We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
107
27
10
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
27
10
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice fishing jacuzzi suite aurora borealis other guests the main lodge dog sledding hot tub chef troy northern lights log lodge metal room gorgeous scenery everyone eats together snowmobiling trip country house ice hockey cross country skiing
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 155 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed in early October of this year, for our honeymoon..we can't say enough about this fantastic inn. It is operated in the style of a european pensione, with guests wants and needs foremost. Our cabin: the fireweed, was fully equipped with every amenity and/or appliance we needed, had both electric and wood heat, (we used the woodstove every day....NOTHING can quite equal the coziness of a Glass-front airtight woodstove). Plenty of firewood was supplied right outside our front door, But my new husband, being an old country boy...well he just had to go over to the woodpile and chop some firewood in the mornings, its like meditation for him.
We had the option of dining in the main lodge or cooking for ourselves, we chose the latter although the other guests absolutely raved about the food. There is a stove and oven in the kitchen of the cabin, but we used the supplied barbeque every day.
We woke up to crisp, sunny, mornings and went to bed to beautiful sunsets, showers are hot and plenty of water pressure. Squirrels, Stellars Jays, magpies, and ravens abound. The recreation facilities in the main lodge are open to guest use 24 hrs a day, (we played several games of midnight pool and snooker). Carson, Tony, and Sophie were all very helpful and attentive while allowing us the space and privacy we desired, our one issue was dealt with promptly and to our complete satisfaction...(we couldn't find the T.V. remote, Tony found it under the couch cushions...LOL) One thing we will say to potential guests, if you want the five-star hotel experience, move along to town..if you want to experience a bit of the wild and truly taste the air of the yukon, while enjoying quiet comfort, This is the place. We will be back, and soon.

Room Tip: Fireweed cabin....Quiet, clean, cozy......
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NT-Badcatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

I have just returned from -17F temperature to see the Aurora Borealis while at the Inn on the Lake outside Whitehorse,Yukon. I highly recommend this delightfully friendly Inn on Marsh Lake. The staff are some of the nicest folks I have met and the cooking was first class. The accomodation was so comfortable and very clean. As for the Aurora borealis it was not so friendly,. as it was a quiet time. However we did see the lights low on the mountains. I certanly would enjoy returning for a visit when the fall colours are at their peak, and aurora more active!
My thanks to Carson and the staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Our Community board just held a retreat at Inn on the Lake. The room provided for our meeting was well equiped and worked very well for us. The coffee and am snack service was unobtrusive and delicious. We had a fabulous catered lunch upstairs in the main room. The food, view and ambiance is just excellent! Carson and his staff create a wonderful combination of a relaxed yet attentive service that is so much appreciated. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just after Labor Day, we stayed at the Inn on the Lake at Marsh Lake, near Whitehorse, Yukon. This was about our 6th stay and regardless of the season, it's always a real pleasure. The Inn is a wood-paneled comfy lodge in a low-density residential area, right on the lake, about 30 minutes from downtown. Owner Carson is wonderful, and rooms are all different with interesting furnishings; they also have a 2 BR suite with living room,kitchenette and separate entrance. If you elect to purchase dinner, their chef prepares a great prix fixe meal and you eat with other guests; always a friendly, international group. The Inn offers a number of amenities, including outdoor hot tub, kayaks, for multi-night stays, greens fees at a local golf course, etc.
Whitehorse, too is fun. This trip we brought friends visiting from Seattle and drove the loop: Juneau to Haines by ferry, then to Haines Junction along the Kluane provincial park, then east to Whitehorse, finall returning to Skagway and home via ferry to Juneau. The three hour drives between Haines and Haines Junction and Whitehorse to Skagway aren't like anything you'll see elsewhere, and fall colors made it spectacular. Clear skies at the Inn brought all guests outside one night for aurora viewing. The Inn features something special for each season, and each time we visit, it's like coming home.

Room Tip: We prefer to be in the main building and with a water view; if you're traveling with another couple, share the Presidential Suite. Make reservations well in advance and give our regards to Carson.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

A beautiful location with great hospitality and good food. A super location from which to take day trips, hike and enjoy what the Yukon has to offer.We recomend aking advantage of meals as much as possible while also taking in some of the other good restaurants available in Whitehorse or try the Wolf's Den on the way to the Inn on the Lake. You will have the opportunity at meal time to meet pepople from all over the world.

Room Tip: We had the Presidential suite but I am told if you want to sleep wherte Martha slept yo9u should try the Jacuzzi Suite!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews