We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,294)
Filter reviews
2,294 results
Traveller rating
722
774
400
193
205
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
774
400
193
205
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the bus el salvador royal decameron beach club chicken got sick a la carte restaurants bottled water fries seafood zip line there are so many beautiful resort keep in mind pupusas snack bar your luggage
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 2,294 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2017

Where to begin? They tell you to be there at 3pm and they will not let you in earlier; Once you are there, you go into a conference room, check in at a desk and they WAIT to be called by name and to be told you will not have a room until 4:30pm. The restaurants stop taking reservations I believe around 4pm?, but I was told that really you shouldn't even bother trying to make one after 10am as everything is full by then. The rooms are old, outdated, dirty looking, and with zero amenities. The buffet is ok, the pools are nice, and the staff was nice. Since there aren't many resort options in El Salvador, I would say sure go ahead and book with them but like I said, don't expect much. If you do stay there, AVOID at all cost going to their presentations as they will keep you there for hours and hours and THEY WILL BULLY YOU into purchasing. They certainly took advantage of my unsuspecting mother, and when I tried to cancel right then and there, not even a minute after she signed, they REFUSED TO CANCEL. At that point, being there all morning and we needed to check out on time - because of course they charge if you stay past your time, I just wanted to get out of there and NEVER hear their name again.

Stayed: September 2016
3  Thank jetsetter3891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2017

Dear jetsetter3891:
 We appreciate the time you took to leave your comments, these have been shared with our team to take action for improvement.
 
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our gastronomy, swimming pools, the warmth and charisma of our staff.
 
We want to share with you that on busy days we are conducting the check in process in large halls that have facilities such as air conditioning, comfortable waiting chairs, welcome drinks and bathrooms. We are sorry for your personal perception about our rooms, we are currently making a general change of air conditioning equipment and LED flat TVs.
 
In order to provide a better service we are making reservations at all of our dinner restaurants, with the aim of avoiding overcrowding and improving service flow.
 
Also we have transferred your comments to the customer service area of ​​the Multivacaciones Decameron program.
 
For a future stay we would appreciate you to contact Mr. Oscar Ortiz (oscar.ortiz@decameron.com) to make your stay more pleasant.
 
Best regard,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

This is an all-inclusive "Beach" Hotel. It's really nice. Food and drinks are included in your room price. It's very nice and very big. Lots of pools, bars, restaurants, etc. But, you cannot access the beach because of volcanic rocks, so don't expect to swim in the ocean here.
Staff and facilities are good. Checkin was a bit weird and bizarre (I felt like I was checking into a prison). But, overall, we enjoyed it. Good place for family with children.

Room Tip: Almost all of the rooms are the same from what I could tell.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Osote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear Osote:
We appreciate the time you took to leave us your comments about your recent visit to Decameron Salinitas.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed our All Inclusive and the variety of fun options within the resort.

The beach that surounds Decameron Salinitas is a coral reef reserve so you can find quite a few rocks, however, we have prepared half of the beach with a natural barrier so that guests can enjoy a relaxing swim in the sea.

We look forward to your visit in the future, we will be glad to serve you again.
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

The shuttle to the hotel: You are 90 minutes by car from the airport to the hotel. A shared shuttle can be arranged by the hotel’s tour desk, for a reasonable $48 roundtrip/person. Unfortunately, you can’t count on the hotel’s travel services. We booked in advanced and reconfirmed by email, with the manager of the tour office of this hotel. Upon arrival at San Salvador’s international airport, we noticed the Decameron transport desk, but there were no employees manning it. We asked for help for an adjacent transfer agency who contacted Decameron and who were told that our reservation was canceled. After 15 minutes and multiple phone calls we were finally on our way. Once at the hotel, the manager of the tour desk stated he forgot to notify us that on the day of our arrival he gave his airport employee a day off. Apparently, he also canceled our transfer. There was hardly an apology, customer service is appalling at the tour office and the hotel in general. We expressed our dismay and were eventually comped the transfer from the airport but paid for the return transfer. We were coming from Guatemala City, and had the hotel’s website been more informative, we could have arranged a hotel shuttle from Guatemala, without flying, but the hotel’s website is lackluster, like the hotel.
The setting: This property has two lobbies, but guests arrive at the primary lobby. The lobby is spacious and is open to the outdoors. The check-in counter is to the left and the restaurant reservations desk is to the right. There is some seating in the lobby. Checking in was not hard as we arrived in the morning. Afternoon arrivals especially on or just prior to the weekend, means long lines to check in. We were met by a staff member who never welcomed us nor smiled during the check-in. I was so stunned by this apathetic unprofessionalism that I asked her if she hated her job. We were told that two adjacent rooms would not be possible and that a sea view on a high floor would not be probable. We checked in on a Wednesday, when the hotel was not full, at about 10:30am, so we were surprised that we could not be housed as we requested. Rooms were ready at 3pm so we stored our suitcases and went to enjoy the beach.
The room: We were assigned two rooms near each other on the third floor; mine had a sea view, but my friend’s view was obstructed by a giant tree. The rooms here are identical, with the same furniture and art in each one. My room had a king size bed, two single beds where couches would normally be. There was a TV in the room but no mini-fridge. There was a safe, but you have to rent the lock to the safe for $3/day. If you want a coffee machine, that too costs $6/day. You get two bottles of water each day in the bathroom, if you want more water in your room, you have to buy it, so odd for an all-inclusive hotel. The bathroom was very basic with nondescript finishes. The toilet in my room had a broken flush button, which had to be jiggled in order to stop the water from running continuously after flushing. I would forget to jiggle this button each time I used the toilet and had to get up and adjust it to stop the water from running. The bedding here is average, which might be rough against sunburnt skin. The Wi-Fi in the room was sluggish during the day but faster at night when most guests were asleep. The hotel is clean and well maintained, and even though room service is not available, I did see a couple of roaches in my room.
The grounds: This hotel sprawls along the beach and has two lobbies. Most restaurants are centered on lobby number one, but more modern rooms are off lobby two. There is a sizeable pool near each lobby. Beachfront loungers are dotted along the beach and are situated under thatch umbrellas. The beach yellow coarse sand. The sea floor is rocky so make sure to pack your rubber shoes, otherwise swimming in the ocean is perilous. The hotel constructed artificial sea walls along the beach to keep the smashing waves at bay, a feature I appreciated. There is also an enclosed pool filled with ocean water. There is no aeration/circulation in the ocean-water pool, so algae grows along the walls and the bottom, making it disgusting to swim in this pool. The fresh water pools are clean and inviting, but too shallow for adults. The water here is warm and inviting, but the tide goes out by early afternoon, making swimming impossible. If not staying on a weekend, finding beach or pool seating is not a problem. The spa here also contains a small modern gym. Massage is @$50-60/hour and is decent. There is a Mayan steam room onsite, which can be booked for use at 10am, 12pm, or on the afternoon. The spa has a Jacuzzi but with cold water. The oceanfront massage chalets were wonderful. There is a waterslide at the far end of the property for the kids. There is a large poolside bar at each pool. There are convenience stores on site which sell Decameron branded merchandise at inflated prices. These stores do not sell cigarettes as my friend found out, and there is not store in the vicinity of the resort, once outside its gates. There is a disco here for teenagers at the bar off the main buffet around the lobby one cluster of rooms. If your room is near this bar, you will be bothered by the annoying thumping pop music late into the night.
The food: The food at the buffet here is standard issue Latino fare, with some continental options. There are all the standard options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. After a day or two of the buffet, once realizes how bad the food really is. All the a la carte restaurants serving dinner are mere approximations of the cuisines they are meant to serve as denoted by the restaurant names. The only decent dinner option is the steakhouse, which served excellent meat. I doubt the kitchen staff at the Thai restaurant ever tasted genuine Thai cuisine as the dishes they attempted to approximate didn’t come even remotely close to the real deal; avoid the sushi there because it only looks like maki, it doesn’t taste like it. The Peruvian/seafood restaurant was a bit better than the Thai because the salad bar did have decent tiraditos and cevicehes. The causas were a miss and the mains were bland and not at all Peruvian. The only edible main at the Mediterranean restaurant is the lasagna. By the time we arrived for our 8:30pm reservation, this restaurant was out of falafel, kofta, their soup, and many other items from the salad bar. The snack bar at the property had tasteless burgers and dry sandwiches but the ceviche bar was great. Drinks served at the bars at the property come in tiny 8oz glasses. Repeat guests arrive with their own travel mugs so that one does not have to run back to the bar every half hour.
The weekend mobs: This hotel offers discounted room deals to Salvadorans, on the weekends. Throngs of people begin arriving on Friday, and even more people arrive on Saturdays. If you want a calm beach stay, make sure you organize to stay here on weekdays only.
All in all, this is the best and only all-inclusive option for a beach holiday in El Salvador. We didn’t want a tiny boutique hotel, so we opted for the Decameron. The price tag here for foreigners is cheap, and you always get what you paid for. You feel like you have arrived in 1990 when you enter the property. The food is not of acceptable quality, for the most part. You are nickel and dimed for nearly every room amenity. The front desk and management are surely and rude. The wait staff and spa staff are friendlier. I would not return to this resort by choice, but if in El Salvador, there are few other options.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Brooklynite_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

This is a good choice IF you are looking for an all inclusive, midlevel holiday. For this level the rooms are clean and service is "as expected". Food is of the "bulk" variety. The meeting facilities were very good with good attention to detail and very good audio visual.

Stayed: March 2017
3  Thank GSSATLANTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2017

Dear GSSATLANTA:
Thank you for your comments.

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to Decameron Salinitas and that we made your stay a pleasant one.

We wait for you with open arms when you want to return,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

Terrible customer service. I was on hold for hours over a simple addition to the room. I was bounced around and placed on hold for no reason. Finally the issue was resolved. Please have patience with these people. But i will not ever come back here again.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community Manag... E, CM at Royal Decameron Salinitas, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2017

Dear alvaradc:
We appreciate the time you took to write your comments, they represent an opportunity for improvement for our services.
 
We are sorry for your personal perception of our customer service. We would like to know about the incident during your stay, you could report it to our assistant manager or guest service staff so that we can provide an immediate resolution to your case.
 
We want to share with you that adding people to a reservation can be done without any problem. Additions that are made from 8:00 am, they have to pay for advance use of the facilities; and the additions that are made from 3:00 pm pay the hotel rate of the day.
 
We hope that for a future visit you will contact us to make your stay more pleasant.
 
Best regard,
Decameron El Salvador

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews