We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good for value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Muong Thanh Phuong Dong Hotel
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Vinh
Reviewed 25 February 2015

We stayed 1 night only in late February en-route to Hanoi from Ho Chi Minh City. It is right in the middle of the City so it is convenient for any vehicle traveling north-south of Vietnam. The price is reasonable. The traditional food is great. The room is spacious but much worn out. I would recommend the hotel to invest on an upgrade. In room WiFi is good enough. The bathroom is a bit dirty as compared to my previous visits. However, the service and staff attitude has been much improved compared to last year's performance. I guess it is a plus for the hotel. However, except being a place to rest over night, there's nothing much to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: Convenient location to rest over night if you are heading to Hanoi from South
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for Muong Thanh Phuong Dong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2014 via mobile

A few of the hotel staff do not know the word hospitality. They are rude to guests.
The hotel needs some remodeling, rotten bathroom doors are disgusting to look at as I imagine cockroaches are hiding on these doors due to the wet and humid environment
I will not stay there when I visit Vinh university staff

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Cuc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

When we arrived by bicycle, everything was wet and dirty. No problem, they took us and our panniers and we were given an room with excellent streetview. " Take a shower and you will be another person". A good room and friendly people gave us new power.
But some lights did not function in the right way. No problem, we got an upgrade and help with the removal.
A good kitchen, reasonable western breakfast. But smoking on places where it is forbidden, brrrr.
All over, we were there two nights and had a pleasant stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Haringaalten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a pleasant stay for a week in a comfortable room on level 6 at the rear of the building, which had extensive views over the adjacent lake and gardens. The room was large, well equipped and adequately furnished with good facilities and everything in working order. Bed linen and towels were excellent and the bathroom clean with good toiletries.

Much of the hotel and the decor feels a little dated and lacking in character but generally very clean and well maintained. The public areas are rather basic, quiet, poorly lit and even dingy and not particularly welcoming, with the bar empty throughout our stay and the large dining room poorly patronised. Whilst, being winter, the swimming pool was not in use, it looked dirty and unattractive and the sauna and spa area were not at all appealing.

The breakfast buffet was quite extensive, but there was limited western food, not surprisingly as we were the only westerners we saw for most of the week, not just in the hotel but in the whole town! The food at lunch and dinner was very ordinary.

The staff were quite attentive, although not very animated or friendly, but they certainly surprised me with a personalised birthday cake delivered to my room and personal greetings from the manager on the day of my departure!

Vinh is a pleasant but unspectacular city, with few attractions and little to do or see, unless like us you have a special reason to visit. This seems to be one of the best hotels in a relatively small town off the tourist track and we were quite content with our stay here for a week.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydneysider48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

First impressions are lasting impressions. Our first impression was bad. Reception was dark because they did not put the lights on during the day (maybe to save money). A rude receptionist who didnt welcome us but just demanded our passports and handed us the room key. Dark corridors (lights off again) with dirty, dated and worn carpets. The room was OK - very large and with big windows. Everything worked but I had trouble with the room safe and so phoned reception for help and they said they would send someone up. One hour later I phoned again and finally someone turned up to assist me. Poor service. The ensuite bathroom was grubby with a wall mounted shower over a bath. The overall feel of the hotel is poor and in need of refurbishment. I looked around at the facilities - the tiny gym and outside swimming pool (I visited in March so too cold for swimming outdoors! And the spa downstairs was dark (lights out again!) and dingy. The restaurant was large and the buffet breakfast was fine with adequate choice and good service from the staff there. But overall I was expecting far better so I can't recommend this hotel at this price.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trailfinder58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinh
1.9 km away
Muong Thanh Luxury Song Lam Hotel
1.9 km away
Muong Thanh Grand Cua Dong Hotel
3.3 km away
Muong Thanh Vinh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
Blue Wave Hotel
Blue Wave Hotel
#5 of 15 in Cua Lo
3 reviews
14.8 km away
Summer Cua Lo Hotel
Summer Cua Lo Hotel
#1 of 15 in Cua Lo
50 reviews
15.4 km away
Hai Dang Hotel
Hai Dang Hotel
#4 of 15 in Cua Lo
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muong Thanh Phuong Dong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muong Thanh Phuong Dong Hotel

Address: 02 Truong Thi street, Vinh 460000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Nghe An Province > Vinh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Vinh
Price Range: ₹ 1,927 - ₹ 2,570 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muong Thanh Phuong Dong Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Muong Thanh Phuong Dong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing