jhonnie Walker red ribbon, tequila Jose Cuervo, Ron Botran, Vodka Smirnoff. Among the variety of international cocktails we have Piña Colada, Margaritas, Tequila Sun Rise, Brandy Alexander, Coco Loco, Beach Sex, Red Eye, Michelada, White Russian and Hawaiian Blue.

Due to environmental regulations, we have placed gabions in a part of the beach in order to perform mitigation tasks for high waves.

We look forward to your visit in the future.

Kind regards,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

this place was highly recommended by friends and family, so we wanted to give it a try. check-in is at 3pm but we get there at 230 because we were coming from a couple hours away. we cant go into the resort yet so we are in this line of cars. finally 3pm! cars start to roll in. get to parking lot start unloading, walk to check-in area, soooo many people. they give us a number, wait to be called after 30 mins. we get our wristbands and keys, then we made reservation for dinner because theyre were so many people you had to reserve your spot. finally in our rooms! its now 430, get situated, bathing suits on because we only have about an hour of daylight. get downstairs we are starving couldn't find any snack area, not even the staff could tell us where to go. finally we get directed to the other side of the resort we walked what seemed like 6 blocks, snack bars! pizza and hotdogs. we have tp hurry and eat and get the others because its past 530 and they close at 6. by the time eveyone is at pool its dark, we go to rooms get ready for dinner. i get severely sick before i even make it to dinner with some food bug or virus of some sort. felt weak, started vomiting, chills, body aches, bad stomach pains ect. husband calls front desk they send the resort's "nurses" they cant give me anything. i couldn't even get bottled water because the store was closed. next morning im dehydrated, still cant get water becasue they open at 8. food was not bad. check out was at 1pm, we had at least 10 staff wanting to talk to us about joining their scam "timeshare" or membership, staff is rude. that evening my husband got a severe ear infection from the pool! overall a really bad experience!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank kmartinez62312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Kmartinez62312:
We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comments about your stay at Hotel Royal Decameron Salinitas.

Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel, has 552 rooms distributed in one kilometer of beach, 2 restaurants buffet, 4 restaurants of specialty, paintball, archery, cinema, video games room, canopy, slides, bikes, children's playground, tennis court, tennis court, soccer field, volleyball beach ball, antitheatre, discotheque, 5 pools of fresh water and 1 swimming pool salt. Due to the size of the property and the amount of activities to do, we recommend you to visit us at least 3 days in order to have the time to enjoy.

We want to share with you, the schedule of entrance to the property is from 3:00pm, in days of high occupation we carry out the Check-in in wide halls. They have facilities including comfortable chairs, air conditioning, children's play tables, welcome drinks, spacious bathrooms and a dining reservation area. We have 3 snacks distributed on the property, our schedule is from 11am to 6pm.

We regret your health condition, we hope you feel much better. Our nursing staff provides 24-hour nursing care and attention. Due to national and international regulations for the administration of medicines, a medical evaluation is necessary, which is managed immediately and at an additional cost.

We would have liked that during your stay you had requested to speak with one of our executives to make your stay more pleasant. We are pleased to inform you that Hotel Royal Decameron Salinitas is HACCP certified in food safety.

We hope to have the opportunity to visit in the future and change your opinion about our services.

Kind regards,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

it is good. Not great, not even near great. they say food has improved, and it may improved a little bit, people this time was worst than ever, most of them in the bad mood and rude. Sales Staff is still chasing you to take you to their "event" (to sell you a membership) which I guess is a really poor marketing strategy, you know, people at a resort just want to rest, NOT BEING CHASED. Sadly, I don't think we are going back to Decameron again.

Room Tip: tell to sales people you have already been invited to their "event"
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Robert T:
We thank you for taking the time to give us your comments, these have been shared with our entire team of Decameron Multivacaciones.
 
We are pleased to know that this is the second time you have visited the Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel and you have enjoyed our facilities.
 
We would have liked you to speak with one of our executives during your stay to express your views on our services and this way we would have looked for the way to make your stay more pleasant.
 
It is very important for us to share with you that all our staff is constantly training in techniques of service and customer service in order to provide a better experience for our visitors.
 
We hope to have the opportunity in the future to change your opinion about our services. Please, for your next stay, contact Mr. Oscar Ortiz, Head of Guest Service, to make your experience more pleasant.
 
Best regard,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The place is nice, the food has improved, but in general the service and attitude of the staff is the worst. It is almost like trying to get an appointment at a government institution. There are several bars, but most of them are closed, and those open, do not have enough staff to function properly. It is normal to wait in line for over 30 minutes just to get a drink. There is a place for "ceviches", but with over 100 people waiting under the sun for a 1 ounce serving, it is just not worth it. Also they force people out of the pool by 6pm, when the normal time is 7pm. Both check in and check out are a pain. I made the mistake of going to the wrong check in post, and they treated me like it was my fault not to know. They even tried to lecture me about it!. The gym was "closed" due to "technical issues". They allow people to go in the pools with regular street clothes, which is absolutely not hygienic.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
7  Thank Jasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Mrs. Jasmine B:
We appreciate your time to share your comments, these help to look for results verify our processes and work in the continuous improvement of them.

Verifying your entry process to our property, we are sorry if there was some kind of confusion about the area assigned for their registration processes, which is located in the area of ​​Discotheque. Once the inconvenience was detected, our Guest Service Manager located in the correct area, where the registration process was developed in a fast and timely manner.

We have transferred your comments to our Drink and Beverage Managers to see the times and movements of our services in the Bars. Likewise we want to share with you, our hours of attention in the service of pool bars, son from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

For Restaurants service, Thai Bars, Oliva, Maya Grill and La Mar, serve until 10:00 pm. Our main Bar, Akan Bar, provides service until 2:00 am. Also the Discotheque keeps the same closing time, at 2:00 am. The hours of the cevichería are from 11:00 am and its closing time at 5:00 pm.

In all our swimming pools you can find the rules of use of the bathing suit and opening and closing times of the same. The Main pool opening from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm, Oliva's pools, Steak House has a schedule from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, La Mar from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm and the Bamboo Pool 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

The gymnasium area was closed on 07/29/2017 for 2 hours while corrective maintenance work was carried out by the electric storm of the previous night.

We hope to have the opportunity to visit again, and we would appreciate contacting Mr. Oscar Ortiz, Head of Guest Service, for a personalized assistance and to make your stay pleasant.

Best regards,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

I think Decameron is a great place to stay at, but the music at the bar today was so bad... I don't know who's in charge of it but most hotels will have bossa nova or some other beach music... They are playing LOUD 'banda music' I have heard several guest complaining about it since we checked in (which was at about 4 pm) and the issue still persist... Music was so bad and loud I had to leave and stay at my room =(

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2017

Dear Helen G:
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your experience.

We are sorry for not having satisfied your musical tastes and we inform you that we will share this information with the person in charge of supervising the theme of the ambient music in the hotel, so they can generate opportunities to add variety in the subject.

We hope you give us the opportunity to stay again and notice the changes that are made to satisfy our guests.

Cordially,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews