We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shire Cottage

Shire Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shire Cottage
Leadhills Conservation Village Shire Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Shire Cottage
Leadhills Conservation Village
Shire Cottage
Shire Cottage
Detail on staircase
Dining area
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Lounge
Staircase from Lounge
Lounge
Feature Fireplace
Feature Fireplace
Bathroom
Cottage gates and parking space
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom
Conservatory
Landing Detail
Landing Detail
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Leadhills, South Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mjs31
Hertford Heath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stayed for a week with my wife and 11 year old son. This is the second time we have stayed. Lovely cottage in a peaceful location. We used it mainly as a base to get around Dumfries and Galloway but also the West coast and Edinburgh. Had everything we needed. Wifi for the boy and a real fire for the grown ups, which was a treat even getting into summer the nights can still be a bit chilly. Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our little cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely the cottage loved the big bath.very well equipped well situated for exploring the area. Off road parking appreciate.loved the local shop with its friendly service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you for placing your review. We are so pleased you had a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellant Holliday cottage !”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Stayed for a long weekend with my wife and was not disappointed, lovely condition and has everything you need to make it a perfect stay ! Nice hotel with pub and restaurant only a couple of minutes walk away, will definitely be staying here again, perfect base for hill walking, cycling, golfing etc and I'm led to believe it's a hotspot for gold panning so maybe I'll give it a shot next time !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a relaxing getaway ”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Beautiful location, particularly at this time of year with snow on the hills. Cottage is cosy and comfortable with everything you need. Great location for day trips to busy tourist towns, but you can retreat to the peace and quiet at the end of the day. Will be back again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
75graemel
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and quiet house and location, but also a very interesting area to explore.”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked the house looking for an "out of the way" place. We did not no what to expect. The house was very comfortable, well fitted out, and close to the Leadhills hotel and general store. The owner was very helpful and friendly. The house exceeded our expectations.
Leadhills and the surrounding area are fascinating and have a magnificent raw beauty. The more we explored the more we enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 82
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing