We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beez Kneez Bakpakers
Reviewed 2 October 2011

The Bees Kneez is one of the best hostels I've ever been to. It's super clean, great location in downtown Whitehorse and Nancy & Silvie, the manager, are just wonderful. They are very helpful, interested and make your stay unforgettable. After just a few hours you feel like home & you make friends in a very short time. Free Internet, free Coffee, different free-stuff to cook and just a very familiar athmosphere... TOP! Thanks for the great time ;)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susa543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

This was just about the coziest, friendliest and cutest hostel I've ever been to. It's perfectly clean and well maintained. It's just a superb atmosphere. Nancy the host does her part to that. She's very friendly, helpful and always up for a good laugh.


If I ever make it back to Whitehorse I'd definitly stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank YoungGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I stayed twice at this lovely place during my travels in the Yukon. The hostel has 2 dorms (sleep 6 and 4 people), one private room upstairs and some cute little cabins outside in the backyard. The first nights I slept in a dorm for 4 people, the other nights I had booked the private room upstairs, but the little cabins outside looked need, too. If you prefer a certain room, definitely book ahead as this place is very popular and fills up fast.

I highly recommend this place to any other backpacker or budget traveller, because of its friendly, energetic atmosphere. The mattresses were unexpectedly good, the showers and toilets very clean, and there's lots of space inside or outside, to either quietly read a book, chat with other guests, have dinner etc. There's also lots of utensils in the kitchen, and a BBQ grill outside on the porch. Everything is lovely decorated and makes you feel like home.

One of the most important things to me was the enormous helpfulness of the hosts. Special thanks to Nancy, who is the most helpful person I've ever met. She took great care of all the guests needs, and ensured that everybody would have a home for the night.

Room Tip: depends on your personal choice... just ask the host what she'd recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We arrived at 2am from haines junction, after a snow storm and 3 days camping, it was so great to open the door and feel our warm it was, the bed was ready and so comfy.. good place, good kitchen to cook. just like home. The only negative point is that if the owner has decided to clean at 10am you have to leave the hostel and no other choice.. when you need a rest it might be a bit tuff.. but the place is just really clean everyday

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABETARNO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I spent there 4 nights with a friend on our trip to the great north. We tried 3 different rooms; dorms downstairs, private upstairs and a cabin. And we had a great time every day!
The place is really clean, new, and charming. We got everything we needed - laundry, clean towels, clean bathroom and showers, complete kitchen, board games, bbq, internet and lots of great tips from the lovely host, Nancy, who takes care of everything and knows everybody in town.

It's also a great place to know people, if that's what you want - the other guests became our travel companions on the way to Dawson City. Very international atmosphere - as you cans see from the dozens of postcards sent by thankful guests from all over the world that hang on the walls. In this sense it is great if you're looking for other people to share expenses on your way north, or to experience Whitehorse's nightlife. The atmosphere is really warm and inviting, and the common areas (two lounges indoor, benches and sofas outdoor) are super cozy. The location is pretty good (the town is not so big so everything is relatively close); there is a grocery nearby, visitor center is 10 min away and some great hiking trails really close.

The only annoyance was a german guy (guest? crew?) who told us in a very very mean and rude way to respect the 'quiet time' after 11pm - and we were not even making a noise, just walking to the toilet. But I guess that's no biggie.

To sum it up, it was the best hostel on our trip and one of the best ones I've ever been to. The atmosphere and the crew are great and make the place really familiar and homey - no matter your age or nationality. I can only recommend it! Book in advance on the summer season!

-J. from Spain

Room Tip: The private upstairs is big and really cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocAguilar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitehorse hotels
0.9 km away
Canadas Best Value Inn
Canadas Best Value Inn
#12 of 14 in Whitehorse
195 reviews
0.7 km away
Edgewater Hotel
Edgewater Hotel
#3 of 14 in Whitehorse
75 reviews
1.6 km away
SKKY Hotel
SKKY Hotel
#5 of 14 in Whitehorse
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Coast High Country Inn
Coast High Country Inn
#1 of 14 in Whitehorse
465 reviews
1.8 km away
Days Inn Whitehorse
Days Inn Whitehorse
#11 of 14 in Whitehorse
279 reviews
1.4 km away
Hot Springs Campground & Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beez Kneez Bakpakers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beez Kneez Bakpakers

Address: 408 Hoge St, Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 1W2, Canada
Region: Canada > Yukon > Whitehorse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Whitehorse
Price Range: ₹ 2,899 - ₹ 4,252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Beez Kneez Bakpakers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beez Kneez Bakpakers Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing