We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Decameron Salinitas
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonsonate
Reviewed 5 October 2017

My family was there in July 2017. This was my second time staying at this resort, the first time was 2014. The first time I was there I thought that the service was great and the food was pretty good. I wish that I could say that things have gotten better. Shouldn't this be the aim of every business? I really wish that I could say this because I paid almost $800 for a two-night stay.
Getting in to the buffet dining room was a big deal. If you got there early they let you in and tell you not to serve yourself yet - but then other people came in and started serving themselves. On another occasion we were not allowed to enter the dining room (which did not look full). We were sent to another hall/room where they had a makeshift buffet service. The food was so bad; bland, no taste/flavor. Nevertheless, my dad and niece ended up getting sick from the food.
I think it is so sad that a company does not feel challenged to serve people better just because they feel they have "cornered the market" and people don't really have any other choice but to choose them.
On that note, it would be nice, again because of the dollar$ that are being paid, for the company to invest in the rooms. We were assigned to the rooms near the main buffet dining room. (It's amazing what a redone bathroom, updated furniture or new drapes/curtains can do.)
Of course there are good things... like the after dinner shows for adults and children. Lots of fun!
The pools and surrounding areas were always clean and there were always people going around to make sure they stayed clean.
Housekeeping services was great!
We did manage to make a reservation at the steakhouse - this was a very nice meal! and superb service!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 515ingridmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear 515ingridmg,
We would like to thank you for the time you took to share your comments, these are very important to verify our procedures.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our show, the fun, dinner service at Steak House Restaurant, the cleaning of our swimming pools and public areas.

We regret your perception of our service in the restaurant Buffet Chack Balam, in days of high occupancy enabled the convention center # 1 as a buffet restaurant area, which has facilities such as air conditioning, carpeted floor, comfortable chairs and all the variety of our restaurants. We have shared your comments with our team and we will check the times and operational movements at the buffet restaurant.

We would like to share with you that Hoteles Decameron, has reinvestment plans in all its properties, we hope that for your next visit you can enjoy the renovation of our rooms.

For a future stay, please contact Mr. Oscar Ortiz, Head of Guest Services, to make your stay more pleasant.

Cordial greetings,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 2,122 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

There are not too much good options in beach hotels in El Salvador and the few "good" ones don't offer a good all inclusive option. Decameron knows this and they only try to be a little over the line of the others, that doesn't mean is good enough.
When is full you have to wait in line up to 1 hour just to get an alcoholic drink, the drink menu is very limited to basic vodka, ron, tekila wiskey and tap beer.
Now you have to make a reservation even for the buffete restaurants.
The beach was mostly distroyed by the tides last year, so your only options are the pools wich are very clean and well cared
The menu options are good but not spectacular.
Recommended for family and kids, friends to hang up and spend the time in a secure environment.
The disco is fun and nice place to spend the night hours with open but crowded bar.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mario_Umana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Mario_Umana:
We appreciate the time it took to write your comments, as this allows us to verify our processes and work on the continuous improvement of them.

We are pleased to know that you recommend us to enjoy with family, friends and that you consider our facilities to be quite safe. The fun at our Ixchel nightclub starts from 10:30pm until 2:00 AM.
On busy days and for your convenience we enable different points of service of drinks among which we have: Bars Akan, Bambú, Maya, Steak House, Pergola, Oliva, La Mar and others.

We have a wide variety of national and international drinks among which we have whiskey Jhonnie Walker red ribbon, tequila Jose Cuervo, Ron Botran, Vodka Smirnoff. Among the variety of international cocktails we have Piña Colada, Margaritas, Tequila Sun Rise, Brandy Alexander, Coco Loco, Beach Sex, Red Eye, Michelada, White Russian and Hawaiian Blue.

Due to environmental regulations, we have placed gabions in a part of the beach in order to perform mitigation tasks for high waves.

We look forward to your visit in the future.

Kind regards,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

this place was highly recommended by friends and family, so we wanted to give it a try. check-in is at 3pm but we get there at 230 because we were coming from a couple hours away. we cant go into the resort yet so we are in this line of cars. finally 3pm! cars start to roll in. get to parking lot start unloading, walk to check-in area, soooo many people. they give us a number, wait to be called after 30 mins. we get our wristbands and keys, then we made reservation for dinner because theyre were so many people you had to reserve your spot. finally in our rooms! its now 430, get situated, bathing suits on because we only have about an hour of daylight. get downstairs we are starving couldn't find any snack area, not even the staff could tell us where to go. finally we get directed to the other side of the resort we walked what seemed like 6 blocks, snack bars! pizza and hotdogs. we have tp hurry and eat and get the others because its past 530 and they close at 6. by the time eveyone is at pool its dark, we go to rooms get ready for dinner. i get severely sick before i even make it to dinner with some food bug or virus of some sort. felt weak, started vomiting, chills, body aches, bad stomach pains ect. husband calls front desk they send the resort's "nurses" they cant give me anything. i couldn't even get bottled water because the store was closed. next morning im dehydrated, still cant get water becasue they open at 8. food was not bad. check out was at 1pm, we had at least 10 staff wanting to talk to us about joining their scam "timeshare" or membership, staff is rude. that evening my husband got a severe ear infection from the pool! overall a really bad experience!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank kmartinez62312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Kmartinez62312:
We appreciate the time you have taken to write your comments about your stay at Hotel Royal Decameron Salinitas.

Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel, has 552 rooms distributed in one kilometer of beach, 2 restaurants buffet, 4 restaurants of specialty, paintball, archery, cinema, video games room, canopy, slides, bikes, children's playground, tennis court, tennis court, soccer field, volleyball beach ball, antitheatre, discotheque, 5 pools of fresh water and 1 swimming pool salt. Due to the size of the property and the amount of activities to do, we recommend you to visit us at least 3 days in order to have the time to enjoy.

We want to share with you, the schedule of entrance to the property is from 3:00pm, in days of high occupation we carry out the Check-in in wide halls. They have facilities including comfortable chairs, air conditioning, children's play tables, welcome drinks, spacious bathrooms and a dining reservation area. We have 3 snacks distributed on the property, our schedule is from 11am to 6pm.

We regret your health condition, we hope you feel much better. Our nursing staff provides 24-hour nursing care and attention. Due to national and international regulations for the administration of medicines, a medical evaluation is necessary, which is managed immediately and at an additional cost.

We would have liked that during your stay you had requested to speak with one of our executives to make your stay more pleasant. We are pleased to inform you that Hotel Royal Decameron Salinitas is HACCP certified in food safety.

We hope to have the opportunity to visit in the future and change your opinion about our services.

Kind regards,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

it is good. Not great, not even near great. they say food has improved, and it may improved a little bit, people this time was worst than ever, most of them in the bad mood and rude. Sales Staff is still chasing you to take you to their "event" (to sell you a membership) which I guess is a really poor marketing strategy, you know, people at a resort just want to rest, NOT BEING CHASED. Sadly, I don't think we are going back to Decameron again.

Room Tip: tell to sales people you have already been invited to their "event"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Robert T:
We thank you for taking the time to give us your comments, these have been shared with our entire team of Decameron Multivacaciones.
 
We are pleased to know that this is the second time you have visited the Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel and you have enjoyed our facilities.
 
We would have liked you to speak with one of our executives during your stay to express your views on our services and this way we would have looked for the way to make your stay more pleasant.
 
It is very important for us to share with you that all our staff is constantly training in techniques of service and customer service in order to provide a better experience for our visitors.
 
We hope to have the opportunity in the future to change your opinion about our services. Please, for your next stay, contact Mr. Oscar Ortiz, Head of Guest Service, to make your experience more pleasant.
 
Best regard,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

The place is nice, the food has improved, but in general the service and attitude of the staff is the worst. It is almost like trying to get an appointment at a government institution. There are several bars, but most of them are closed, and those open, do not have enough staff to function properly. It is normal to wait in line for over 30 minutes just to get a drink. There is a place for "ceviches", but with over 100 people waiting under the sun for a 1 ounce serving, it is just not worth it. Also they force people out of the pool by 6pm, when the normal time is 7pm. Both check in and check out are a pain. I made the mistake of going to the wrong check in post, and they treated me like it was my fault not to know. They even tried to lecture me about it!. The gym was "closed" due to "technical issues". They allow people to go in the pools with regular street clothes, which is absolutely not hygienic.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank Jasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Dear Mrs. Jasmine B:
We appreciate your time to share your comments, these help to look for results verify our processes and work in the continuous improvement of them.

Verifying your entry process to our property, we are sorry if there was some kind of confusion about the area assigned for their registration processes, which is located in the area of ​​Discotheque. Once the inconvenience was detected, our Guest Service Manager located in the correct area, where the registration process was developed in a fast and timely manner.

We have transferred your comments to our Drink and Beverage Managers to see the times and movements of our services in the Bars. Likewise we want to share with you, our hours of attention in the service of pool bars, son from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm.

For Restaurants service, Thai Bars, Oliva, Maya Grill and La Mar, serve until 10:00 pm. Our main Bar, Akan Bar, provides service until 2:00 am. Also the Discotheque keeps the same closing time, at 2:00 am. The hours of the cevichería are from 11:00 am and its closing time at 5:00 pm.

In all our swimming pools you can find the rules of use of the bathing suit and opening and closing times of the same. The Main pool opening from 8:00 am to 8:00 pm, Oliva's pools, Steak House has a schedule from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, La Mar from 9:00 am to 5:00 pm and the Bamboo Pool 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

The gymnasium area was closed on 07/29/2017 for 2 hours while corrective maintenance work was carried out by the electric storm of the previous night.

We hope to have the opportunity to visit again, and we would appreciate contacting Mr. Oscar Ortiz, Head of Guest Service, for a personalized assistance and to make your stay pleasant.

Best regards,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonsonate
35.9 km away
HOTEL JUAYUA
HOTEL JUAYUA
#1 of 2 in Juayua
35 reviews
36.5 km away
Hotel Las Cabanas de Apaneca
20.2 km away
Palapa Cabins
Palapa Cabins
#1 of 3 in Sonsonate
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Los Cobanos Village Lodge
37.8 km away
El Balcon de Ataco
El Balcon de Ataco
#9 of 13 in Concepcion de Ataco
14 reviews
35.8 km away
Santa Leticia
Santa Leticia
#1 of 3 in Apaneca
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Salinitas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Salinitas

Address: Carretera al Litoral Km. 84 Acajutla, Sonsonate, El Salvador
Region: El Salvador > Sonsonate Department > Sonsonate
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonsonate
Price Range: ₹ 10,220 - ₹ 25,967 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Salinitas 3*
Number of rooms: 552
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located on the Salvadorian Pacific Coast 90 km from the capital, San Salvador, the Pan American Highway, covering an area of 270,000 m2 with a mile of beach front. The Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel offers a fantastic Mayan flavored all-inclusive vacation experience. Located on El Salvador's Pacific coast, just 50 minutes away from San Salvador, Royal Decameron Salinitas borrows from the Salvadorian culture and its colorful architecture as the art using many Mayan statues distributed throughout the property. Guests can enjoy the beautiful Pacific Ocean; spend time in any of our four fresh water pools, or even in the spectacular salt water pool filled daily by the ocean tides while taking advantage of our all-inclusive drinks at any of our four distinctive bars. When the guests are not taking the Central American sun and they want more action, they are invited to join the fun with our professional activities staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Decameron Salinitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Decameron El Salvador
Decameron El Hotel Salvador
Royal Decameron Salinitas San Salvador
Decameron El Salvador
Royal Decameron El Salvador
Royal Decameron Salinitas Hotel
Salinitas Decameron
Royal Decameron Salinitas El Salvador
Decameron San Salvador
Decameron Salinitas El Salvador

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing